Document don't create

in #life7 years ago

Sometimes it can get tough to produce content. You feel it has to be perfect. Fit certain criteria, check the box on what's shared.

At least for me, that is. I'm always a little scared when I sit down and come up with a piece of content. An article I can share here on Steemit. Something that is "worthy".

When you want to establish an online brand, get known, have an audience, you have to put out a lot of content. A lot.

Wanna be a comedian? You better come up with a couple of funny pieces a day. Go on some shows and talk to people.

Start a podcast? You better have episodes on the regular or people will forget your podcast exists.

A gaming channel? Put out videos. A Steemit writer. Write. Multiple pieces a day.

Now, here's the challenge. (I don't believe in the word problem anymore, deleted it from my vernacular)

People care too much about all the nitty gritty of this tuff.

They wanna be a vlogger, tell stories, but worry too much about the camera. The equipment, the lighting. All that bullshit. Like it's somehow gonna hide shitty storytelling skills. It doesn't. There's no use in having a 4k video if the content itself sucks ass.

The thing is: If you're boring, all the above is irrelevant. Doesn't matter.

Hours upon hours of strategizing, debating and pondering of what you're gonna do is wasted time. I know. I've been there. I still am there.

Everytime I sit down to write a Steemit article I begin to wonder. Is this good enough? Will someone want to read this? Urgh what am I even doing...

Put in the time. Start doing. Get feedback and iterate.

But who the hell am I to judge any of the above? How could I know what people on Steemit would like to read about me?

So, I sit down and document.

When you say "it's hard to pump out three pieces of content on Steemit every day..." I'm ith you. I agree. But what's the alternative? Not writing? Not producing? Giving up?

Just tell 'em what's going on in your life. Show 'em. Your fears, anxieties, daily struggles. Open up, be vulnerable. It's what makes us human and allows us to connect. Which makes it way easier to get out content than thinking about what the perfect post is. Secret: There is no perfect post.

So, what if most of 'em suck? People will tell you, show you. They're not gonna read or upvote your stuff. Use it as feedback.

Heck, reality is brutal. Maybe you're boring. Maybe when you start to document you start to realize it's not even worth your own time to listen to yourself.

Not everybody's made for this.

Fuck. Am I? I've been on Steemit for a year and two days now. A year and two days. I still consider none of my writing worthy. None of it. Not one piece I look back on and say "that's decent".

But Ima find out. Document the journey. Even with zero followers. Zero views. It's gon be a nice story either way.

Stay awesome and don't fail to build!

Sort:  

You sound like me with my work projects. I hate most of them but others flip out over how much they love it.

Well there's always highs and lows. I don't hate my work projects, I'm the one choosing them. But when you document your journey there will always be not so fun moments. Keep going!

Everyone shitposting should read this article. Great advice.

Haha thanks for your comment! :D

I feel like you do about all my posts and comments. I over analyze everything. I'm trying to work on that. Very relevant post for me.

Sart. That's all I got for you. Trust me it's liberating. And you'll see what's important, what has to be done and figure it out along the way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63549.78
ETH 3107.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88