Today's turning point

in #life7 years ago

Elevating your hustle

In life there are a couple turning points. Some major events that throw you off your path. Make you completely rethink your approach and values in life. And then some minor instances. Instances that fuel your desire to continue the road you’ve already decided you’re gonna take anyway.

Today was such a day.

I went out of the house this morning to meet up with two fellow students. We had to do a group project that we procrastinated on all semester. Didn’t go to class once and had to present in two days. Prof didn’t answer e-Mails. Had no clue whether or not our topic fit the criteria or how to go about structuring the theoretical part and then put it to the test. We also had to conduct a survey. Ask about 100 hundred people.

In short, we were absolutely clueless. Screwed. We thought we could outsmart this class. After all it’s a first semester course and we’re in the fifth and sixth semester.

After debating for about two hours we decided to not waste any more time and just not hand in anything at all. Again. Just don’t appear for the presentation don’t write the paper. Fail the course a second time. We agreed this would be best as we would otherwise just get a passing grade which at this point in our college career wouldn’t suffice.

Weirdly it lifted a burden off my shoulders.

I didn’t feel too bad about our decision. Mainly because it meant I could spend the rest of the day focusing on another important project that was due tomorrow. But the second more compelling reason I made up in my mind was: screw it, I’m not gonna play this game of college any longer anyway. I’m not made for all this crap. With this decision a new fire lit up inside my ass. Well, I basically set my own ass on fire. It was a realization that hit me in that moment. In the moment I pushed the conversation into the direction of dropping the class.

In my mind it was me saying: come on now, go all in on your other project. Work on your business. You have to get serious now, otherwise you’re gonna end up doing some menial work. Become a cashier or some shit.

I pretty much started chopping down the tree that was holding my hammock. Starting to get rid of my safety net. Sometimes this is the best way to go about stuff. Apparently I’m more motivated by fear than by looking at all the positive stuff that could happen.

All the way home I was hyped.

I put myself in a situation where I had to execute. There is no other option. I won’t go back to all this crap next semester. I’ll be as good as set up by the time the next semester rolls around. I was looking forward to getting home. Getting back to some real work. Work that would take me somewhere in life. Work where I was the decision maker. Work I am fully in control over my output.

The last months have been tough. I’ve been dangling around, half winging my business. Kinda knowing what to do, but still not doing what was required.

On that way home I swore myself I was gonna put in the 100 hour work weeks that are needed. Needed to get this off the ground and actually see results.

There is no other way.

The belief in my abilities has never been stronger. I know I will pull it off. And it feels so good. I can already smell it. Feel it. In six months I will look back on this post and be glad I put myself in this situation. And documented it. Steemit will be my witness. Even if no one else reads it or believes in me. Or knows who I am. I’ll prove all of you wrong. But mainly I’m gonna show myself I can do it.

Stay awesome and don’t fail to build!!! Ever.

Sort:  

I will read it! Look forward to seeing you pull off your dreams! Followed.

Appreciate it, you're the best! I won't disappoint :D

YES YOU CAN !!!! great post enjoyed reading it, thanks for sharing ! will follow for sure :) !

Thank you! There is so much more to come :D

awesome post and I wish your post has a lot of scope :)

Thanks a ton! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02