It’s time to send a letter.

in #life6 years ago

Fun fact, I write.

Have you written letters before?

6B897896-B95B-4246-95BC-04114AE56EBA.jpeg

Obviously, you know I blog daily. You have the privilege of reading my work every twenty four hours or so and you are so very welcome for that.

But, did you know about my letters? What some of you may or may not know, I too write with pen and paper. There is a story behind this craft of mine. It all started in the fourth grade. I wrote my first letter, fell in love with the response, and have carried on writing for several years.

The President always responds to letters

They send pictures, booklets, and sometimes vacation family photos. Current and former Presidents are the best pen pal. Just for the gifts alone.

Formal letters aren’t the funniest form of letter writing, but it’s what started it all. Formal letters are rare for me to write these day. informal letters filled with stickers, colors, and love, however, are right up my wheelhouse. Not sure about you, but I pour my heart and soul into words on a blog page.

Sometimes we want to be heard and other times not so much.

At times, I hope the words on the screen travel beyond my circle of autovotes. Other times, I hope it doesn’t and of course those are post most people comment on. That is the life of a blogger, I suppose. Always writing, always hoping, always shocked at what their readers respond to and what they don’t. However, there is one form of writing that I spend a little more time on that is rare. It's called the ancient art form of snail mail letter writing.

Would you like a letter from your beloved it?

You should send a letter.

Surprise someone with a letter. They probably won’t write back, although that would be nice. You would have to trust the with your address and them with yours. Letters don’t have to be long either. When I write, I never promise how long the letter will be or when I will be sending it, but that is part of the surprise.

It can be challenging to know what to say, but it's fun once you get into the habit of writing. Kinda like blogging, make sure to post your blog post first before writing a letter. Just a suggestion, maybe you can write about your experience! Maybe you can write to a solider, or maybe a pen pal over seas, or maybe a random friend? Have you been a person's pen pal before? Do you write daily offline, in a diary of sorts?

sireh kubby draw up process.jpg

Sort:  

Love the post Kubby! I hope you’re keeping well :)
When a I was in primary school in Kenya, every Tuesday morning was letter writing where we had to sit down for 30 minutes and write a letter to anyone... while it felt mundane then, I’ve always looked back at that exercise with joy, because I think it helped drill into me how lovely of an experience it can be to write a letter :)

Same with me, those early days created a hobby that I have enjoyed for years! Do you still write letter today? Maybe to me next? :)

Haha no, unfortunately not! Only blogs now ;) but I’m always interested in starting again haha!

I remember having penpals back when I was in primary school on my little rock. One of them I actually reconnected with at uni after having written letters for years, and then she moved and then I moved and that was it.

Sadly, I am much too lazy to do the post office more often than I have to these days XD

goatsig

This happened to my pen pal from overseas and in the military. Do you still write to anyone, even at random?

Only if I'm sending them a package. Random letters for the sake of random letters is sadly much too difficult for fyn these days :S

goatsig

What, I want a package!

wow, that is a fantastic idea !
My hand writing is terrible now due to all keyboard usage, i dont think i can correctly write my own name on paper :D

That sounds like practice is in order :D time to work on your penmanship :D

Hello Beautiful! certainly the way we communicate has changed today. In my time we wrote everything by hand. I still keep the letters and cards to my husband. Today that has been lost and everything is communicated via chat or internet. I feel that romanticism has been lost. I prefer the excitement of seeing the postman arrive with a letter, a good idea to rescue that tradition in some way. Writing is fascinating. Thanks for sharing.

What has been your favorite letter to write or receive?!

"At times, I hope the words on the screen travel beyond my circle of autovotes."

SAME! I used to write letters to a friend back and forth when I was younger. I think that writing an actual letter is becoming a lost art. I bet you have super nice handwriting! <3

Send me your address on discord and I’ll show you how nice my stickers are compared to my handwriting:)

I'm down!! I could use me a traditional pen pal <3 You have stickers :DDDD

Writing Formal letters and Informal, both required special brain power and good ability.And you have these qualities.So, nice post and nice habit.I like it and appreciate.

Yeah but a little, because nowadays I have not much time.

Nice work you there i love your article...🙂

Me here or you there?

Yes plzzz i am here....

Nice post@kubbyelizabeth..... Thumbs up

This is interesting........

it's fun once you get into the habit of writing.

Do you write every day?

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30