You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bookstagram – losing ourselves in pretty pictures

in #life6 years ago

I know. I guess that's the advanced form of modeling or something. You don't even have to get out of the house anymore. And I know it's a way of making money and one of the reasons I'm against approaching bookstragrammers for my book is that they probably want money to take one stupid picture.

But my question was also about the followers. Because sure, there are those with a lot of followers who make money off of this, but surely not all are in that boat. There are many who just like these photos, people who don't see a nickel (because srsly, why pay someone with 2000 followers?) and my question was also about them...seems weird to me.

Anyway, I saw today in a writers group on FB, there was a discussion about why people use bookstagram and someone actually said 'it's not essential to reading a book, but you might find a community bla bla bla'.
Someone actually felt they needed to stress that bookstagraming isn't essential to reading. Who would've thought?

Sort:  

Marketing's a bitch, especially in an over-saturated market as the book publishing one. Glad I didn't pursue writing as something to earn money from and stopped after my first and only published book.

I never knew you wrote a book - what was it about?

I had a crush on someone, in what seems another life, so I wrote this "thing" (which some call a "book") which is filled with one thousand ways to say "I love you!". It was silly then and it's even sillier now when I think of it.

You saw a picture of the original copy of "the book" (the one written by hand) when you challenged me to that b&w thingy last year. Or this year. I don't remember. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11