How Helping Others Helps You More

in #life8 years ago (edited)

BACKGROUND: I'm a writer, traveler, cryptocurrency enthusiast/investor, and former banker. I recently switched from blogging on Wordpress to Steemit. Below is a story I posted on Facebook about an encounter I had with a poor elderly woman selling lottery tickets in Vietnam that changed my life.

One day in Saigon, I was craving a bowl of Pho (Vietnamese beef noodle soup). I used my tried and true method of eating at places with lots of locals. I found a spot, took a seat and yelled out my order.

Right in front of me, I saw an elderly Vietnamese woman, that was probably in her 80's, selling lottery tickets. She looked a lot like the woman pictured above (I didn't have my phone on me to snap a photo). She asked me if I wanted to buy some but I declined.

After that, I guess she decided she needed a break and sat in the empty chair across from me. I noticed she had a stale piece of bread she was picking at and eating. This made me realize that she was probably really really hungry, it wasn't some kind of act like I've seen other scammer beggars do.

So I asked her if she'd like a bowl of Pho (which was like $2 USD). She said yes without hesitation. I asked her what she wanted and I ordered it.

She seemed really grateful. She grabbed me a plate of veggies and got me a cup of tea. When her bowl came, I saw her rip her bread into pieces and dunk them in the broth. Which to me indicated she's been poor so long she made it a habit to not waste anything.

I watched her inhale her Pho without taking a breath. After she was done with the noodles and meat, she picked up the bowl and slurped down all of the remaining broth.

At that point, I knew without a doubt she was really hungry or hadn't had a decent meal in a long time. I didn't know what else to do, so I gave her $50 bucks. To me, it didn't seem like a lot of money given it could feed her for an entire month maybe even two (reason for this is the strength of the dollar compared to the dong).

Some people say that I shouldn't have done that because it enables her to beg instead of work. But come on, she was like 80, she obviously shouldn't be working, and wouldn't be very productive anyway. She should be in a home with a family or care workers ensuring she's not suffering greatly during her few remaining years.

The feeling I felt after she thanked me and left, was of extreme peace and optimism. It was at that point, where I kind of figured what this life things is all about (for me anyway): Using my good fortune and luck to make the less fortunate, fortunate, and the unlucky, lucky.

I felt optimistic knowing that I didn't need a billion dollars or be Bill Gates to make a difference. All I can do is help the person I see in front of me, inspire that person to pay it forward, and inspire others around me to do the same.

It doesn't take a lot to make a big difference. In this case, all it took was my monthly Starbucks allowance and the 20 minutes it took me to write what you're reading right now

And the point of this post is not to brag, but to share, with the hope it inspires you to do the same, so you can see how you feel. I'm confident it'll do more for you than the person you're helping.

Sort:  

Oh thank God very very much for you and like you!!! I think it grateful that Steemit can do for charity if distribute the money of #charity by the blockchain!

Yes, I think that is a great potential use case. However, on the flipside we will need to be diligent in verifying stories and identities so we don't reward scammers.

Yes, that's hard work, but everything in our hands

Very inspiring post in a world that's going nuts on so many levels. And the image is absolutely outstanding. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks! But I don't think the world is going nuts. It's just the stories people choose to report on (negative ones) makes it seem like the world is going nuts. This is just my little contribution to balance things out. :)

@shortcut imagine if you had smartphones and social media during World War 2 (when the majority of the world was literally at war!). You would have thought that armageddon was coming. haha

For many people WW2 was like an armageddon, I guess. Even without social media. Let's hope for the best.

For people in Hiroshima it literally was :(

I hope you are right with this. Fear is never a good adviser at all. If just more people would help each other, that surely would make a big difference.

Such experience really do something with a person´s life...
Great story!

Yup. It was the highlight of my trip! Not the hotels and beaches...

Good post again ;)

Thank you kimmar. Follow me on Twitter @_Kevin_Pham if you want to be the first to see my posts.

very good post

Appreciate you taking the time to comment :)

Thank you for doing the great thing and sharing it. Hopefully more of us are encouraged to do the same.

How about you try it and post the results? ;)

I am happy to get someone to write and help others concerned, congratulations

Hope I inspire you to do the same!

this world needs that

I vote your post and I ask please that you see my post https://steemit.com/crowdfunding/@webocel/58kd3g-my-dream-needs-your-vote-crowdfunding, with your vote I can put my business and thus have a job and be able to feed my children. With just a few clicks you can change my life.
(voting this comment you are also helping)
Thanks in advance. Nicolas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25