Abused & Rising Above: Goodbye baby Part I

in #life6 years ago

Have you lost a child? Either to death, stupid decisions, or circumstance? If you haven't, read this post so you will know what not to do. If you have, then read this post to know someone else on this earth feels your indescribable pain.

When someone loses a spouse we call them a widow/widower. When someone loses a parent we call them an orphan. You want to know why there is no name in the English language for when a parent loses a child? Because it is fucking horrible. Especially when you lose them to an even worse fate.

My oldest daughter hasn't lived with me since she was 14 years old. I saw her at Thanksgiving in November of 2014. I spoke to her two days later before she was suppose to come home for the week, and then I wasn't allowed to speak to her again until July 2015 when I saw her in court as I was forced to give up physical custody to the two people I wouldn't let raise a pet, aka my biological parents. That whole situation was described in another post I did, which you can read here.

All the components of how this came to be are a rather long and complicated story. The reader's digest version is that my insane addict parents for some reason always thought of my daughter as theirs. I was only 19 years old when I had her and we had to move back in with my parents on three separate occasions from her birth until she was 10 years old. I think they basically tried to use her as the daughter they never had to spoil her since they treated me like such shit my entire life. If you are at all familiar with psychology it is called the Golden Child vs. Scapegoat, except I used to be the Golden child then turned into the scapegoat after my daughter was born.

So anyway, my daughter always had a great view of my parents because she saw very little of the crazy dysfunction I grew up with and they spoiled the shit out of her growing up.


Zoe behind her wall of Christmas Presents from my parents 2009

From the moment I found out I was pregnant, even as just a kid, all I wanted to do was be an amazing mother. Something I never had and desperately wanted my daughter to experience. Her father was not in the picture, so it was just me and her. It may sound super cheese but every time I watch the TV show "Gilmore Girls" that is exactly how I pictured our lives together. However, it turned out very different. I gave up my ability to go to college so I could work at home and take care of my daughter and provide for her. I was so young when she was born I lost all my "friends" because no one wanted to hang out with a "mom". I was very lonely, but happy that she was all mine. The only thing I thought about my entire pregnancy was that I would finally have someone I could love and that would always appreciate it! I was so very naïve.

Even though I didn't know crap about what I know now, I felt that overall I was a good mom. I was selfless, giving up my ability to go to college like I had dreamt about since I was 11. Giving up any guy that wanted to date me because they didn't want kids so young. When I did finally find a halfway decent guy I stayed with him for 9 years, even though I was miserable and he cheated on me, because my daughter thought that was her father. I basically got nothing I wanted out of life for 10 years because I was always more concerned about my child getting what she needed. Ultimately, all I did was set a bad example for her of how not to be happy in life.

Anyway the first thing I ever did for myself was marry my ex. I did this for all the wrong reasons, but I thought they were the right ones. When I first got sick and my 9 year boyfriend wouldn't help me, or even help me care for my daughter I knew I couldn't stay with him. I had first met my ex when we were 17, but we hadn't really spoken in 11 or 12 years. He told me that he had loved me ever since we first met, very convincingly. He told me he would always help me, and care for me, also very convincingly. He knew very well that I had some weird mystery illness happening, but he said it didn't matter to him because I always would be his Queen and he would do what a King should and make sure I was alright. He lied about everything. So I left my bf of 9 years, I drove to FL to see my ex and he proposed to me. I said yes because I thought either he would help me like he said he was going to or I didn't want to die alone, as I said before I had been alone my whole life. Making decisions out of fear will ALWAYS be the wrong decision.

