Life Is Like A Banana Under The Oven...

in #life5 years ago

Instead Of A Box Of Chocolates

I find my life is more like the photo below.

I have a two-year-old granddaughter who is now able to get into a lot of things. That means my life is full of surprises. Things are often not where they belong, nor as they may appear.

IMG_2318.JPG

These surprises extend to my work life, too. It's not every day I open up a machine to find dollar bills strewn all over the inside. In reality, it tends to be more quarters that need to be picked up. Interestingly enough, I also find quarters, nickels and dimes and pennies where the bills are supposed to go. That usually means the surprise of needing to get the bill acceptor back up and running. I like finding the dollar bills all over the inside of a machine much better.

IMG_2302.JPG

Life is also full of reminders—that in a blink of an eye, it can change, for better, or for worse, and often when you least expect it. One moment you're traveling down the highway of life, trying to get to some destination. The next, you're blocking said highway lucky to still be breathing, and realizing the dull pain you're feeling in your head and neck is only the beginning of such aching, metaphorically speaking, you will endure as you jump through the insurance hoops and potential other issues such an instant can bring.

IMG_2316.JPG

However, amid the surprises and bumps in the road, there are also the peaceful, blissful moments, where you not only have a chance to think, but to actually reflect on how good life can be. Just sitting in a park next to a river watching the water move inexorably downstream can bring back perspective and purpose. There still is good in the world, and meaning, if we can slow down enough to find them.

IMG_2304.JPG

It might take a change of viewpoint, literally and figuratively, to get into such a frame of mind, but doing so on a regular basis helps to ground the mind and spirit in what's really important. You might find yourself wishing you were as seemingly happy and carefree as redheaded diving ducks, floating leisurely on the water's surface, plunging to catch a fish. It might take some doing to see them, though, because they're often too far away, or too busy underwater.

IMG_2307.JPG

Beauty and goodness can be found closer to home, even if we don't know how it got there or what it might be. We can still enjoy its soft white petals with bursts of red. All it takes is leaving the house and going to the garden. You know, the part of the backyard overrun by weeds because you didn't have time all summer to work in it? It's amazing how life can manage to survive, if not thrive, without us. There are times to take control, and there are times to let things be.

IMG_2301.JPG

Life, from what I can tell, was the first to have forks, long before man created utensils or blockchains. We truly never know where we're going to find them. Fortunately, some forks are easier to remove than others. The trick is to find joy and humor wherever we may be. Easily said. Not so easily done. But oh, so necessary.

If not, there's bound to be an orange ape laughing at our expense. Or the shock of a milk cow with green tinted sunglasses.

We don't want either of those things, now do we?

IMG_2292.JPG
All images courtesy of Glen Anthony Albrethsen. All images shot with the iPhone 6s

Sort:  

"That means my life is full of surprises." 🤣

Hey, @idig.

I get the idea you know of what I speak. :)

A philosophical moment? 😊

Oh, I suppose. I had all of these unused photos I decided I wanted to do something with. Since they weren't exactly about any particular topic, I took some cues from them individually.

I do have to say, though, I've been doing some reflecting here and trying to find my footing since the hardfork. I'm not sure if I'm totally there yet, but I did manage to get more posts published this week than I did last week.

I can't say I noticed any difference on here since the Hardfork. Maybe I wasn't paying any attention to them all along.
I have been doing what I enjoy, going with the flow, accepting the things I can't change, nor have control over.

Well, I think there's been some definite changes, if some of it is to believed. At this point, I don't have reason not to, so the main thing is, more upper SP accounts are supposedly actively up and downvoting—or manually curating.

Whether or not that actually affects all average users, though, is the hard to believe part, which means those who haven't been seeing whale votes through random curating or through curation trails may not see them now, for whatever reason. And maybe some of that is warranted, but quite a bit of it won't be. It will just be that they haven't been 'found' yet.

Regardless, what happens over the next weeks and maybe months will tell whether or not this is going to work. Manual curation takes time. Will people continue to take it, or will they simply automate, which basically undermines the whole reason for having the Economic Improvement Proposal in the first place.

