Hey everyone, I've got my first Steemit stalker! :(steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

This user, @shuwix, was very negative towards Jerry Banfield yesterday, so I called him out on it and flagged his comment.

Today, he was negative towards me in his responses, so I flagged both those comments, and replied, asking directly what Jerry had done to deserve his ire.

Rather than responding, he has now downvoted 138 of my comments! None of which were directed at him; in conversations he was participating in; or relevant to our discussion.

The "good" news is he's a minnow, and I'm half a whale. It's not great news though! Why would people behave like this in public, especially on a blockchain? Perhaps he's drunk, or worse?

Feel free to check out his profile, and ask him what's going on in his tiny little head. He's stuck in there, poor thing.

Here's Jerry's post, with a direct link to the comment -- but you need to click "Reveal Comment" to see what @shuwix wrote.

https://steemit.com/influence/@jerrybanfield/secrets-of-influence-start-with-skills#@shuwix/re-jerrybanfield-secrets-of-influence-start-with-skills-20170825t004758674z

You can verify the truth of my statements via https://steemd.com/@libertyteeth?page=2 showing our interaction yesterday, and also I'll note that he made six replies to me, but there were only two -- thus, he might have said something even more negative and then walked it back (or, entirely possible he could have walked it forward as well!). What I mean by this is, only two comments showed up, so four of those six replies to me were edits to existing comments.

I wonder if there's a Steemit tool to find all edits of a comment/post?

You can also see that I initially gave him a 1% downvote, and then thought better of it and made it 100%.

And, the first page https://steemd.com/@libertyteeth shows his 138 unrelated downvotes, my two related downvotes, and my reply, as well as my just-now reply which I intend to be the last of my interactions with this jerk.

Sort:  

He flagged a comment in one of our threads and I upvoted and brought it back to zero. When I see this I will help out with whatever power I can muster.

dancer-girl-artistic-animated-gif-1.gif

[Huh! Hit that bug again, where it saved my comment under a different comment than the one I had clicked Reply on! I noticed it because it ended up a reply to myself, so I saw it in my "Replies" tab. Should report this bug, it has affected me twice now, and two others that I have heard of. Original comment below.]

That's an intense picture!

And, it made me realize -- I look at the "Replies" tab and upvote and answer them -- but, that doesn't show me replies on my post to other accounts' comments. So, I think I'll need to review the "Blog" tab as well. Take care!

Thank you sir! We can't watch our own backs, at least, not without mirrors. :)

Sure thing!

That's an intense picture!

And, it made me realize -- I look at the "Replies" tab and upvote and answer them -- but, that doesn't show me replies on my post to other accounts' comments. So, I think I'll need to review the "Blog" tab as well. Take care!

Funny how this retarded rat, flagging shitload of content all over Steemit is butthurt when he "gets his own medicine".

Hey dude! I wouldn't worry about it! He has zero power so he could down vote every post you have got and still it would not make any real difference! Sometimes I see these situations and think to my self they are best just not to get involved unless its directed at myself!

I feel your pain tho you didn't deserve any down votes but payback is a bitch! You can really hurt his account with you power! Go get him haha! ;)

Yes, I had that thought last night while browsing his solitary post and 20 comments, which I mentioned in my answer to @yaanivapeji earlier. But that's not really my motivation.

If I did that, he might befriend a whale (somehow!) and point them at me; or, he could have the ability to fund his account to a greater extent than mine, with similar outcome. That's not what I'm looking for; I really wanted to have a conversation with him, and understand his point of view.

Not everyone's is worth understanding, though, as he so eloquently demonstrated with his actions, rather than his words.

And that wasn't even my motivation in sharing with my friends -- I did encourage all y'all to question him, and perhaps there was a subtle unmentioned "revenge!" but it was unmentioned, and really I should have worded it better than I'm not looking for attackers/defenders, just sharing what happened. Anyway, back to more enjoyable pursuits! :)

My Dear @libertytheet ! Hope ur going fine! That's a really good answer the one in here, because even tried to see his point (the shuwix one) and the flag after flag is very very silly and bad intentioned. Why these people are coming to Steemit_ Wish could find Steemit a year ago. Lol
And by the way... I dont even like Jerry at all. At least for me he did a lot of Bad to Steemit. A lot! As I assume you like him and it's fine for me, I even follow you! Lol.... Cheers!

I agree, the person behind that account seems full of negativity. And has no interest in having a conversation, just wants to spew negativity both verbally and in random-shotgun-downvote fashion.

He has replied to my comment on the initial post, twice, accusing me of being from India, and having an extra account, that being @instahater. She (I think) is one of the first accounts I interacted with, and you can see from my activity on the blockchain that I added her and two others to this automatic-voting bot, early on in my time here. Later I reduced the percentage from 100% to 10%, I believe, after funding my account. I should check that but right now I'm on my wife's laptop as we're still away, everyone else is sleeping so I've got some time to myself -- so I don't have all my bookmarks/open tabs, but will later today.

