"Speech codes also impose 'disparate impact' on males, a form of sex discrimination that is illegal under federal law."steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Attribution: I saw this on Jim Stone, freelance journalist's, site: http://jimstone.is -- the quote in the title is what motivated me to make a post out of this, as I'm on the autistic spectrum although not diagnosed (they didn't have Asperger's, when I was a kid).

This part resonated with me: "Imagine you're an anthropology professor with Asperger's, so you can't anticipate whether people will find your jokes hilarious or offensive until you tell them. But you get better student course evaluations when you try to be funny. Now your university imposes a new speech code that says, basically, 'Don't say anything that people might find offensive'. You need good course evaluations for promotion and tenure, but your brain can't anticipate your students' reactions to your quirky sense of humor."

I had a series of interviews with one company years ago, and the final interview was with the vice president. The recruiter told me on the phone, "This guy has no sense of humor, so don't make any jokes."

My life is composed of humor! So when I got there, when I sat down in the chair I was so flustered that I sat on the arm rest and fell into the chair (which, admittedly, is humorous -- but was unintentional!). I tried to tell my normal story about my broken eye and he stopped me before I could finish it. Obviously, I didn't get the job, and am actually thankful for it because I wouldn't have wanted to work closely with such an individual.

http://quillette.com/2017/07/18/neurodiversity-case-free-speech/

Image credit: above article.

Sort:  

Congratulations @libertyteeth! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You're a great writer. This post made me chuckle once and laugh another time. Thanks for sharing it!

On a more serious note, it is sad how our cause has suffered so much that now people can be arrested for being "offensive."

What happened to our country (liberty)? :(

Thanks! Let's grit our teeth and restore liberty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87