Hate Your Job? Just Quit Already!

in #life6 years ago

shutterstock_524429965.jpg
It's weird being back to a normal part-time job, Despite my business rapidly growing every day. But I certainly don't regret my choice. While I'm working crazy amounts of hours now, Between running my business and going to my job.
I'm getting a lot of positive mental benefits of working back at UPS. I'm even noticing a huge difference in how I feel and how my body is functioning.

Recently UPS has been desperate for employees. And they've been hiring everyone. Like literally EVERYONE.
Back in the day when I first got my job, It was kind hard for me to get the job there. Two long interviews, And even then I felt like I prepared a ton. They didn't seem too enthusiastic about hiring me.

I can't help to notice all the new hires, With lousy work ethics wandering around.
Kinda pisses me off, to be honest.

NO You Don't Have To LOVE Your Job

I'm not saying you should skip your way to work As if you are going to Disneyland.
But show a little respect, I don't care if it's a "professional" or a dirty warehouse job.
Most people rely on their jobs for their income.
They hired you, Now try to at least "like" the job.
Be grateful; You get to go to work. There are people in this world, Who don't even have that option.
If you don't like what you are doing, Then find something else. There are entry-level positions in so many different industries.

Don't like flipping hamburgers? Be a Janitor!
Don't like cleaning toilets? Go work at a warehouse sorting items.
Don't like Sorting items? Go work at a grocery store.
There are options, Don't waste yours and your employers time by sticking around, Get that job that you at least SOMEWHAT like.
little-girl-2516582_960_720.jpg

Be Grateful!

There are so many opportunities in this world right now; You should be grateful to be alive!
If you hate your job, You can easily start an online business. And eventually, leave that job. YOU HAVE OPTIONS.
You don't even have to start a business; you can make money writing on Steemit, Writing, Drawing, Or singing for people on Fiverr. The opportunities are endless for a side hustle.

Oh, wait, You just worked you're 8-hour shift?
Now you want to sit at home watching Netflix?

THEN DON'T COMPLAIN ABOUT YOUR JOB. Be grateful you get to do that. Be grateful that because of your 9 to 5 you get to be a lazy butt and lay around for the rest of the day when you get home from work.

cup-2315563_960_720.jpg

Is It YOU? Or Your Employer?

I've noticed something embarrassing about my age group.
Not only do we expect everything NOW! But we also expect to LOVE what we do, At every moment.

Sure, Not all of us are like that (I'm not mostly)
That's just not how life is.
Even though I run a business and I Love it every day, I still have to do things I don't enjoy as much (Like the upload process of all of the shirts).
Or At UPS.
I don't really enjoy loading the huge 100 pound boxes, Because they are a pain in the butt. And I don't like the furniture I have to load! Especially the mattresses.

But if you let that 1 or 2 small things dictate how you feel about the whole picture. Then you are a negative person.

If you've hated every job, you've ever had...
Is it all those companies fault? Or is it yours?

At some point, you have to take responsibility for hating everything.

So far out of all the entry-level jobs, I had to work, I only really hated 1 of those jobs. That's when I was working for a small janitorial company.
I didn't waste mine or their time, As soon as I realized it was a bad fit for me, I quit.

That's what you should always do when a job is a bad fit for you.
Sure your life dream may be to work as an "Astronaut" one day. But if you can't even somewhat like any of the jobs you've already worked, What makes you think you'll like being an Astronaut? You probably won't.

Conclusion

It's not your employer's fault you hate your job. If you don't like it quit.
Imagine what workplaces would be like, if people worked where they WANTED to, and at least somewhat liked their work?
This world would be a much better place. People don't realize the opportunities we have these days with online stuff. There are jobs for all kinds of people.
DQmYAHaEJ4aFmGXXfv5Wv8dHbym7i8YQydPUbWmewQTcfTS_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

You have a number of solid insights into workforce issues. Blaming the employer is usually not going to resolve most matters in a constructive way. Thanks for sharing.

Exactly and if you can get something better with a little more effort put into it, then go for it! Better than being miserable doing something you hate!

So far working for my boss for more than 3 years I rarely have been instructed of my work tasks. He hasn't had to. I always look for things to do and try to figure out how I can be the most resourceful for the company. It took me 1 year with this attitude to become the CEO of the head office daughter company.

For me hard work always pay off, but essentially to achieve that you need to find the place where you want to work. But more importantly you need to have the right attitude

LOVE THAT!
I do that at UPS now, Management doesn't even tell me what trailer to work in, I just go wherever needs help.
I love this comment, Hardwork and attitude is massively important.
Congratulations on becoming CEO hehe :)

Thank you 😊 On another note I am actually currently stepping down from this position ( my own choice) because I said I want to work and be in charge of the design and product development instead, which is my real passion.

I studied industrial design in China, in the end it was the fact that I knew Chinese that made me fall into this role. But like you say it's important to figure out what you want to do yourself. Spending so much time at work it is really important that you go to work with a happy and positive attitude.

At time, I think what i dislike about my job is my performance or the lack thereof. Sometimes I wish i had a mindless job, other times I wish I had more experience to do it better, moreso I wish I enjoyed the boring work that comes along with the fun stuff.

Aww Yeah! Maybe it's time for you to move onto something more challenging?
Do they offer promotions in something more fun for you?

i love the sentiment, but not so much the reality. The reality is that many people cannot afford to just "quit". They have a family to support, bills to pay. Second, there arent that many jobs out there that we can be choosy. once employers see any kind of pattern of not staying in a job, you arent likely to be at top of the decent job list. Plus, the older you get, the less opportunities there are. Have a disability? You're screwed. Are you anything other than a conforming white person? ticks off the check list.

Truth is business owners hold the upper hand in the market. They dictate the terms. wages and hours, use loopholes to avoid paying benefits, and can ask for more and more as part of the job, for the same exact pay. They can require you to smile, take abuse and speak a script on command.

The question is - why should we have to hold jobs that hold us ransom to some archaic old school mentality? Life liberty and the pursuit of happiness should not come at the cost of becoming slave to a system where only the business owners and stockholders take the profit.

I used to have a fantastic work ethic... until my good will was run over a dozen times by employers with increasing expectations with little respect for me as a person. Yes, there are plenty of kids out there bitching about work. blame their parents and educational system for not teaching them the reality of how life really is.

I think life's too short to just "get a job".

Hay you had really do talk about right decision we do have to take at right time .... Why we should do something that we don't like and go and look for something other hay it's good post and I do appreciate your word

thank you very much for suggestion one day i will follow your suggestion as i work @kaylinart

Nice blog
Whats does UPS means ?
@kaylinart
Kindly check my recent post if u dont mind

UPS is the shipping company I work for :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76