Time To Grow

in #life5 years ago (edited)

plant.jpg


These past few days, I've been procrastinating a lot. Instead of actually painting on a canvas, I've been doing other less important stuff. Like random. Accepting other projects, making random sketches, painting random unimportant stuff on a paper, cleaning my room. Doing whatever I can just to avoid facing the canvas and make art. You know, art, those paintings that you can show to your portfolio.

(Random avocados and banana sketches can't be put on my portfolio cos I don't consider these as my "art" lol)

I am terrified of facing the canvas. Funny, right. An artist terrified of creating. This isn't even an artist's block. In fact, I have lots of sketches in my concept book ready to be painted on a canvas. But, why am I terrified of it?


I'm afraid to make mistakes.

I know, we're humans and that it's natural to make mistakes. But cos of mistakes (in art and life in general), it made me terrified and conscious to make another. In every serious painting that I do, I always sketch and study them carefully. Always looking for what's missing and what's wrong.

"Is the color scheme right for the mood of the painting?"
"Are the elements effectively arranged?"
"What technique are you going to use?"
"Does the concept make sense"

These are just some of the questions that run through my mind. I stare at the rough sketch until I become overwhelmed and overthink and worry, and eventually close the sketch pad. Woops.

I wonder how many artists have this too. Instead of just letting the natural creativity flow through my mind, there's this small little barrier that stops me from doing so. I guess that's the knowledge that I gained with creating art? I think it's a lot easier if I know less because I wouldn't know the mistakes that I've been making. xD

Now that I have nothing else to do, it's time to face my problem. (Even though technically I am still delaying it by writing this post lol) I have 4 canvases waiting in front of me. Sure, it's really easy to say "just do it" but it's really hard to do. But OK I SHOULD STOP TALKING NOW

I'll always keep in mind that with mistakes, I'll be able to grow. Just keep making mistakes and learn from it, I guess.

I guess this is it.

There's also a lovely lizard staring at me.
I think he wants to talk about our lord and savior?
Who wants to chat? I'm hungry
JK gonna shut up now.

Sort:  

If you don't fail, you won't grow bes! push mo yan! <3 ;)

That is so true. I should not be afraid of failing lol. Thank you!

of course! what's the worst thing that could happen?
kaya mo yan bes ;)

Yes indeed, bawitdabadabangdadangdiggydiggydiggy, I wholeheartedly agree.

MY NAME IS KID..... KID ROCK

You can do it! If ever you feel overwhelmed or stuck, perhaps try sketching by only using what you feel on another piece of paper. Don't think about what you're drawing. Just let the pencil move through intuition. Have fun with it. This should help relax your mind and let your creative juices flow (:

I do that sometimes too! But I think the medium adds to my anxiety too. Cos I use oil paint on canvas. When I make mistakes, I need to wait til the next day (for it to dry) to be able to correct it so yah. I'm planning to exercise more on acrylic.

you should jump (screaming optional) and attack those canvases, hiddi!

(screaming helps)

GO GO GO !!!!!

LOL they'll kill me for screaming cos they'll wake up cos I am a nocturnal :P

F#$k our lord and savior. Channel that fear!!! Let me hear your battle cry!!! Scream like a overworked train engine and paint that shit!!! Let's go!!!!

Hahaha oh damn I was gonna say our lord and savior godzilla XD
Ahhh yes! I will!

@hiddenblade You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Hello @hiddenblade, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66