5 Ways I was "Parenting" Wrong

in #life5 years ago

I was scrolling through Facebook last night, yes I know the horror of not getting paid to like and comment other people's post,and came across a funny post. It said something along the lines of

Warning I'm a terrible parent, I let my babies sleep with blankets, I cuss in front of my kids, I let them eat whatever the hell they want whenever they want, I spank them when they're in trouble, etc. etc. etc.

image.png
SOURCE

YOU'RE ALWAYS WRONG!

Let me be clear I don't let my babies sleep with blankets, I don't cuss in front of my kids, I do spank them, but for the most part they aren't allowed to do whatever they want, but I do understand where that parent is coming from.

The very first thing I learned as a parent even before I left the hospital with my son 3 years ago was that no matter what I did I was doing something "wrong" in the eyes of someone else. Even when it came to nurses in the hospital. We were told:

  1. You shouldn't use baby powder as it causes asthma in children (called other friends in Texas and they were given no such advice.
  2. There's no reason you should need to use Desitin on your baby (that stuff is a miracle cure when it comes to rashes and irritations)
  3. You should/shouldn't swaddle your baby (some nurses swaddled our baby without us asking and other scolded us for swaddling the baby. Our second baby some nurses even mentioned swaddling has been linked to SIDs).
  4. Feed your baby every 2 - 3 hours even if they are sleeping wake them up and feed them (you eventually are so tired your just happy your baby is asleep).
  5. Too much screen time causes social issues later in life (It's nice to throw on a Blaze Monster Machine for a few minutes of peace and quiet so you can destress for a minute or two)

image.png
SOURCE

Just Love Your Kids

Don't get me wrong there are bad parents that cause physical and emotional harm to there kids through abuse, neglect, or a number of other hateful things.

I have found it's much easier to quit worrying about doing the "right" thing and just love your kids. Love them by teaching them right from wrong, how to share with others, and hold them accountable for disobeying. The right or wrong way of doing that is not for me to say as everyone is different.

image.png
Source

It's a struggle being a parent and my wife and I are always second-guessing and trying to determine what works best for us and our family. We also do our best not to judge others who have different parenting styles then ours as we have met different parents with a wide variety of parenting styles.

In the end, we do our best to remind our children how much we love them all throughout the day.

I've also talked with my wife what it must be like to be in God's shoes. To see every person in the world as your son/daughter and to hurt for them while they hurt and stray off the path. To us, it's amazing and incomprehensible at the same time.

To Wrap Things Up

If you haven't talked to your parents in a while give them a call and tell them how much you love them. I can promise you one thing, there is nothing about being a parent that is easy.

Let me know in the comments down below what has been the most furstrating thing you've been told you're doing "wrong" as a parent.

Sort:  

Hi Apostle!

Children demand time, they get upset when they do not pay enough attention and shout: "Nobody loves me" or they just do not say anything but it affects their character.

Logopit_1538700831743.png

Apparenly 4 is too young to be hunting their own food. Can't argue with results, though.
Not sure where he goes but he usually comes back with a couple of rabbits.

Never too early to teach your kids to be self sufficient. My son is learning pretty quickly at 3 those skills from the wolves across the street. Hes slowly learning how to communicate with them and has found out he can assert his dominance by biting their ears. Now if I could just get him to quit howling in the middle of the night at full moons.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 26.69% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @gniksivart!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses

I think the last year or two my oldest who will be 10 and her attitude. Just one of constant rudeness, impatience, yelling etc..etc.. and just learning to Love her no matter how ugly she talks to me. It's been a challenge, really. But I will ALWAYS love her and openly show it all the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69