You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I miss the old people from when I was a child - they're different now

in #life7 years ago

I couldn't agree more with your post. When growing up (in the 70s) I looked at older people like my grandparents as being kind and knowledgeable and patient. But nowadays I see a lot of 60+ people who seem angry and always willing to let someone know if they feel they are doing something that they do not approve of. In fact, I had to yell at my own mother last year because she was acting immature. Thats when I noticed that most of the people I knew from that generation were pretty much spoiled. Our world and culture is changing very fast and we cannot hold on to the same customs as previous generations because they do not make sense anymore. A father rarely has a chance to pass down a skill to his son or a mother to daughter because what was done manually 30 years ago is done by machine and usually done better.
So yes, old people are different. Check out the book Generations by Howe and Strauss https://www.amazon.com/Generations-History-Americas-Future-1584/dp/0688119123

Sort:  

Oh yes, this is the book my cousin told me about! I thought it made a lot of sense. My parents are Artist generation (Silent) and I am Nomad (Gen X.)

Thank you for the book recommendation! Yes, I agree about things changing so quickly. And sometimes with my mother I feel like she is the child and I am the parent.

I am seeing it more and more with my mother. I was always hoping that she would be a good grandmother figure for my kids, but I have given up on that. You will probably notice it more and more with your mother.
I am Gen X and my mother is a Baby Boomer (almost an Artist). My theory is that Gen Xers could rely on the internet to get answers and maybe we are more broad in terms of our education.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65669.27
ETH 2668.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87