At first I was very happy - 3 months it lasted, and I really had no basis for comparison, but it felt like heaven on earth. He was so kind, patient, happy, loving, and he was really great with my daughter too. He always helped her with her homework, involved her in anything we were doing so she would feel like we were actually a family and he was her father. Even though I was with 9 year guy for so long, the extent of his fathering to her was a few movies and baseball games and two science fair projects. After three months though everything changed for me. My ex's abusive father died, and it was like the dam that had been holding all that shit in just crumbled and I got hit with a tsunami of unresolved issues and feelings that he could no longer address with a dead man. It was awful. The very next day after we got the news I was in a ball on the floor crying my eyes out with my ex screaming at me like I had just done the most horrific thing. In actuality I had just suggested we drive to FL because he wanted me to go to the funeral with him and I was so sick from this mystery illness, and pregnant, and flying was a horrible thing for me. I was terrified of heights, small spaces, I have horrendous vertigo, etc. That suggestion earned me a dressing down that landed me in the fetal position on the floor wishing I was dead. I wish I would have gotten out right then and there. Instead I bought into the excuses of allowing someone to treat me like garbage, and forgave him.

So as you already know if you have read my past posts the abuse just became worse and worse over the years, but the majority of the time my oldest daughter had no idea what has happening. I was very good about making sure she didn't know. She would hear him yell sometimes, she knew he had a bit of an anger problem, but she never saw any physical violence. I tried like hell to hold us together as a family. I gave up every part of myself that meant anything in the hope it would show him how far I was willing to go to help him and make things great for us. It never meant anything to him. He never even tried to change. He just continued to lie, and manipulate each day, and I allowed it all to happen.

After a series of very crazy events in July of 2014 (which I'm sure I will write about at some point), everything came to a head with my ex and I. He had been told by my only friend that I had an affair with the neighbor, he came straight home, never said a word or even asked me if it was true, but just belted me across the side of the head.

I was on the phone working at the time and had to excuse myself while I tried to collect myself. I threw him out and told him if he ever came back I would have him arrested for domestic assault. He smashed in the window of the house with a bottle as he left. For a few days it was really nice and quiet for me since it was just me and the kids there. His sister contacted me and asked if she could come with him to the house to get his stuff. I told her yes as long as she was going to be there. He showed up at my house without her and since I had most of his stuff bagged up I started giving it to him to just take and leave. Through the course of bringing things out to the car he cornered my oldest daughter in the bedroom and convinced her to leave with him to go to his mother's house where he was staying in Orlando.

I think she was kind of mad at me at the time, or maybe she was just fed up with having a sick mother, I honestly don't know since we never got to talk about it, but she said she wanted to go with him. This instantly put me into super protective mother bear mode because I never knew just how crazy he was going to be or what he was actually capable of. I was beyond enraged and told her not to leave, that it would be the worst decision of her life. She decided to go anyway. And to be rid of them both and the craziness I let her go. I figured I would just have my ex mom drive her back home in a few days. I refused to let him take our two younger children.

I found out a few weeks later, I think it was, that as usual my ex's motives were not only to try and hurt me by separating me from my child, but some of his dark twistedness was rearing its ugly head. Apparently, on the way back to his mother's house he told my daughter that he, "Loved her and wanted her to run away to Mexico with him." Even trying to type it just now confounds me in ways you can't imagine. As it did the same for her, that poor girl had really never had a father figure in her life, and when she finally gets one that she loves and trusts this is what he says to her.

My ex is all kinds of messed up from his own childhood trauma's, but this was a huge stretch even for him. I could hardly believe it when I heard it. I knew he could not mean what he said. Regardless it scared the shit out of my daughter. She wanted to stay at my ex's mother's house, and when his mother heard about it she gave my ex a few hundred dollars and told him to head for Mexico. For about a week my ex was not at his mother's house, and he wasn't at my house, we have no idea where he was. I was upset with my daughter for leaving, she was upset with me because I guess she thought I knew about what my ex said even though I hadn't before that. We didn't speak for a few weeks. However, in week two of my ex break, the only friend I had that lived across the street, she was upset with me for speaking my mind about a very touchy subject for her and we got into a fight. She had PTSD badly and was very violet sometimes. I offered to settle the fight by letting her punch me if it would make her feel better so we could just be friends again (stupid yes I know). Instead she body slammed me into the ground and kicked me in the head a few times (lesson learned there as well).

