The Force is strong in this one!

in #life8 years ago (edited)

My stepson just turned 10 and we have been trying to instill some work ethic in him as well as get him some of his own spending money so that he can learn the power of the dollar and hopefully how to manage it. In the past we had just bought things for him and asked him to do things for us around the house as kind of a general good will for us buying him things. 

Recently that all changed has we gave him a defined list of jobs/chores that he is to do if he is to get paid. When he completes those chores for the week he gets a defined amount of money at the end of the week. We haven't been doing it very long but so far it hasn't gone quite as we would have liked. 

The thing we didn't quite anticipate was this:

Pokemon cards! So far much of his money has been spent on Pokemon cards, which isn't the worst thing in the world per-say... 

Things escalated a bit as we went to Walmart yesterday to do our grocery shopping though. He asked if he could go look at the Pokemon cards when we were just about done shopping. We said "sure", knowing that he wouldn't be too far away. However, we were a bit surprised by what we saw when we approached. 

We found our stepson camped out on the middle of the aisle with Pokemon cards in his lap and a big grin on his face. 

You know you are addicted when you need to sit down in the store aisle in order to get your full "fix" in... ;)

Live well my friends!

Follow: @jrcornel

*A portion of the proceeds from my posts will be donated to fund an outreach program promoting Steemit.com 

Sort:  

Maybe the new Pokemon internet trend will launch him into an monumental Steem frenzy by the time he gets hooked on it!?! All for one and one for all! Namaste ;)

I put his artwork on Steemit a while back... he earned a couple bucks from it. Surprisingly he hasn't been bugging me to do it again. I am sure he will at some point. :)

Have you heard of animal jam yet? our oldest is working for her subscription doing chores around the house.

I have not... what is it?

it is a pay to play mmorpg for kids from national geographic. There is a monthly membership she is obsessed with getting because it unlocks certain features. I would typically be against anything "pay to play" but she has been doing a lot of chores. One must pick their battles.

Interesting post. My grandchildren do chores for their allowances which I think is so important to their becoming a productive adult and building their self esteem. Pokemon cards are usually bought with part of those allowances.

Haha nice! Well I am glad I am not the only one experiencing the same thing then! :)

Your post is so relatable to me I'm shooting a link to both of my kids who are now in college but will appreciate it as well.
Thanks @jrcornel and keep up the good parenting.
ps: my kids still have their favorite pokemon cards at 21 & 19 years old.

That is fantastic! Don't tell them but I still have mine as well from when I was about 12 years old... I'm 30 now... man does time fly! :)

Great catch :)

Thank you my friend :)

Could be a future padawan.... Wait a second. Do I feel a disturbance in the force?

Haha! Yes you do! ;)

Any chance he'll graduate to Magic: The Gathering?

It is possible, but I doubt it. He is obsessed with Pokemon. He spends hours watching people just open Pokemon packs on youtube... literally hours...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48