Customer Service Still Reigns

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I stopped into Office Depot this afternoon with two odd requests. My hope was that a specialty store like OD could be my one stop for the two items - I was mistaken.

Not only was the place nearly empty, but the smiles were missing as well.

I had to search for an associate to help me, and the one I found was barely competent for the job.

Upon leaving this associate I proceeded to walk the store and never received a greeting from any of the other half dozen people working there.

Juxtapose that experience with the one next door at Best Buy.

An employee from another department saw me searching around for my items, and walked away from his area to ask me if he could help.


When I worked at Lowe’s, they taught us to be knowledgeable enough in every area of the store to help the average customer. If we were not, we found someone in that department that could help. The customer was the focus.


It is no surprise that a company like OD is having to merge and cut their workforce to survive in their industry. The customer experience is severely lacking.

You walk into a place like BB, and it feels like electronics Christmas. Flashing lights and flashing smiles as the customer is king.

I write this rather long customer store review with this point. There is no substitute for human connection and service.

Our ability to serve people, and meet their needs will always garner a loyal following for us. That may be a social following on a blog, or it could be a customer base that appreciates how we treat them.

The money may motivate us, but when we see a soul in need and not a dollar solely for our needs, magic happens.


Image Sources: 1-2

Sort:  

Yep been my experience as well.

Perfect quote to end with !!

I thought so too

you are preoccupied with the activity, I think the result will follow in the future.

We shall see.

Hahahahahaha....its reflective in the stock price Best Buy, is one of the few where the amazon effect has taken root probably you just answered that question with your post here...Best Buy has been one of the golden stock within the sector this year

That it has. Starts with the store experience. :)

Happy customers are my most valuable asset...

😄😇😄

@creatr

You must have a lot of assets then.

Yes, thanks... They do tell me so from time to time. ;)

I agree wholeheartedly - We have the same problem here with Staples - they're converting from stand-alone stores to on-line, but I think they've forgotten they still have retail customers

Sad to see the defeated spirit.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a $2.81 @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @lydon.sipe
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lydon.sipe to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

This post has received a 6.11 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @lydon.sipe. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

hi ! @lydon.sipe can you please help me to grow i want to earn but i have't money for buying steem power

A familiar subject from my life :((( well said !!! Up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84