The Family Mutt

in #life7 years ago (edited)

This is Theo, our mutt. Indefinite breed, as you can see. 

I got him from a lady who had taken him off the streets, but couldn't keep him. My daughter had pestered me for about a year to get a dog, and eventually I complied. 

The first couple of weeks he has been reluctant, very quiet, quick to get on his pillow and always making sure he wouldn't bother anybody. When I'd take him out for the usual walks, he'd get scared of cars, people cleaning the streets and he'd freak out if we had to pass a car wash. He'd bump into me and pull on his leash, to get as far away as possible.

I could only assume that he'd been abused during his time alone on the streets.

Slowly he noticed I would protect him - and that at home, we'd pet him and let him be. He gradually relaxed and learned to trust us. 

I noticed he'd acknowledged me as his owner/master/whatever, though I wasn't really looking forward to it. I got the dog for my daughter, and in my naivete, I had expected him to bond with her. But, no. I am the center of his focus. Oh, well. Probably because I feed him, give him more affection than my girl, play with him and scold him when necessary :D (though he's really peeved when it's time for his bath, then I am definitely not his favorite person :D )

Once he relaxed enough, I was excited to discover he had a playful personality. He likes to cuddle, play with our socks, sleep on my clothes or my slippers. He comes around and barks at me, then nips my feet - it's playtime!

With my daughter, it's more like a tug of war - they both [stubbornly] want to lead - either indoors, or when we go out and my daughter holds the leash; while they find this exciting, it usually drives me nuts :D 

We've had him for a year and a half now, and I'm hoping for many more to come. We're lucky to have found him. 

I am a cat person; my personality perfectly matches the feline lifestyle. For a while, Theo's behavior disgruntled me - all this attention seeking at all times, this involvement in my activities (he follows me almost everywhere in the house, not to mention he glues himself to the door whenever I have to go out) - I was like "what on earth?!?" - then I got used to it. Now I'm expecting him to join me and comment with a look or a bark almost whatever I do. 

Life happens. I'd never have expected a dog in my life, but here you go :) 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87