Hey @leotrap, why do you consider that Jerry has done harm to Steemit? I think his output, while perhaps a little too full of "love", is nothing but helpful. He did an analysis of the top four earners on Steemit, showing the first two were using strategies involving self-upvoting just before the window closes, and I forget what the second one's strategy was, but the third was generating content, as was the fourth -- which is Jerry!

I followed him, as he was another of the first accounts I came in contact with when I started here. I don't watch every video, or read every post, but he does seem to have some good insights, both in marketing and in analysis. Yes, I'm following you as well! :)

Just curious why you think that. Have a great day!

Dear @libertyteeth hope you are getting a good time in there so. Just forget about this Stalker.

And about your question about Jerry well, I think he is great in anlysis and marketing specially for him, but the big problem to my view is that he did more bad than good to Steemit a real BAD and he knows that and just don't even care. And now playing to be a good guy try to teach the old Steemians how to do things, the new ones and all those he invite here. The reason is simple and I will give you an example.

Steemit is the Island and Youtube the old town that's falling.

Imagine I find a paradisiac Island, big, green, no pollution, no plastic, no garbage, just people living there, hunting, farming, havinga good time and interacting in peace.. a few in a big big big place. Everything ok till there.. so go on.. One day I arrive in my boat, and the community receive me in great mood, feed me , teach me how things are, and open the doors of their houses. The Paradise I thought! But...
My old town, from where i came is starting to fall and I have a lot of money that afford me in the old town and some people works for me cosuming my products, buy my things and I m rich.. but again...the other town is falling down and people knows it. Suddenly some of the folks from the island tells me that could be so good to be more in the island, to participate, to grow together and maybe have some new thing that contribute to be a better community (let's call it videos maybe?).

Clink... I have an idea so! Will take the 200.000 people that pays my billing by buying my products from the old town to here, and they also can do wahtever they want in here.. And I'm still the chief of all because are My followers. How many people is in this island now? 200.000_ i will tell it to 200.000 more. Well.... which porcentage of the people i know are good enough to make this community grow in good way? How much are sick? How much are dirties? How much are Stalkers_ Haters? Ohhh.... don't worry, it's just a detail. The analizer is me... so... don't worry.. come on everybody to the island will have a great time, do whatever you want and just come everything is free and even more..you will earn money just for breathing and you will give me a part.

Mmmmm did I answer clearly? Maybe i'm too crazy, but that's the reason, If i do this kind of things is because im just thinking in me... today facebook, later youtube and after that whatever that helps me to make money. Steemit? Oh I in love..Steemit is my life! And the worst is that a lot of people claps him.

At least for me is so clear, and really don't like at alla people that using a silly home made face try to like to everybody. Because as analyzer he knew what was doing!

Agrrrrrrr I think in that and gives me so much anger. Because even being new in here I think this could be a great place for a lot of us, and i'm seeing how Steemit is falling down and that's hurts.

Wooowwwwww..... that's a Catarsis man! Hehehe.... Love in there to all!

Thanks for the detailed explanation! Gives me something to think about; I didn't watch his entire journey, I think he started here around the same time I did but, like you said, he brought along a lot of his subs.

I didn't have a YouTube channel (I do now, as I wanted to post garden videos here), nor followers to bring here -- but, I did invest into my account to the tune of around 15 BTC. So it could be said that I'm "doing it wrong" as well. I had wanted to "grow my account organically" but then decided to jump in head first. :) Anyway, take care!

Always a pleasure to talk with you! Enjoy your family time... !

Very Nice Post

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @otage.

Great, thanks! Don't even need a tool, just add "/edits" to the URL -- one to remember!

Oops, I see it's at steemdb.com, not here! Will update my work log (I like to keep parts of my brain outside my body, especially now that it's damaged).

So, it's: in the URL, replace "steemit.com" with "steemdb.com", and then add "/edits". I know @yaanivapeji edited his comment because I noticed it ended after the first two sentences, and now has a third, so I can test with his comment: hmm, that wasn't quite it either. I think I see it, now: after the tag (e.g., "influence/" above, or "life/" for @yaanivapeji's comment), delete everything up to and including the "#", then add "/edits" to the end: awesome! And that's how it's done. :)

You're welcome . . . now, you're dangerous . . . steemdb.com has a lot for analyzing . . .
:)

Rather dangerous: http://libertyteeth.xyz/show-steemit-edits/

Thanks for the motivation! It was a huge struggle with these headaches and forgetting, but I managed to work through the issues. Don't know PHP very well at all, LOL, there's no "$url =~ s/find/replace/;" like Perl has...

I want it to open in a new tab but ran out of time right now, gotta get on the road. Happy with the progress, and will complete it later! :D

@goldkey, I have another question: I noticed a comment was deleted; is there a way to see those? I tried a few changes but didn't get anywhere.

Also, a meta-question: are there docs for steemdb? Thanks!

