SNUFF, When Rockers Also Could be "Upset"

in #life7 years ago


Maybe, we all also know how hard the band of Slipknot it. Each concert must be filled with paradie hardfans, the metalhead who never stopped headbanging and moshing in the arena. But, it turns out there is also a song from Slipknot which is far from the impression of metal, even more toward emotional. Like the song I'm going to discuss now, the title is a Snuff.
I need to say here if this song is really different from the usual Slipknot song, let alone this theme song rather smells of love. Honestly this is a top chart song when I'm upset again. T_T
Okay back to the discussion, this themed song about a relationship between a girl and a man. Because I love this song very much, I'm going to try to make up the meaning of this song from the lyrics.  


"Bury all your secrets in my skin
Come away with innocence, and leave me with my sins"
In this sentence, perhaps the man is trying to reveal that the girl is "light" and the man is "darkness". Something very contrary like that. Then the girl came and brought all the light into the life of the man, although eventually the girl also left the man with all the darkness inside him.   


"The air around me still feels like a cage" "And love is just a camouflage for what resembles rage again"
The man feels stuck with his feelings about the girl, and he can not escape from that feeling. Until he feels that love is only a form of anger. Because basically love and hate is not an opposite word, but just like two sides of the same coin and can not be put together. There is only black and white, not to gray. Love and hate carry the same emotions and passions, it's just that one carries a positive feeling while the other brings negative feelings.  


 "So if you love me, let me go.
And run away before I know.
My heart is just too dark to care.
I can't destroy what isn't there."

Maybe the man wants the girl to leave before she affected by the darkness of the man. He loves the girl so much. He does not want the girl to be affected and devastated by the man. He also understands that the greatest form of love is sacrifice. He was willing to sacrifice his own happiness to see the girl away from the wound.       



"Deliver me into my Fate -
If I'm alone I cannot hate

I don't deserve to have you
My smile was taken long ago
If I can change I hope I neverknow"
"I still press your letters to my lips
And cherish them in parts of me that savor every kiss"

Yes, these sentences reinforce what I said before.    


"I couldn't face a life without your light
But all of that was ripped apart when you refused to fight"
We all have a choice to survive and fight or leave. Previously he told to keep the girl away from getting hurt. But in his heart there must be a part that wants the girl to choose to survive and fight for their relationship. But he can not say that because it will hurt the girl. And that feeling is what “kills” him.   


"So save your breath, I will not hear.
I think I made it very clear."

"You couldn't hate enough to love.
Is that supposed to be enough?"

"I only wish you weren't my friend.
Then I could hurt you inthe end."

He does not want his request that the girl leave him was rejected. He also realized if the girl can not change the feelings of love to hate that the girl can leave the man. And according to what I mean, the girl still wants to be a friend for the man. But that's not what he wants.  



 "I never claimed to be a Saint"
"My own was banished long ago"
"It took the death of hope to let you go" 

He wanted the girl to know that there was nothing else good in him. He feels that the good things inside him are gone and the girl should leave him without looking back. And he assumes that there is only black and white, no gray. So, he chooses to go and break all relationships with the girl.     


"So break yourself against my stones
And spit your pity in my soul
You never needed any help
You sold me out to save yourself
And I won't listen to your shame
You run away - you're all the same
Angels lie to keep control
My love was punished long ago
If you still care, don't ever let me know
If you still care, don't ever let me know" 

And in the end, maybe she also blames the girl for abandoning her.   


Finish, that was my discussion of the meaning I think of this love song. Is very complex about the meaning of what Slipknot is trying to pour. Especially if you watch their video clip, i guaranteed you will be more confused. Video clip more twisted again. Make us turn the brain what is trying to be poured in the video clip. But overall, this is a good, very good song !! This is a must-listen song. That's why i choose this song to cover on Smule Apps. and you could check my cover video here : 


and here is Slipknot video's about Snuff song :

Not bad, because can be a drug when you upset with the international level about love :-D 


okay steemians, See you until we meet in the next posts.

Please give me your upvote if you like it. Reply if you have other suggestion about the meaning of lyrics and Resteem, that would be a big respect from me. Thanks and love you so much ^^

Best regards and follow me :



  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59148.41
ETH 2526.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48