Dealing with anxiety on Steemit - some thoughts

in #life7 years ago

Have anyone here ever feel frustrated after putting effort writing a post that doesn't get much attention/ reward on Steemit?

I know and I'm always saying this to myself:

"Write only when you really want, about something it's important to you, and... the most important rule is, DON'T EXPECT NOTHING IN RETURN!

But...sometimes​ it's really hard!

I'm sure I'm not the only one, sometimes I see some very good posts, with low rewards, and other times posts about random curiosities/ photos/ stories that goes BOOM in the "land of Steem recognition".
I can't complain, because I usually have a lot of upvotes (mainly bots, I think). But I really like the interaction part (replies vs comments) and of course ST€€M recognition!

This is a matter of luck too, but mostly persistence and resilience!!

So, if today you're not doing great...it's ok, tomorrow or after things will get better. Hope this will apply after the hard fork on December 6th!!

This is a Portuguese popular saying that means "after a storm comes a calm".

Let me know please how you deal with it!

Sources: Img1: pixabay, Img2: Proverbios Populares

Sort:  

I agree that the "expect nothing" mentality should be used when post on Steemit, but I only get really exited after I get $10+ from a post, and can't help myself but to expect at least some interest on the next post. So I get kind of bummed when they only get me like $0.02 and zero comments.

My strategy to dealing with this "problem" is to just write about stuff I really enjoy writing about, so I have fun no matter if I get any feedback or not.

I think this is only an issue from the lack of users we still have.

According to the aglo of posting rewards, I remember reading that 100x 1000 SP account votes are better than 1x 100,000 SP vote. So I think later users will be welcomed of smaller votes as well knowing they have more followers and the small votes are still accumulating a nice reward. But I understand it can be frustrating to get 10+ $ on a couple posts and then the next ones receive barely any visibility or votes.

But I really think this is something that will get better over time and more users.

Hope you're right!! :)

Yea, I was thinking the same thing a while back actually. Once we have much bigger numbers of users and a more spread out SP distribution, I don't think we will see the extreme cases where some posts get $100 from a few votes, while others get $0.05 from hundred of votes.

while others get $0.05 from hundred of votes.

You just gotta remember that it all depends on the accounts and curation trails. Most posts that have over 100 votes and low rewards it could just be 3 users voting with their voting trail. Although I agree it kinda gives a wrong view on it, would you rather not have received the votes and rewards at all just to keep it to 3 votes and around the same or slightly lower payout?

Then there is vote scaling, since 20-25 votes per day are most efficient to keep your voting power around the same levels, users have started to vote with a lower % so they can afford to vote on more posts. This is something i do myself as well.

Considering that without the curation trail my 100% votes would only be worth 10k SP, I can now afford to go down to 40-50%, still give around the same reward to users as I was able to before with 100% but now more people get a vote instead. Yet there are still users who PM me asking "why only 40% man?" instead of being thankful for having gotten a vote at all considering I'm trying to distribute them better.

Thanks for commenting and sharing. I adopted the strategy of writing only in something I really enjoy, but I can't avoid the frustration feeling when it don't achieve the $10.

I've to say to me"don't expect nothing" even louder! :)

I've been on social media since the late 90s, it's always been this way. I learned to post what I know and also what I am interested in....the biggest attention grabbers are always hot topics which I'm usually not interested in, so my social interaction has always been small and niche related. If you want attention be a troll with manners.....haha ;-)

This is kind of new to me because i never wrote publicly to the world before. I'll keep testing my skills...now with that image in my mind, "a troll with manners"! Haha, loved it! Thanks

I love that @reddust

be a troll with manners.

I think you and I both cut our teeth on the social media business around the same time. It sounds like we have very similar practices. :) Hot topics bore me and click bait titles are maddening! So social interaction it is from my camp too.

