You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Minimalism as a Medicine From Choice

in #life8 years ago

I have long applied this philosophy particularly to my clothing (I favour to wear durable, practical military-type clothing, because sometimes I find myself out in the wild and dressing up is just too much effort for my poor brain, I never plan things properly so I need to be ready for anything), and I try to do the same with my computer.

I am particularly prone to decision paralysis when faced with a lot of choices, right back to my early childhood, where the task of cleaning up saw me paralysed and very distressed at not knowing how to even start the job. My mother attempted to teach me to narrow my focus and just start on one thing at a time, systemising the process, and once I grasped it, I generally did not have this problem anymore.

Sort:  

This is the another way become a minimalist. Your lifestyle creates philosophy, not philosophy creates a lifestyle. The result is almost the same.

Yup, also not just lifestyle, but temperament and cognitive tendencies. I have ADD (inattentive type) so I have to deliberately go out of my way to reduce my distractions. On facebook I had to regularly prune my friends list to eliminate noise, and facebook themselves would make my job so much harder with their advertisments and promotional schemes. It's not just pure distractions also, the number of times I have had to purge my contacts list to get rid of pointless or abusive users, people who did not want to debate but rather preach and castigate...

i can't image how hard is to you live in modern society, many members of which are often not able to conduct meaningful dialogue. And the amount of noise increases with each passing day.

You have wrote before why you choose steemit and what it means for you. Now I began to understand your relationship a bit better

The quality of the people in here is 10000x anything you find anywhere else online. I am just now looking at my reactivated facebook account, and just spent half an hour just removing myself from groups I am not interested in, and I don't know how long it's going to be before another 25 or more are added, there is some users who have previously added me to everybloodything and I just frankly don't care. I don't get paid for this nonsense.

Steem's system works, better, already, than any other social network, for letting you stay within your focus areas and not distracting you with obnoxious cross marketing and friends-list-groups-numbers-boosting loons. After I republish my blog, I'm not logging back in, it's just for people to see. In fact I will block anyone from posting more crap on my newly reawakened feeds. I had no idea just how much rubbish I had cut out of my life by dropping facebook.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59148.41
ETH 2526.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48