"Dumbest Kid in the World?" Karma is Watching.

in #life7 years ago

Dumbest Kid in the World?

A young boy enters a barber shop and the barber whispers to his customer, “This is the dumbest kid in the world. Watch while I prove it to you.”

The barber puts a dollar bill in one hand and two quarters in the other, then calls the boy over and asks, “Which do you want, son?”

The boy takes the quarters and leaves.
“What did I tell you?” said the barber. “That kid never learns!”

Later, when the customer leaves, he sees the same young boy coming out of the ice cream store.
“Hey, son! May I ask you a question? Why did you take the quarters instead of the dollar bill?”
The boy licked his cone and replied, “Because the day I take the dollar, the game is over!”

Source

Never Underestimate People, If You Do Prepare for Karma.

Why I Think We Need to be Reminded.

A few years back when @AnaHilarski and I were having a blast on a platform called Google Plus there were a group of so-called social media pro's who thought there was a certain way the platform should be used. At the time there was a huge influx of non English speakers beginning to use the platform. This small group of no it all's thought it was wise to tell the new people that their content was low quality. There were a few of us who insisted that the doors of Google Plus should be open to everyone and they should be treated as equals.

A few years later and those so-called social media pro's are largely non existent on the platform. Their leaders told the pack that the place to be was on Instagram and Snapchat. This is why you do not see me pursuing these people and asking them to join Steemit. Even though they are my peers I know the baggage they come with.

I Like the Approach Our Community Steemit Takes.

This platform is so welcoming to all cultures. I find it amazing the amount of people from places like Latin America, Indonesia and Korea. If we focus on just the English speaking community we might be successful but I believe the international community could easily outpace the English speakers. Steemit is definitely heading down a path that very few websites have ever gone.

Sort:  

@hilarski, I have friends all over this earth because of steemit. I think the future is bright for this young platform. Steem On!

Great post, as always!

I really like that Steemit is an inclusive community... and it welcomes many different types of content. I am hoping it will turn into a global community of creatives and independent thinkers... seems to me that is our "niche." No need to aspire to become Facebook... besides, Facebook is FAR better at "being Facebook" than we can ever hope to be. But even if we just skim off the 1% "most alternative" members of the Facebook world, that's still 20 million people... and that's no small potatoes!

Can you imagine how amazing this platform will be with 20 Million. Oh My Goodness!

Well, the social blogging platform I was part of (Xanga) in 2001-2007-ish (before Facebook) peaked at about 32 million bloggers... so it's definitely not unthinkable. There are a lot of people-- especially in the 35+ age group-- who are sick and tired of Facebook's fluffy superficiality. Sure, FB is a great way to share photos with family and friends overseas... but if you want any kind of depth content? Good luck with that....

I love Steemit and that so many people from diverse backgrounds and talents are here.
Sure there are many that post in their own language, but hey....that just gives me the excuse to translate and learn something new.
I hope it goes on to grow.
Before Steemit I knew very little about cryptocurrency, but I'm learning.
What I like best of all is that everyone is willing to give advice.

...& even better if those quarters were Silver:)

You got that right!

Huh! Hilarski you are hilarriously hilarious. At the same time making so much sense with respect to steem community approach. Keep on the vibes.

I wonder if hilarski is the russian or polish or so word for hilarious?

I wasn't really expecting an answer on that part of the question. lol. But thank you.
But it doesn't mean hilarious, I guess..........wait.............. I looked it up, it doesn't.
http://en.bab.la/dictionary/english-polish/hilarious

Have a nice day, and by the way, I liked the first joke a lot, the rest of the article too of course :)

Story of my life!

Good karma is awesome. Great post

Love that joke in the beginning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65663.89
ETH 2670.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91