Miscellany

in #life6 years ago

Sup ya’ll? I haven’t been posting much here, life has been getting in the way frequently lately. Thought I might as well just write some recent thoughts, ‘cause it’s been awhile.

Firstly, to address the elephant in the room: HF20. Lots of commotion, unhappy users, uproar and all the niceties here in the past while. I, for one, am seeing a minimal change in the overall usability and content now that things have stabilized. Despite an undertested hardfork, patches were implemented rapidly, witnesses were on the ball in terms of communication and clarity, and things seem to be running smoothly. This site plays a lot of roles in users’ lives, and although I understand the negative implications of Steem downtime for people worldwide, downtime is to be expected from this system (any system, it would seem). It still really blows, especially if you feed yourself and your family with Steem. From what I saw from some witnesses’ videos, it seems like extra steps can and will be taken to prevent this kind of headache from happening again in the future.

I’ve been working a lot more recently, stuck in my dungeon making pizzas and pastas for city workers and hicks. I asked for more hours though, so fuck it, I’m in. At the same time I’m the most broke I’ve ever been, tumbling through life on ramen and eggs. Just keeping my head down for now.

Learning Python has been put on the back burner as of late, although I finally have some time off coming up so I hope to revisit more of that then. I’m excited by the coding world in general, but I’m waaay too early in my studies to tell if I’ll actually like it/be good at it. I got stuck trying to grasp the bisectional searching method and quit for like two weeks. I think Steem is going to be a good motivation to dive in. I’m stoked to even try to further understand/interact with the Steem blockchain.

Two friends from work and I were talking at the bar the other night about how none of us belong in a shitty italian restaurant day in and day out. That’s all that’s out here right now though - service, sales, warehouses.

I feel like I’m at a crossroads right now, where I know what I want to be good at right as I lose all of the time I had to practice. I’ll find it somewhere along the way.

591BDA7A-A3DA-406A-A42B-1E73024AD690.jpeg

BB7CFE52-F6F5-4EA4-93EE-349141F863A9.png

Sort:  

If I may say so, it sounds like a huge case of the grass is always greener.

Life is meant to be enjoyed on your way to where you are headed...

Too much focus on "getting there" will make a person unhappy every time.

:) Glad you posted and now I am hungry for pasta and red wine.

I understand your crossroads very well. It does not get better on its own. In fact even with daily deliberate action it often feels like it's not getting any better, but you can build momentum as long as you deliberately carve out some time.

When I decided I had to leave my full time job I made a plan to put 10 hours per week toward developing a business that I would like to eventually support me. That worked out to two three hour blocks two days per week and one four hour block on the weekend. As much as possible I stuck to those hours. I did develop a business that earns some income, and I switched to a part time job since the business does not earn enough.

I have a long way to go and this isn't (yet) a great success story, but it is pretty doable to carve out 8 or 10 hours every week to do the thing you most want to do.

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner2.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

Hi @k0wsk1!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.408 which ranks you at #6764 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 72 places in the last three days (old rank 6692).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #60.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28