You're not in control.

in #life6 years ago

It's a horrible concept, I know. I've been trying to grasp it the whole day myself, and it's really...well, really hard.

I mean I'm not a control-freak. Not in the traditional sense, at least. I don't want things to happen as I say, I don't care about knowing everything in the exact manner it will unfold. I don't care. But the more I think about it, the more certain I become that that's not what being a control-freak is...apparently.
I find in myself the unhealthy tendency to try and be in control of things, as they happen. If you ask me, most of everything is my fault or at least, would be far better if I would act differently.

I keep believing that it's all up to me, that I can change every little (or big) situation.

But I can't.

feedback-1793116_960_720.jpg
Image

Now, I've had a really unpleasant twenty-four hours, which began with my boyfriend acting like a complete ass. Then my mom felt ill, call ambulance, panic etc. It was all alright, in the end, it turned out it was just weakness from the flu she's had all week. A trip through the pouring snow for meds, and now, finally, I'm in front of my computer and the one recurring thought of the day was exactly the title of this article – you're not in control.

It was not your actions that prompted this. Any of it. The only thing you can do, now, is REACT.

And not to seem self-absorbed or whatever, but I'm right. I find that I'm a very sweep-it-under-the-rug kind of person, I keep thinking of things to do or say that would make a situation better. And they would make it better, I'm not saying they wouldn't. But I realize that I can't control everything and that I really should allow things to take their course.
I'm not responsible for what other people do or feel and I can't change those things, no matter how much I try or want to. What I mean is that yes, you can make a situation better, through your reaction to what has already happened. But that's just what it is – a reaction – it doesn't make the initial bad situation disappear.
epictetus1-2x.jpg
Image

How you react defines you

I'm afraid this is also true...
And I think a lot of people who are sad in this world are that way because of the way they reacted to the things that happened to them. Because bad things happen to everyone, nice people, jerks, everyone suffers, everyone goes through tough times. So there's no changing that. And thinking about how you could avoid it is a waste of time. Just like maintaining this illusion that you're in control of the things that happen to you is wasting your time.
You are not in control and you are not responsible for everything. Because you can't be. And trust me when I say this, you'll only make it harder on yourself if you keep believing that. Because on top of everything that's happening to you, you also become frustrated that you couldn't prevent these events from happening. Don't imagine you can do that, because it's simply something that is not up to you.
So don't focus on it, on the bad things that have happened. Focus on how you react to them.

You can't change yesterday, but you can improve tomorrow.

I think we crave the illusion of control, that knowing we are somehow responsible for what happens – even the bad things – gives us some sort of security. And we so desperately need that security, that feeling of being in charge, because then, life isn't so damn confusing and (sometimes) unpleasant.

Take life as it comes, take things as they happen.

You're only harming yourself, if you think you can control everything. It's not all up to you, you're not God. So, learn to recognize the things you're in charge of. Because despite of all this talk about not being in control, you are in charge of some things.
Don't act as if you're in control of it all, but don't act as if you're not in control of anything, either. You're not all-powerful, but you're not helpless, either.

You're somewhere in the middle.

Surviving. Observing. Reacting.
Just like the rest of us.

As my beloved Warren Zevon says, has to happen to the best of us

Sort:  

S**t happens every day. Go with the flow. You aren't responsible for what happens but you can control how you react to it. Crying over spilt milk doesn't put the milk back in the glass. Clean it up and carry on.

Excellent advice there @cecicastor!

Very true, @cecicastor. Thank you, I really appreciate it...I'll try.

Trying to control the day is like trying to hold back the tide. Do it for too long and you'll drown.

My wife and her family always say, "If you want to hear God laugh, make a plan."

Very very true @winstonalden, and once you drown you can't help a soul! Love that saying by your wife & her family, thanks for sharing it :)

Thank you, yes. I keep trying to stop other people from messing up, but that's their life and their freedom to do as they please.

I think you're like me @honeydue & I know many other kindred souls as well, we think we can make things better but sadly not always. I like @cecicastor's comment, very very true! I believe things work out as they're meant to in the end. Do what you can, but don't break your neck trying, always look after yourself first or else you won't be able to help anyone else if you fall down!

Thank you, @lizelle. You're so right - I'm trying to think about what would be best for me. And I find it's weird to do so, without allowing external factors affect your decision.
I liked her comment, too. Can't put spilt milk back in the glass, sadly.

Very nice video

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63014.19
ETH 3071.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83