The deleted comment, from steemdb:


shuwix deleted comment @shuwix/re-libertyteeth-re-shuwix-re-libertyteeth-re-shuwix-re-jerrybanfield-secrets-of-influence-start-with-skills-20170827t064057882z


No. I don't know. I'm stumbling in the dark here too, looking for docs on steem, steemd, etc. . . So far, I haven't seen a 'deleted comment'. I thought blockchain was forever, even edits are maintained.
Thanks for transfer :)

Sure thing! Thanks for your help. Don't know if you know but I'm recovering from multiple concussions and used to develop software, and have a very difficult time at it these days. So your explanation and motivation are really precious. Thanks.

Oh, and also -- I think the comment is still on the blockchain, just that it now appears "deleted" when viewing it via the website.

Hmm, I wonder if I can put a URL together to get to that comment?

After quite a bit of trying, I give up.

I also searched for "delete a post on steemit" and there were many discussions, and a feature request, but I didn't see how to do it.

https://steemit.com/steem/@jsc/steemit-delete-proposal

https://github.com/steemit/condenser/issues/20

I know it's possible, as https://steemd.com/@shuwix shows it was done, currently the eighth entry.

Aha! Finally got steemdb to show me something -- but all it shows is empty. Perhaps he posted an empty comment, then deleted it? Here's the link: https://steemdb.com/influence/@shuwix/re-libertyteeth-re-shuwix-re-libertyteeth-re-shuwix-re-jerrybanfield-secrets-of-influence-start-with-skills-20170827t064057882z/edits

Nice video

Wonderful,,,,,,,,,,,

I noticed that too and i wanted to ask you what was going on? It is sad. I think he should busy trying to improve himself on steemit instead of all dis negative behaviour.

Yeah. I did click around on his (one) post, and his (now) 20 comments, to see where he was coming from (as you can see from the above steemd.com links, I did not flag anything other than our direct interaction).

I also noticed that he's very harsh on Bitcoin Cash, believing that the new BTC/BCH wallets being distributed will be hacked (by Roger Ver who is associated with the creation of said wallets), so that people will lose everything.

That does seem to be a potential concern, but I haven't seen this argument anywhere else, nor have I seen his basis for it.

Also I considered clicking on his two followers, and asking them why they're following him. But I don't want to behave the way he is behaving, to put it bluntly, so I decided to let my followers know, instead.

Some people like to wallow in their own filth; it makes them happy, for some reason. I agree, he should spend that energy doing something positive.

In fact, he could learn directly from the video Jerry posted that he was so harsh about! Jerry said use the skills that you currently have; share them, and people will appreciate it. What does he do? He shares negativity, thinking perhaps that it's a skill? It is, sad.

Well said @libertyteeth. Not everybody we relate with want to move the normal peace way.

I suppose any attention is positive attention right?

I don't understand the motive for something like that. It takes some time to make 138 votes, up or down. What did he hope to accomplish with that?

Good question, I'm not certain he's fully aware either...

I was the oldest of four growing up, and thus got less and less attention as the others arrived. I am all too familiar with the "any attention is positive attention" phrase, even if I didn't understand when I started doing it! :) And, I tend to "lead with shock" although I've toned that way down over the years.

Perhaps he's just young; or, also young...?

I helped bring all of your posts back to the light again!! All of his, not so much. Bahaha! His rep dropped to 11 :)

Actually I had taken it to 11, by downvoting the two comments he had replied to me with, yesterday I think. Now he thinks you're another one of my accounts [edit: I only have one account; my wife has @countrylover; and I have no intention of creating another account for myself, unless perhaps I want to write a bot, but I am recovering from multiple concussions and can't write software at the moment, so it wouldn't be for a while; anyway...], and that I'm from India and other stuff he made up in his head for whatever creative or retarded reason.

As I said in my last reply to him, he's not interested in a discussion, so the time for discussion is over, and goodbye. I'm not planning to respond to anything more from that account.

I did downvote those two new comments, though, and his reputation is now 9. He can choose to keep it up, or not.

Thank you for helping, and take care!

That retarded person down voted my 7 comments

I'll see if I can fix them. Can you give me links to them? I'm still away, now on wife's laptop, so I don't have all my tabs/bookmarks here for the Steem analysis tools. I know that with one of them, I could just put his name in, and then see his voting activity and find yours, so I'll do that when I get home and/or if you point me to them I could do them here, not sure when we're leaving.

I have no desire to communicate with that individual any further. However, he came to this post and continued his negativity, without entering into dialogue/discussion/conversation, so I downvoted that one and he's now at 8.

Note that I'm not attacking this person. He downvoted 138 of my comments in random-shotgun fashion. I took a look at his other comments and post, but did not downvote any of them. I'm only responding to when he is negative towards me (plus the initial response, when he was negative towards Jerry Banfield).

I'm sorry he affected you. I don't think there's a way to block people on here, although perhaps it's a feature worth putting some money towards (I wish I could still write software; but, I have some ability to achieve a goal...).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23