Top 5 Classic Novel Adaption Movie/Series Recommendation

in #life5 years ago

Weekend is approaching! which means, It’s time to hoard some movies and cookies. But if you are running out of movies to watch, I might have some recommendation that you can watch during weekend. I picked adaption movies/series especially from classic novels because it is easier to digest movie than reading old English. Am I right?Who knows you will also be interested in reading the book after watching the adaption?



The first movie that I really recommend is an adaptation of Tess of The D’ubervilles by Thomas Hardy.I can’t begin to tell you how dramatic the story is. It was set in Victorian England which narrates the tale of young woman called Tess, who is an opinionated and hard working young women with a tragic life. It seems that the main theme that drives the story is missed opportunities and love. But there's much more than just love.



The second movie which I would like to recommend is an adaptation Of Mice and Men By Steinbeck. It is contrasted to the previous one which was about love. This movie is more like a friendship, loyalty and American dream during the Great Depression in the United States. One of the thing I am still unsure of is, as to why it was called as challenging read during the 21st century. I get it, it's about a morality play. And one thing I can ask you before watching this movie is, Are you willing to sacrifice your friend for your dream?



If you have heard the term 1984 or Orwellian society being thrown around lately and don't understand what that means, this movie is must watch. But after, make sure to also read the novel with the same title by George Orwell. It's fascinating read and terrifying at the same time.



The next one is an adaptation of The Great Gatsby by Fitzgerald. This movie tells us about American Society in the early 1920's before the Great Depression hits USA. This movie is about American Dream, Elites and shifting from traditional to more progressive values. Leonardo Di Caprio really did a great job playing the role of mysterious man Called Gatsby. You won't regret watching this piece, not one bit.



The last one, I have something a little bit more happier, The Pride and Prejudice. A movie adaption from a novel with the same title by Jane Austen. It mainly tells about family and love during the Regency Era in England. However if we dig down and going under the surface, we would see a woman who is against the society values at that time. Undeniably even today, marriage is still seen as increasing financial benefits or lifting parent's burden from taking care of their child. However, Austen was ahead of her time. It can be seen from the character of Elizabeth Bennet. If you want to know more, just watch the movie.


The reason I recommended these movies are because I am sure many of us don't have the time to read the novel. Movies above will help you digest some of masterpieces written from the past, which the universal theme and moral values are still relevant to today's society. I hope you enjoy my recommendation.

Sort:  

Well, I certainly can't argue your choices. The difference for me is that I read the books long before I saw the movie. I believe in all these cases it helped my ability to follow along with the movie.

Of Mice and Men was the third Steinbeck novel I read about the time I started High School. The first was East of Eden, then the Grapes of Wrath. Steinbeck had a major impact on my life. I bought a first edition of 'Travels with Charlie' the first hard bound book I bought.

Thanks for a wonderful list.

Frankly speaking, I am not a movie buff. I always prefer to read the novel than its adaption. So, I actually found those movies after I read the book. And just like you, it helped me to follow along the movie especially with Of Mice and Men, I thought the lead actors were black prior watching the movie. But now I know, it's not. Also it helps me visualize better the characters and the story.

I have the Grapes of Wrath but I never finish it. Upon reading few pages, I always doze off, that's probably explain my interest about the book :D

Then I have one more you should try: The World According to Garp. The book really makes that movie :)

Oh My!!! Thank you for this suggestion! I am looking for the book now! I watched the trailer, epic!

Thank you for gracing #ulog. Learn about some more fun aspects to ulogging by reading this short guide

You can also ulog on https://ulogs.org

I also invite you to become a 'certified ulogger'. Join this discord

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87