In Australia, we don't make snowmen. We make snow-kangas.

in #life7 years ago

snow-roo.jpg

Not to mention, snow koalas...

snow-koala.jpg

On Saturday, we went with some friends up to Lake Mountain, a cross-country ski resort less than two hours drive from our home near Melbourne.

By the way, we can't take credit for these snow creatures. A Chilean family made them, and we stumbled upon their work not long after they had finished.

lake-mountain.png

map.jpg

The main attraction for the kids was the toboggan run. It was a little crowded, and felt like half of Melbourne had joined us on this trip, but we managed to have a good time nonetheless.

IMG_3710.jpg

IMG_3719.jpg

Here are our Syrian friends, Rabia and Abir, sledding for the first time. They arrived last year in Australia as refugees after refusing to submit to the powers that be in their home country.

IMG_3722.jpg

After a while you get bored with sliding down a snowy hill and you just want to roll snow up into big balls. I totally get it.

playing-snow.jpg

After lunch, we scaled the 800-metre hike from the ski resort up to the summit - with a few breaks along the way, of course.

20170812_135227.jpg

IMG_3730.jpg

IMG_3734.jpg

summit.jpg

The highlight for me was using my old baseball skills in the snowball fight at the summit. The snow was a little wet, which meant I could pack the snow up into a rather firm ball of ice.

IMG_3747.jpg

I did hit my wife in the leg with a snow ball and she was not too pleased.

Speaking of, no family day is complete without the obligatory selfie with the wife.

IMG_3712.jpg

Thanks for stopping by.




Jason Staggers

Sort:  

Ohhhh it's all very nice @jasonstaggers
Recreation has to be fundamental in life and to enjoy together is the greatest.
Also in Venezuela we have snow. In the sierra nevada, and at Bolivar peak is perpetual snow. (I'll write a post about it)
Congratulations and God bless your family

Spectacular scenery, very beautiful. There is nothing better than sharing with the family. Very funny snowmen or koala and kangaroo.
Greetings to Rabia and Abir, it is difficult to be displaced from their home, but they managed to move on. Much success for them too.
God bless you and your family Jason, you always help the people that are around you. I wish you much success in life. ;)

Thanks for your kind words Andry :)

Hahah! So cute. I love the snow-koala. Adorable. Thanks for sharing!

The koala was definitely my favourite.

I don't why but when think about Australia I don't think about snow

Much of Australia is desert (outback) but we do have an alpine region that runs from Victoria into New South Wales. The elevation is not high, so the skiing is more like Vermont than Colorado, if you're familiar with United States geography. And you only get snow for two or three months, then it starts to melt off and the lifts stop running. But it's a fun interruption from an otherwise fairly hot place. That said, Melbourne is a little cooler much of the year. @boomshikha

Australian geography is quite diverse, I think I missed the fact that is a continent. Really cool!

Agreed! I was thinking the same thing, but I didn't want to be rude. :) I guess, they have cold areas in Australia, too. It is so huge.

Thanks for sharing parts of your life :)

Thanks for stopping by :)

This is not how I picture Australia! Especially during my summer months. I always forget that since you are on the southern side of the equator, your seasons are opposite of ours.
Either way it looks like great fun. Did anyone actually ski or snowboard? Or was sledding / hiking the only activities on the agenda?

Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada. He is an active member of @steemparents
Check out my Latest Blog

For skiing and snowboarding you need to travel a little further to Mount Buller where the elevation is higher. There's also Falls Creek and Mount Hotham, which are a little farther still. Tough to do those in a day trip.

The skiing is actually not bad here, especially after a good snow. It's just that the runs are a little short.

Interesting. I associate "alpine" skiing as downhill skiing. So when it said "Lake Mountain Alpine Resort" on the map.... I was bamboozled!
In my area, the ski runs are short as well. I have to make a good 4 hour drive to hit some decent slopes.

Darryl

Joey and all - great job Team Staggers!

A great big UPVOTE from Team Australia to our favourite Steemit Family.

SirKnight as TA.

Thanks my friend!

Looks like everyone had plenty of fun, thanks for sharing the fun with us, cheers mate.

Thanks silverbug. It was definitely a fun day.

Hi Jason. Looks like Switzerland, only better! Wonderful family, hope you are all well.

Thanks very much. It's definitely a beautiful area.

nice.....me @sultan aceh ...vote. follow and resteem u post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05