If I really want to, I could in my heyday blow threads up and bring sites down, not saying I did this on purpose, I didn't .... I just didn't know when to walk away from issues that can't be resolved ... Now I do and I often walk away rather that blow shit up, but you may see me flash my middle finger whilst walking away...hahaha, trolls with manners are a rare bred ....I've seen a few here ;-)

that's so funny. I was a community moderator for iVillage in the mid-90s so it was my job to lasso the fire starters and pull the wick out of the TNT. haha. That doesn't mean there isn't a ton of bloodletting in my head. I blow people up all the time...and kill them in my fiction writing. I have a brand of passive-aggressive, kill the troll with kindness method. It drives them crazy - all the hugs and rainbows - and I'll keep going until they give up... But in the meantime there are so many comments and responses that the post usually lands on the trending page. It's hysterical.

I need to start writing, I want to start a Dexter type series that hunts child molesters....

I took a volunteer job moderating the biggest Buddhist website back in the early 2000, esangha, I helped with the meditation folder....omg, Buddhist meditators, especially Theravada and zen monks are MEAN and can't use logic, they were constantly flinging fallacies like a shit throwing monkey. I learned to troll professionally on alt.buddhism...not that I did it very often ...the skills helped me moderate because the troll in me intuitively knows the troll in others.

What bothers me is that I can't tell which posts will do well and which won't. I like creating them both. But to be so wrong about which ones will get good earnings, that's frustrating. Do I just not recognize what good content is? Or is it all just so random here?

Both good questions. Guess you know what good content is, but we have also a random factor and a tiny window of time to be seen by the big ones.

I hope the curation teams, like Curie and the curation trails, help reduce the random factor. But the low number of views that we can see now, is a new piece of information that is disheartening. I will keep pressing on, though -- there are great developments being worked on behind the scenes.

It may be a bit disheartening., yes, but at least it's more realistic. Now you know how many people actually read what you've posted! Ah, I also read somewhere that the visualizations on e-steem application weren't accounted!! Steem on!

I'm sure hundreds of people are reading my posts on e-steem! That's it -- lol.
It does help to have a realistic assessment, though. Steem on, alright! : )

Haha, me too! Sometimes I open some post on e-steem, but not that many!

Yes, every time I post. I literally walk around praying like an artist at a first exhibition for every post in writing is a first exhibition. Sometimes I know I written something very good and nothing. Sometimes it bothers me when I write a book and one chapter gets a huge reward and the next chapter or maybe two gets nothing. In those moments, one finds out whether or not they are artists. When the going gets tough I remember Homer, Plato, the biblical prophets. People still talk about their works and their only reward is the betterment of people they will never see or meet. Yet, that is a good thought, worth making art for.

Nice trick! Thanks for commenting :)

I totally understand, thanks for the reminder to stay calm don't expect anything.

It's really great to write some good info and get proper reward, but it is very important to have this tought in mind, like in other things in life.

@liliana.duarte everyone goes through or went through that - before we could go up we need to start from the foot of the mountain
I have many inspirations but for today I'd like to share this ...

Cheer up!

Thanks you very much, i'm needing this focus mindset. I'll keep this inpiration in mind :)

Good post! What I find odd is that articles I write that I pour my heart and soul into...nothing. Others that I write just off the top of my head, bang! Maybe I'm doing it backwards.

I know that feeling...thanks for passing by:)

Hi liliana, I think everyone does. I know exactly what you're talking about because I've experienced this a couple of times. In the beginning you need a lot of luck. Sometimes you work hours preparing a new post without getting the attention you deserve. But I think it will take a while to make enough people believe in your skills. Keep it up and you'll recognize that it will be worth it. Support your supporters that you believe in. I'll be following you.
Cheers :-)

Thanks for such kind words. I already support some of my fellows, and feel some support too. But they aren't whales ;) haha

Following back

It'll take some time and there will be whales following you if they recognize your ambitions. Maybe you'll even become a whale one day ;)

I want to be a whale, but only on Steemit :)

That's funny, I believe you ;) - and on your way to become a whale I'll be happy about your votes. Thats also valuable - no matter if it's generating profit :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 05. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.44 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 05 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85