First Day back at gym in over a month - It wasn't pretty!

in #life7 years ago

giphy.gif

So today was my first day back in over a month, and I can't believe how much harder it was!

Okay so I was never a tri-athlete or body builder, I mostly just go and run on the treadmill for 20 minutes with the speed on 8 - a jog really - nothing major. At one point a little over a month ago I got to the point where I could do 30 minutes, half at 8 speed and half at 9 speed. I was feeling great! I was going like 3-4 times a week consistently.

Then I got really busy with work and missed a week. I found myself every day saying I would go tomorrow and just like that a month had gone by and no gym. Why is it so hard to do the things I know are good for me?! I mean I've got no problem sitting for hours chain-vaping on Steemit and stuffing my face - thats easy...

Today was like going for the first time again, my joints are sore, my muscles feel like they've atrophied and I was weezing like an old man.

I'm astounded how quickly all that progress was lost! Now I'm starting from the beginning again it feels like. I won't lie it sucked really hard. The only thing motivating me is the fact that I now have to open the top button on my jeans to sit down and write this post...

I feel a bit like this woman.

Video credit: enShowed @Youtube.
Giph credit: https://giphy.com/gifs/season-4-the-simpsons-4x22-xT5LMCCOKL8JNGwxrO

If you feel my pain then please lemme know by leaving a comment, upvoting or resteeming & follow me!

hattori hanzo signature.png

Sort:  

Don't sweat it.
You may have lost some of your fitness but you will find that you bounce back really quickly.

Don't push too hard at the start and in a couple of weeks you'll be right back where you were.

;-)

Hey @trevor.george, thanks for the encouraging words :) Yeah just gotta be consistent, and not over do it.
Upvoted + following.

Followed back so I can keep up with your progress ;-)

I had a baby a few months ago and since haven't been doing any exercice. I so need to head back to the gym too but need some motivation first

Hey @carodebali! Well thats kinda understandable lol. Motivation? If I had to wait to to be motivated I would never go. I just say to myself that all I need to do is put my shoes on, grab a towel and walk out the door. Just show up and you're 90% there. If I think about too long, I'll "talk" myself out of it - or get tired just thinking about how hard its gonna suck lol. Thanks for the comment. I see you're new here so I'm upvoting your comment + following you :) Congratulations on the birth of your baby!

Thanks for the advices
Yes pretty new and already loving It here !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84