So turns out I had a major concussion, it was so bad the next day I couldn’t stop throwing up and could barely get off the floor. I called my ex to come and take the kids, I could not take care of them and there was no one else, like I said I couldn't even get off the floor. At the time I was too out of it to even be pissed off about all the crazy shit happening, but instead of him coming to get the kids and bringing them to his mother's house he came and wouldn't leave. I couldn't call the police because they would have taken my children seeing as I was too ill to care for them. So he stayed to care for the kids while I tried to regain my senses. After a week of things not getting better I had him bring me to the ER, the confirmed it was a bad concussion and told me a bunch of stuff to do to try and help it. I had been hit in the head many times before, so I was rather surprised this one was so bad. After about a month though it had barely gotten any better and my ex had basically moved back in without my consent. My oldest daughter was still at my mother-in-laws house. She started going to school there, had lots of friends, seemed to really be enjoying herself so while I tried to work out the issue of fixing my brain, and getting my ex out of the house again, I decided to let her stay there.

I honestly had no idea what to do, I was trying to figure out what was going on in my ex's head. If there was any truth to what he said to her, I mean after all how to do you believe anything a pathological liar says? The best answer he could come up with was some BS about how much she reminded him of me when we were younger, and how hard the past 4 years of our lives had been with me being sick and him deciding to be an abusive asshole instead of a man or husband… blah blah blah. He claims he didn't mean what he said at all - or it didn't come out right - or he just totally lost his mind at the time because of the trauma of finding out I cheated on him. I honestly don't know since I never did get a totally straight answer from him in this matter. All I knew at the time was I needed to get my brain working again, get rid of him, and get my daughter home. So I just tried to play nice while I devised a plan. But my ex had a much different plan in mind. That first month he was all sweet as pie trying to get back in my good graces. Then as it always did, it took a very nasty turn when he couldn't pretend anymore and he started torturing me, physically and mentally, night and day about my affair with the neighbor. I won't go into that now, because the horror of those events is a separate issue to address, but I was so very happy that my daughter wasn't there for that because I would never have been able to hide what happened to me during those months.

Even the reader’s digest version of this event is quite long so stay tuned for Part II tomorrow!

Questions, comments, shared experiences are always welcome!

Sort:  

Dear God Kim...how did you go through all this??? I hope lots of women (and men) will read your story & that your suffering will save someone else, or something as glorious as that so that it all makes sense one day...or even if it never makes sense, I really hope that you find peace and love yourself with all your heart and soul.

Thank God you are at the @gardenofeden & can finally focus on the deep healing that you deserve & need! Thank God @quinneaker protects you & your children!! Seriously, thank all the gods that you & your children have a safe place to heal - wow. Wow...

Keep writing, get it out of you! 💛

The big picture becomes clearer each day. The more dysfunction I clear the easier it is to see how I was even involved in situations like that. The whole exchange of energy and everything being in alignment is so real! Take a look at my history and what I have posted about - anyone that knew me even a little would have never thought me to be a person who would deal with any of this. I have dumped guys just for grabbing my arm in an argument before, so many things I have experienced since then is an extreme opposite. @quinneaker and I had an exchange the other day which truly highlighted my deepest issue of self worth, or lack there of. I have been thinking about it for many days - trying to pinpoint where this issue came from and I realize it was so many little things. I have often wondered since I learned about energy and alignment how mine could have sucked so bad since I was so young. Now I realize it spawned from the lack of self worth, which is easy to feel very deeply especially as a child. So that is one thing I will post about soon and the other is hate. You ask me how I lived through these things - Hate was my driving factor. It may sound horrible but that is how I survived. I hated my parents for abandoning me and being so dysfunctional. I hated the doctors that wouldn't help me when I was so sick I couldn't get out of bed or walk 2 ft to the bathroom. I hated Pat for claiming to be something he wasn't (even though he wasn't capable and didn't even know it). And more than anything I hated myself for having any of this be my life. Now I don't need all that hate anymore. I know of better ways to survive and move toward a thriving life. But I still have to figure out how to get rid of all that hate I manifested to drive my past survival so it stops directing my current energy to the same place :-)
Remember before when I said I have a hard time saying thank you? That is mostly because the words sound hollow and like nothing compared to how I feel. There is nothing I could ever say that would express the gratitude I have for a place like @gardenofeden and for a human being like @quinneaker that makes it possible. Just no words suited at all...

