Winter Aquaponics Update

in #life5 years ago

About a week after I planted some seeds in the greenhouse aquaponics system I only have 1 lettuce seed that has sprouted.

The water in the main fish tank got a little too cold and I lost a few fish. I added extra insulation and re-started a small electric heating element heater. I thought it would stay warm the last week, but temps dropped a bit this last week. I learned my lesson and will not stop the supplemental heating for the tank.

Here's my one lettuce sprout.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

It's an experiment... You learn as you go

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @ligayagardener, I was trying to save some money but really need to set up a better heating system in there. I'm thinking about a compost heat exchanger or something to that effect.

howdy sir makinstuff! rats...now what? Just plant more things and see if they grow? Kudos for experimenting!

Yes sir, I think I should've had more things going before the dead of winter started. I want to see what will germinate in this cold for the future. It looks like the mixed lettuce may be the winner. I'll keep refining and getting better. I want this system to grow food 365 days with a constant output. My goal us to produce enough food for a family of 6 people so the proven system can be fully documented and distributed for those truly interested in low cost continuous local food production.

sir makinstuff! It's a magnificent and noble plan and I know you'll get there. Are you in Alabama? I didn't think it got real cold there.

Thanks @janton good sir, it's nice to hear encouragement, I get down on myself sometimes, and catch flack about what I'm doing from some people in my social circles. I'll keep plugging after it because I see it's promise. It doesn't get extremely cold, and I was looking to save some on my electricity by cutting an electric heater off in the greenhouse. It was a poor move as we did have a few days recently where the temperature dropped significantly. I'm thinking of an combined compost/solar thermosyphon heating system right now which I will make a post about if I pull it off.

Posted using Partiko Android

sir makinstuff! People in your social circles are giving you flack about developing a food growing system that will be able to feed families? wow, that's some friends you have! lol. I guess you'll just have to prove them wrong!

Yeah...most think I'm a bit crazy, and question if many of my efforts are worth it. I have let several of my old friends go that just drain me.... but I have some that really want the best for me, and I appreciate their feedback to help me to continuously improve. I can tend to get distracted and lose my focus sometimes so I do have a couple buddies that have been there when I really need a hand or need a kick to stay focused.

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy today sir makinstuff! Oh that's good that you have a few good supporters, are they homesteader types or do it yourselfer types?

A couple good ol country boys and DIY type folks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82