We shall see. 😊

All of it so true. The banana doesn't look half bad beneath that stove, gives it a bit of color :)

Hey, @ginnyannette.

It does give it some color. :) Who knows what she was going for there. At this point, she could be an interior decorator in the making. Or maybe she's just saying bananas should be kept under the oven. Good thing is, it was a plastic banana. :)

Life is full of surprises, and all too often we have very little control over it. I like to think life is like being on a sail boat without a rudder, the wind will take you places you never imagined you would go to.

Hey, @thebigsweed.

It's so much easier for me to tell my wife things like that than it is for me to give up trying to control things I really can't. I guess it's just easier to see for others, or the things they're trying to control are things I know I can't, so it's just shrug time and let it happen.

There can be a tendency though to just let everything go, which I don't think is good, since there's plenty of action that can be made if we choose to take it.

And as such, I wish the wind would push me places I'd rather go. :)

Howdy sir Glen! Lots of wisdom in this post! Life lessons. Love the photos of the river and the last one too! lol.

Hope all is ok. Not used to your posts missing from my feed for a couple days in a row.

Hey, @practicalthought.

Oh, for the most part, all is well. I mean, in the things that truly matter, they seem to be going as well as can be expected. Always better, always worse kind of deal. :)

I've had a bout of "what's the point", something I've managed to stave off since late last year, so I guess it was bound to happen again, especially with Hardfork 21. I managed to get out three posts Friday and Saturday, so I don't know if I'm coming out of it or not.

Funny thing is, I saw a post by pharesim talking about how things aren't as rosey as people are making claim and that kind of snapped me out of it a little bit. I deal in reality when I'm not trying to make up a story, and when people don't seem to be dealing in reality, I guess it derails me. :)

Yeah, there is a lot of groupspeak going on here. I have been immunized against most of it as I don't do Discord or group things really. I still suspect crypto as a whole is an illusion, but then so is fiat and I do see that the masters of the plantation want us on a cashless ledger system that tracks ever movement.

I know you have invested monetarily, and it might help if you write off that aspect of your investment here and focus more on the bonds you have made. You have made many more than I, as I am a private person not prone to having a large circle. You are thought highly of here by many (including myself, which is rare) and perhaps that has a value high enough for you to compensate for the stagnation/slow descent the valuation of the chain is taking along with the tweaks that appear to be at the expense of the common user.

Like it or not, you are one of the old timers here now, a foundation many look up to. If Steem does explode in use and value, your name will be one of the legends associated with it. So many I followed and thought the most of are no longer here, would hate for you to join their ranks. Let those who need their illusions of health have them without sadness. We are surrounded in all areas of life by those with need of their comforting illusions. That's why some write, to share the hidden nuances lost in those illusions. :)

Well, I appreciate all that you said.

I'm afraid a lot of the people that might have been a part of that larger circle you speak of are pretty much gone or around only sparingly. I've found it rather odd to be the one soldiering on, but as I've said pretty much from the outset, I'm not that big of a people person, especially people I don't know other than through replies on STEEM.

So, the socialization isn't my reason for being here. Getting my creations and opinions out there is, followed by talking about those creations and opinions (which for me is more exchanging of ideas rather than socializing, though the two can and do go hand in hand). I am in it for the rewards, too, so that's important to me. I've spent plenty of time creating things that have yet to make much of anything monetarily, so I already know how that goes, and probably would end up back promoting on Facebook or Twitter rather than spending as much time here if I couldn't make anything anymore.

I feel like I'm a private person, too, but I do recognize that I share quite a bit about things I do, if in a generalized way.

I realize I'm one of the waves of oldtimers. I don't know who those folks are looking up to me. Aside from you, no one else has really noticed my temporary absence, at least not enough to comment on it. Which I do appreciate you doing, very much so. :)

I would be okay with a minor blip instead of an explosion, to say a $4, just to see that's it's possible again. That would be nice. Of course, at this point, $4 is an explosion, isn't it. :)

Hello @glenalbrethsen, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Hey, @creativecrypto.

Well, thank you again. Very much appreciate this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00