LOL you could get another post out of your replies!

The whole exchange of energy and everything being in alignment is so real!

Oh yes! And that's both a blessing and a curse because at least for me on the one hand I didn't want everything to be "all my fault", and on the other hand it meant I had all the power to stop being a victim if I didn't like playing that game. I have not been through the same things you have, but I can relate in so many ways.

Self worth!!! I think that's why so many of us are there right now, trying to clear that horrible draining lack of worth and replace it with love. It's a doozy...if you find lasting answers to that one, let me know. I'm super struggling right now. It's so interesting because I feel it's a vital part of us really stepping into & embracing the new paradigm economy too, even though it seems like we're dealing with it in our "personal" lives it's also so relevant to the "work" that we do and they are truly inseparable.

Hate is a powerful motivator, and I too have used that one to get me through. It's intense to be in a place like the GOE and no longer need it but for it to be an automatic response because it has been a defense mechanism and the driving force and the program for so long. There's a lot to unlearn and replace with healthier responses.

Your story is a great reminder for me to be more grateful. I forget where I've come from - it's a lot easier to look away than it is to really address and deal with things sometimes - but that means I also forget everything that's been provided for me there which is really just no bueno, no bueno at all. Hey maybe I can be the one (or at least one of the ones) who's life is made exponentially better because you're sharing your story! That would be amazing!

Awesome response @saramiller. I love how real and vulnerable you are expressing yourself. I know you know the power of love and hate, and it is awesome watching your transformation on so many levels.

I too have received so many gifts from @quinneaker and the paradise he has built at the @gardenofeden. I don't think any of us escape from facing ourselves, unless of course, we choose to run.

I'm glad you have both hung in here. It really is much better to be doing the work together, even though at times facing ourselves is almost too potent to swallow. I truly believe that is a big part of the blessing.

We are all benefitting already by these posts. So glad we're able to step up and work toward keeping it real! Love you both!

Wonderful response Shellie! Again you almost take the words out of my mouth lol

Great minds do think alike--and we are alike in many ways @kimberleighfl. Grateful to be connected with you.

I think anyone can benefit from hearing other peoples experiences, especially if that person has used their life events to improve! I know you can relate to the underlying feelings that come from any of these things. You don't have to lose a child to feel loss. You don't have to be part of an abusive relationship to understand disappointment and betrayal. We all go through these things in our own way, but I know that we all do at some point. I'm kind of glad I already lived through so much of the bad and now I can improve and keep going for the next 80+ years I will live!
I have learned much from you as well! You hold a type of clarity when it comes to steps of life improvement that I have never know until now. Sometimes it is easier to see something in someone else before you even realize you want or need that for yourself.

I am going to write a post about it lol. After that very informative talk with Quinn, and hours of thought on the subject lol, I realized many things that will help with the self love/ worthiness situation.

Also, I'll be on the look out for your post too

Her story means so much. It could go a long way strengthening and encouraging people around the world that their situation isn't just peculiar to them alone, that someone else has been through worse and that she survived and turned it into success.. Cannot wait to read the next from her.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kimberleighfl to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

OMG! This is so much to take in! You did your best as any loving mother would

I tried like hell to hold us together as a family. I gave up every part of myself that meant anything in the hope it would show him how far I was willing to go to help him and make things great for us.

The above proves that! You tried keeping the family in one piece. Forget what people may say, I see a strong woman in you...

Write.
@pangoli

OMG! This is so much to take in! You did your best as any loving mother would

I tried like hell to hold us together as a family. I gave up every part of myself that meant anything in the hope it would show him how far I was willing to go to help him and make things great for us.

The above proves that! You tried keeping the family in one piece. Forget what people may say, I see a strong woman in you...

