HAPPY HIPPIE QUOTES #21 - CALM DOWN!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Happy Hippie1.jpg

Your calm mind is the ultimate weapon against your challenges. So relax. – Bryant McGill

Today, it was actually the song which inspired the quote.

A little while ago, I stumbled across this song by Skip Marley and I fell in love with it instantly! It is so relevant to the “state” in which so much of our world is in… from a grand scale, right down to our personal relationships.

I think it has a lot to do with how much pressure we are all under these days, that we react the way we do… (again… from the high flyers, right down to the rest of us). Everything is a competition. Everything becomes a battle for what “I” want – it can all often be quite selfish really… which as I am sure you know, seldom leads to anywhere good.

This song really resonated with me because it was like a STOP SIGN with a good beat ;)

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

For those of you that are unable to watch the video, or simply stuggle with the clarity of lyrics – here they are for your convenience…

I thought we figured out how not to spill blood.
I thought we figured out to walk away
I thought we found that love was not a failure
Decided that the sea would have no waves

And it kills me 'cause I get worked up and you get worked up
And we get worked up for nothing, yeah
I get worked up and they get worked up
And we get worked up for what?

Calm down, calm down
Calm down, oh, calm down

Is this the way it is for other people?
I wonder if they feel it like I do
I know there is more love than than there is evil
A war is just a waste of me and you

And it kills me 'cause I get worked up and you get worked up
And we get worked up for nothing
I get worked up and they get worked up
And we get worked up for what?

Calm down, calm down
Calm down, oh, calm down
Oh, calm down
Calm down, oh, calm down
Oh, calm down

Time to figure it out, when people living in doubt
Brother, look further, take care of each other
Stressing over, about if you need it, then you can shout
My sister, look further, yeah, you're the preserver
Time to figure it out, when people living in doubt
I get worked up and you get worked up and
Stressing over, about if you need it, then you can shout
We get worked up for what?

Calm down, calm down

LYRICS SOURCE CREDIT

WHAT IS HAPPY HIPPIE QUOTES ALL ABOUT...

People often say that motivation doesn’t last. Well neither does bathing – that’s why we recommend it daily! – Zig Ziglar

I am a total sucker for anything motivational and/or inspirational, I often spend a good amount of time browsing quotes online to share with followers on various other platforms so I figured why not make it a daily habit here on Steemit too :)

Despite the fact that I am a complete and utter tech junkie and I love so much about our modern world - (yes, there is a lot that I DON’T like as well… but keep up people… this is a happy hippy post), I have often considered the fact that I might have been born in the wrong era.

I have an insatiable love for anything 60’s!

So here I sit - in the 21st century, perhaps minus the bell bottoms but definitely not without the happy spirit, excessive array of colour (everywhere) and juuuuust a few gadgets to boot…he he!

Welcome to…

HAPPY HIPPIE QUOTES

Until next time…

Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea 3.gif

Sort:  

great post
follow me @sairahamdan

Thank you :)

waaahahahaha!!! LOVE IT!!!!

Always insiring @jaynie. Good job...can we have a chat on steemit chat?

Would love to... but struggling to log in... SO annoying!!!!!!

How about IG?? Just let me have your username

Great to hear another Marley sing :)
I am a big Reggae fan since I was young.
It was nice to see that Skip Marley, like Bob Marley pulls up the side of his top lip while singing :)

The great thing about getting older is that you calm down alot :)

oh man - aint that the truth! lol :)

first thank you for shearing
really I didn't watch the video but I saw the lyrics

  • I know there is more love than than there is evil
    I think this sentence is ... how I say it ... I think the it's opposite
    I believe the evil is more than the love but I believe the love is stronger than it

Congratulations @jaynie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

So very true, staying calm , some people have to work on it more than others but it's so worth it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16