Driving Is SO Hard!

in #life7 years ago

girl-2714451_960_720.jpg

I've had my car a week now! And I just can't get over how pretty it is! And how much I love it. Yesterday I went to the grocery store, And It was a bit surreal being able to grab a cart and buy lots of food.

Usually on my bicycle I would limit myself to just a basket, Pack the food into my backpack and then take the long bike ride home, Concerned on whether my eggs would be broken. Or the ice cream melted.

So it felt really good being able to pack everything into my trunk and take my sister and me home.

I Messed up though

I'm proud of myself with how much I've learned over the last week.
I'm feeling more and more comfortable in my car. But yesterday on the way home from the library I made a big mistake.
Luckily there were no other cars on the road, But I pulled out and went into the wrong lane that would have had oncoming traffic. And quickly realized I was doing something wrong, and so I moved back into the other lane.

My All or nothing Mindset

If you've read my blog for a while, you know that I've written about how bad the all or nothing mindset is. Which I'm guilty of. After making that mistake, I was so flustered and scared that I began making more mistakes. I almost rear ended a guy because I didn't slow down. I'm realizing more that after making the first mistake, I had the mindset that " I messed up, it's too late to fix it! "
which is obviously a very unsafe mindset to have when you are driving.

I noticed once I allowed myself to laugh off my mistakes, My driving improved once again and I was fine. I just need to learn how to not panic behind the wheel.
honda-2602415_960_720.jpg

I haven't driven since I was 16

My situation is a bit weird. Here I am, 24 years old. Learning how to drive.
But oddly I have a drivers license already, AND a Motorcycle endorsement.
My parents didn't allow me to practice with their cars often. My mom also went to crazy yelling fits, Where she'd scream and yell at me at the top of her lungs, and I tried so hard to focus on driving. So eventually it got to the point where I couldn't drive.

I some how managed to barely pass my driving test.
I knew that If I didn't continuously renew my license that I would have to take the test again, This time with someone I didn't know (I Knew my high school driving teacher). So I made sure to renew my license knowing that I barely could drive.

Also at 16, I couldn't afford a car, I was already paying my monthly phone bill and only worked a little sweeper janitorial job.
monument-valley-53637_960_720.jpg
So I couldn't afford to get a car for myself.

Now I'm Doing Everything To Learn!

I'm so glad the internet provides so much content to learn from, I've been watching some basic youtube videos to help me feel less overwhelmed. I've been driving my car around the block multiple times a day, And going to nearby businesses to practice. I think if I don't start catching on soon, I May enroll myself in one of those driving schools so I can get some help. I'm a little embarrassed because I'll probably be their oldest student, and they'll probably be confused when they see I already have a license. But That's okay! I'm willing to look like a dummy if that's what it takes to learn! Hahaha.

I'm trying to be very careful! I don't want to put anyone else in danger or hurt my beautiful car!

I'm so excited to get to the point where I can drive to hiking trails, And go on road trips so I can show Steemit around Utah!

U5drBu9TLeqefSZCkckx4hetbgXAhHG_1680x8400.pngU5dsPutnTkgsKTGGvXZgkVLbedrFVim_1680x8400.pngU5du6Tg4LRagCMftytdJokqaJrouYou_1680x8400 (1).pngU5dszFNSZhy2tgQ1W7xAikndfzLTAFv_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

You might be surprised. There are many older folks (over 25) taking drivers education. There is no shame in wanting to learn to be better at something. Think positively. Just because you make a mistake doesn't mean the rest of the day has to reflect on this.

Thank you :) It's so true! I need to stop doing that

💪💪You Can. Only believe yourself then do everything you want. Human power is incredible.💪💪

Thank you <3

your welcome my dear steemit

I can totally relate to feeling overwhelmed by driving while still getting used to the process! You're taking your own life into your hands and potentially others' as well, so it can be intimidating. There were so many times shortly after I got my license that I didn't want to go to a specific part of town because I knew I'd have to parallel park on a busy street, haha. It sounds like you're doing everything right in refreshing your driving skills. Before you know it you won't think twice about loading up your trunk with groceries or going for a hike someplace far away, it'll be second nature. :)

Also, if you do go to driver's ed for a refresher course I can almost guarantee you won't be the oldest one there! My dad was an immigrant who didn't get his license until his 40s, and there are plenty of people in similar circumstances. Even if you were the oldest, so what?

Congrats on getting your car and re-learning how to drive!

There are no hard or fast rules when it comes to driving.Just learn and follow as many road signs as much as possible especially speed limits. Avoid day dreaming ,always be alert and know what is 30 meters ahead and behind you always . That means you have to use your mirrors effectively and remember accidents happen in a split second so be alert 99% of the time.Obviously ,absolutely no texting or talking on the phone. Follow this and you are bound to be safe on the road :)

Thank you :) I need to get better at using my mirrors I forget the two side ones are there sometimes.

Yeah,know those mirrors, really helpful for your hind sight :) Remember,u have to know whats up 30 meters back n front always.

Don't think of it as driving on the wrong side of the road, think of it as "going European."

There are safe driving courses you can take that teach you a lot and even gives you a discount on your car insurance. You should look into that.

I can't to drive yet @kaylinart , it's too bad for me. But i'm studing how to drive the car. Wish

Lol, reminds me of when I first started driving... many many years ago! :)

@kaylinart, I had lived overseas for 12 years. It was always an adjustment when I returned back to the US for a few months to visit family.

One trick to remember is that the driver is always closest to the middle line of the road.

I had a few moments when I was driving on the wrong side of the road. It is easier to make those mistakes when there are not other drivers to follow.

Keep up the hard work! Don't give up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22