PS: Part two led me here.
Write.
@pangoli

Thank you @pangoli! I really do hope what I write about benefits others. I already know how much it benefits me! I love helping people so if I can do both it is a win/win 😊

AAAAAAAAaaaaa! @kimberleighfl!!!!! It's amazing how one can get themselves into alignment with completely irrational, dysfunctional, horrific realities, and the cycle just continues to develop in even more intense ways until we really find the place within that allows us to break the cycle.

Recognizing and acknowledging the truth of what we are feeling---really digging deep--is key. Until we can take responsibility for our feelings, our actions and the outcome, we will always remain a victim of circumstance.

Acknowledging the feeling of so much pain really does awaken something that staying aloof and blaming does not. I find, at least for myself, that there does come a point where appreciation for feeling so much becomes a blessing, and even though the circumstances suck, being able to see it gives hope that there is potential for change. Finding a place of gratitude for feeling so much really can make you feel ALIVE!!!

I can feel that opening with you, and the steadfastness you have for really finding the gem of yourself inside. Through your writing it is obvious that you are examining things and forging the path to let it go.

Coming to the @gardenofeden is obviously the best move you have ever made for yourself and for your children. You are incredibly safe, you are loved, and you are held accountable and responsible for your life and all that happens in it. As difficult as it is to face, it is way more productive and life giving than considering a lifetime of more of what you have already had as a victim. Things are looking more up everyday, even in the worst of your darkest memories.

@quinneaker really holds incredible space for healing. He shines a light on all that darkness and helps to lift the veil of dysfunction. We must, ourselves, step up to do the work, but the support, love and awareness he provides is nothing short of a miracle. We are all blessed to be in his graces, and to live in this sacred space he has created, where we can help each other overcome. This IS the work. For this we are here--we are together--we are questioning everything, and becoming more conscious, more empowered, more open and freer with every breath of insight we integrate.

It isn't easy, and it isn't for sissies, but it is the path of relief from victimhood, repeated self-abusive patterns, and a giant step toward worthiness and loving the self. Ahhhhh....what more could we ask for?

So glad you're doing the work and finding it within yourself to stay the course, not run away, but truly look deep within to see why you have been in alignment with this abuse. You're a strong woman, and as you grow in your worthiness, your reality is changing.

Yay for us all holding each other's hands steadfast as family, and receiving (as much as possible, if only baby steps at a time) the gift Quinn shares. We are blessed beyond measure to be in his vortex. Together, we can heal!

Thanks for sharing your story. I feel many will benefit from your honesty and vulnerability. Somehow acknowledging it, especially in the open, ignites a chain reaction. May this serve to help others on their path of awakening as well. Love you dearly, dear sister!

Awwww @everlove! Thank you so much! I couldn't agree more with what you said, and you said it so well I'm not even going to try lol. Support, love, accountability, all of these things are what is missing from most people lives and I'm so happy to receive it here! It really is amazing to watch/feel someone's growth when they have what they need! You are an amazing mother and an inspiration to what I want to have with my children as they grow and learn :-)

Most of us don't even know where or how to begin to take responsibility for our lives--especially when there are really sucky people who play the sucky game with us so well. I'm glad you are taking the opportunity to grow--it is really a pleasure to feel witness you pulling yourself out of the darkness, and at the same time, your gratitude for the experience.

Thanks for your acknowledgement. I love the children!! No better place on earth than the @gardenofeden, where @quinneaker holds space for their childhood to be one of grand magnificence. Blessed to be a part of it all.

wow...this is a harrowing experience. We must advocate for an end in domestic violence, physical assault etc. This is heart-rending

Thank you @baboyed1000. I think the only real way to end any of the horrible negative things in this world is to help people learn empowerment. If they can clear their dysfunction, and all the learned BS that is bringing them down, life only gets better and better!

I like it! Subscription to you!

Thanks @gleb-jeglov. I hope it benefits you in many ways :-)

Read every bit of it. Life can be harsh sometimes, you are right, but together we are the power. We can change the world by changing how we decide to view things! Sharing is caring!

Thank you @spellmaker! That is one of the many things I have learned from @quinneaker, and what I want to convey in my writing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27