What Does it Mean to be a Man?

in #life7 years ago

I finished reading through The Go-Getter for the 4th time last night. The section that always holds my imagination is when the main character is in the middle of his mission.

Unbeknownst to him, he is part of a test of trust, and his employer has the deck stacked against him to ascertain his fortitude.


The phrase that sums up the entire book is, "it shall be done." The more I roll these words around in my mind, the more I attribute the phrase to manhood.


The Big and "Little" Things

Before we start picturing a man on the battlefield rallying troops, or a leader before his followers declaring what shall come pass, let us know that saying "it shall be done" counts in the small things as well.

My dad told me from a young age that, "your word is gold." That does not have to be a grand promise before a nation, it can be a promise to a friend that your friendship will last.

My mom counted on her older children to run the household when she put on her teacher hat at home. When we said, "it shall be done," it held just as much weight as an executive order from a President.

Being a man does not have to include winning battles or signing off on billion dollar business deals. Being a man is looking someone in the eyes and keeping your promise to them.

Raising the Standard

We have a severe lack of integrity amongst the ruling class in our world. The concept of noblesse oblige is in desperate need of a resurrection.

While it is easy to point fingers and say if only, the truth is, it is our fault. I have not talked to enough people or written enough to turn the tide. Collectively, there is not enough truth being lived for the lost and destitute to want something better than chosen slavery.

I do not suggest that things can turn quickly. It is only destruction that happens in a flash. Things that last and endure take time to build. Yet, it is worth our efforts and it worth our children's prosperity.

What will it take? I believe it is education, work, and honesty. That is honesty with ourselves, education to the truth, and good ole hard work. For a believer like myself, it is work on my knees, asking that we may receive what the Father has promised, and His mercy to be granted.

You may be a believer or you may not, and I think we can agree that there is something terribly wrong with this world. We need some good men to lead, and we need them to be genuine.


Image Sources: 1-2-3

Sort:  

This is a great post Lydon.

People have a hard time living out loud or what they know because their ears are dirty. :) and they walk away from the mirror and forget what they've just seen. Our flesh is definitely weak.

I agree with what you said wholeheartedly. I'm sure it's not a feminist view, but really, what is a feminist today? I believe in equal rights, so does God. I don't mind having a different purpose than a man. Oh did I just say that? Still equal. Co-workers for the same purpose.

I love your phrase "it shall be done." It immediately reminded me of what Pharoh said when making pronouncements So let it be written. So let it be done. Altho who would want to copy him, I don't know. (not scripture - from the movie 10 Commandments)

Oh how I missed these comments from you. :)

Haha, good question. I don't think they even know anymore. Thankfully, as you say, there is an equal purpose for us to pursue and someone to praise for it.

It shall be done. That does sound like it comes from a king or queen. Funny, that is what we as believers are now.

Yes we are, although I can't say I "feel" like one, let alone act like one. Thankfully grace covers all my weaknesses - there is nothing I can do or say that will make God love me less nor is there anything I can do or say that will make Him love me more. It is done. His grace and mercy are so hard to understand.

I miss talking to you about these things too :)

Oh how wonderful, and oh how marvelous it is.

Pretty interesting to know that very nicely written :)

Thank you. :)

This is a great post, @lydon.sipe! I've learned a lot, really. Keep up sharing great posts like this! :)

Thank you Gerel Mae! That is sweet of you to say. I'll definitely keep posting. :)

You deserve the compliment, @lydon.sipe! :)

A plain old honest guy is hard to find anymore. The world is a mess.

They are hard to find. Time for things to rebound.

Great words man! Being genuine, and having a word as strong as writing is definitely a lost art! The standard needs to be raised!!

The standard needs to be raised indeed!

we could use some more men of peace.. a lot more!

True!

I agree that one's word is absolutely important. Great post.

It all goes back to education. Look at what kids are being fed and how they are being raised. Young people should naturally be idealistic, but it's a sad case when I, despite many setbacks and disappointments, am more optimistic and idealistic than them. What have we taught young people that makes for such hard hearts and cynicism before life has even begun?

Exactly.

That is a good question, John. Broken marriages and families come to mind. I watched time and again in my workplace how a bad family environment ruined decent kids. Their paradigm of stability and reason to bless people disappeared with a broken home.

I know...it's sad, but sadder still are kids from 'good' homes who have too much unsupervised freedom and are left to wander the social media streets

Quite true. It can be an avenue for influence, but not the same as in oerso

oerso? What is this, some new slang? LOL!!!

Lol! We can make it one.

Do I amuse you? I hope so :)

Three main requirements need to be fulfilled for a creature to be a man:

human
identifies as a man
adult, generally meaning 18+
Anything else, including genetic makeup, anatomy, and conduct, is entirely irrelevant.

Concretely, this means you don't need a Y chromosome, testicles, or a penis to be a man. Nor does it make you a 'real man' to engage in stereotypically manly behavior.

Always being wrong when arguing with a woman...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29