You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How DO I Tell What is Real & What is *just* Hormones?

in #life6 years ago

I've suffered with PMS for many years and it seems the older I get the worse it gets. I can't even begin to imagine what you're going through with the added challenge starting menopause. It's good to hear you have a friend that you can be so open and honest with, besides talking it out I wouldn't know what other advice to give you. Hang in there I'm sure it will settle once all the hormones relax again, until then just keep managing it and talking about it. Thinking of you.

Sort:  

Thanks. The problem for me is that this stage of 'peri-menopause' is so... vague and LONG lasting! I don't want to just wait it out (because honestly, that isn't working well for me!)

My PMS was horrible, but it was so firmly scheduled for most of my life that I eventually got to a point where I knew not to make any big decisions or not to get into arguments/whatever when it was "that time"... now I just never know what is hormonal mood swings and what is legit, reasonable reactions to things. Like, I can tell that freaking out because I spilled a glass of water is overreacting... but if I freak out over something that someone I love says or does, I really want to know that I'm being at least MOSTLY reasonable about my response. I don't know if that makes any sense at all, but I'm trying to communicate! :)

It sounds like you are freaking out a tad. When the unreasonable becomes unscheduled then we can't cope. We can't cope because we didn't plan to feel this way. Whenever we can't plan then we loose the plot. I am here, I truly am. And not to sound like all those whackjobs but I have too. Breathing is supposed to work, I just always thought I was doing it wrong. You are truly in my thoughts and I truly wish I could be of more help.

Also, I have to add this... I keep seeing the scene from Super Troopers where the cop says, "You ARE freaking out, MAN." If you haven't seen that particular scene, it probably won't make any sense, but it makes me laugh every time I think of it. So, thank you for the probably totally unintended laugh :)

I think that writing just eases my stress. Getting this stuff out of my head and onto paper just makes everything feel lighter, even if it just makes me look like a mental case! :)

Writing is an excellent release for me too. Writing whatever I want also helps. If people think I'm a whackjob then so be it. It's mine as I wrote it and that's all that matters ❤.

It's not a huge deal as far as having hormonal things. I know it's part of life. I just really wish that when I was IN the midst of it that I could just TELL "Hey, chill. This is just because hormones are causing you to feel like things are bigger than they are!" but in the moment, that is just not possible.

For instance, today? I feel great. Last night? I felt great! Yesterday morning? I felt hopeless and like nothing would ever be good again. Even KNOWING that this happens to me a lot, it still drives me nuts that in the moment, I can't see the forest for the trees.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63931.86
ETH 2639.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83