Carnivorous Plants - These are insect eating plants.

in #life6 years ago


I really like this photo, taken from youtube.com

It shows the plant waiting for the insect to come in and it is dinner time for the plant.

()
Source : pixabay

When we hear the word Carnivorous, what comes to mind is the image of bloody and ugly scenes. But look at this beautiful plant, so colourful and pretty.

I am sure most have heard of these carnivorous plants and many many years ago I remembered watching a film with gigantic plants that eat people and I have thought of it as friction then. But now I know there are really such plants, not eating human though but small animals besides insects.

These Carnivorous plants need nutrients to grow and survive besides getting energy from sunlight and air. After trapping these insects and preys, they dissolved them to extract their nutrients.

As I understand when I was young, it has been always the insects and animals that consume and 'eat' plants. I used to refer them as 'pest' that destroyed the lovely plants and flowers. Now it has evolved to the other way, with the plant 'eating' these insects and animals. Now Coevolution comes to play with the changes of roles between the plants and the insects.

This is a video that I took from youtube to share with all.

Thanks for reading and supporting.
@jackpot

Sort:  

beautifully scary, isn't it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75