One upon a time... FORGIVE...The End!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

forgivemepls.jpg

“The weak can never forgive.
Forgiveness is the attribute of the strong.”
― Mahatma Gandhi

Ok, so you have never made a mistake?

Never?!

REALLY?!

LIAR!

Yip! That is pretty much my summation of those that seemingly have the inability to offer forgiveness to those that “blunder” along their way.

We ALL Blunder!

Yes, yes my dear – we do!


Image Credit

I have always done my best not to judge others because, well quite frankly – I prefer not to be judged either.

Why does it seem though that so many are just completely hell bent on pointing fingers at others when they make mistakes -
be they large or small…

Is it because they are perfect and have never faulted?
(I sincerely doubt that)

Is it because they would prefer the attention not be on them?

Is it because belittling someone else makes them momentarily
“bigger and better”?

Who knows! – But whatever the reason, I think they all need a huge bloody wakeup call! Life is fleeting and those that cannot learn the “art” of forgiveness (yes it is an art) are most certainly living a life short changed!


Image Credit

“Forgiveness is not an occasional act, it is a constant attitude.” ― Martin Luther King Jr.

Krikey, I have done some horrendous things in my life – requiring countless occasions of forgiveness from more people than I care to count… but is that not all part and parcel of what life is about? How do we learn if we don’t err?

I have NEVER been and never will be a “book smarts” individual. No, I am a street smarts girl! And yes, I am QUITE ok with that! But, what I have learnt in my life thus far with individuals “like me”… you know… the ones that “wing it”, “work it” and “wax it” is that we are generally very good at ruffling others feathers – mostly unintentionally so…. Often it is simply our thought process in action - and the passion which accompanies that.

Passion seldom has manners ;)

We all know this!

Quotefancy-121899-3840x2160.jpg
Image Credit

What upsets me though – as I look around - is that so many people, equally imperfect, are so VERY quick to cast judgement onto others!

I am sorry – did I miss the memo where you get to cast judgement for my ”sins” that vary slightly from your own? Hmmm – I must have!

What a gracious and beautiful place this world would be if we could all just be a little more accepting of others.

“Forgiveness is the fragrance that the violet sheds on the heel that has crushed it.” ― Mark Twain

A little while ago, I wrote an article titled “JUDGEMENT AND THE MASK” which essentially outlined why people build walls around themselves – I would like to quote a short excerpt from it…

No, You never really know everything about another person, because people have become so conditioned to building walls and wearing masks, only allowing others to see what they selectively choose to show. The rest of it stays under lock and key. I have brought this into other posts - my parents got divorced when I was 5 years old. I am the youngest of four children and I have often had discussions with people about how each and every one of us was affected differently by that part in our lives because of our different stages of emotional and psychological development at the time. No two wounds will ever be the same. In learning to understand people, this is an essential element to remember. “When we are judging everything, we are learning nothing.” ― Steve Maraboli I cannot possibly, truly understand what emotional scars and baggage they deal with as adults now, just as much as they will never really understand mine. The same applies to all the other people that cross our paths. - Often, people are quick to judge others – which is so fundamentally wrong!

Situations like the above are born from circumstance where there is a lack of love and forgiveness!

The lack of forgiveness in itself is a judgement – and the last time I checked… NONE of us were granted that right… unless of course you are flawless?!

Are you?

No, you are not!

NEWSFLASH!!!!!

None of us are!

So best then, that we all exercise a little more humility!

Quotefancy-2115965-3840x2160.jpg
Image Credit

“It is unwise to be too sure of one's own wisdom. It is healthy to be reminded that the strongest might weaken and the wisest might err.” ― Mahatma Gandhi

The crux of the matter is that we ALL F-UP… again, again and again in different ways and on different scales of magnitude, but unless you want to be judged for your errors… my advice would be that you take a bit of a back step in being so quick to condemn others that do too.

Life is short, time is fleeting and it is squandered when spent condemning!

Take a moment to remember just how imperfectly imperfect YOU are before you wag that finger ;)

“Grudges are for those who insist that they are owed something; forgiveness, however, is for those who are substantial enough to move on.” ― Criss Jami

Until next time...

Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea 3.gif

ENTHUSIASTIC about BLOGGING?

Got AWESOME content?

well, what are you waiting for?!

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

SB Banner NEW.png

Header Image Credit

Sort:  

Powerful piece...as someone in a certain program for many years...where we all share our "experience strength and hope"...I have learned that those in pain or have suffered difficult things...are the most humble...sadly it often takes a tragic event in ones life to find comfort in humility...and I think many humans who have suffered often survive by stuffing it away and learning to be strong, judgmental, controlling and wearing the masks you mention in order to avoid the pain. "You only know what you know"...and while I don't wish suffering onto anybody....I wish it on everybody...since the blessing one receives is a humanness unattainable any other way...and the lessons you share are the benefits one experiences and better understand...

Absolutely! Very well said @bobreedo :) Thank you for that!

and the hardest part, but most vital, is to forgive ourselves (we always seem to leave that part out). But in order to let go of the past this is a very necessary step toward healing! as always, nicely written.

Too true hey! and yes, it most certainly is the most difficult part! Thank you for the lovely compliment again dear x

Again, I like the way you manage to convey feelings to a reporter
It's charming but also painful 💛

Thank you

If you would like to recieve upvotes from me on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @NirGF

Thank you :) That means a lot to me!

Thank you @jennifar12 I am glad you enjoyed it :)

I am pleasures

Forgiveness is the right way in most cases, but not when people you care about are involved in the situation. I think we are built that way for a reason. Still, it is such a liberating feeling.

indeed it is! Thank you for your lovely input. It is always appreciated and valued x

beautifully said Jaynie !

Thank you!! I appreciate that x

So much true

indeed!!!! :) Thanks for taking the time to read it x

Thanks For Share This.

And thank you for reading it :)

It is not always easy to forgive and forget, it does make your load lighter when you learn how. None is perfect, a nice collation of thoughts @jaynie

Thank you @joanstewart - much appreciated x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25