I'm 53

in #life5 years ago

Yeah, It's My Birthday

It's raining again. Not unusual for Western Oregon, but somewhat strange for this part of June. I can't remember if it's ever rained on my birthday before.

But then, we don't usually have 90-degree weather mid-June either (which we had this year), so what's a little rain?

I guess a thunderstorm blew up the valley while I was over on the coast yesterday getting my hand smashed and my rear end chewed out. Okay, the hand smashing happened, the chewing out was kind of a shared deal, and not really meant for me or my trainer.

At any rate, I guess where I'm going with this is, it's my birthday, but it's feeling like any other day.

Which is generally what happens when you get to be my age. In fact, it's been going on for a while now.

Who Celebrates 53?

I was born in the early morning on June 27, 1966, a month ahead of schedule to the day, apparently, and according to my mother, I looked like a tiny old man with red hair on my ears. A literal Benjamin Button. Except I guess I dewrinkled and looked like a baby after that.

The red hair did not migrate to my head (that was more of a brown color before it mostly fell out on top), and the real funny thing is, I don't think I've made it quite back around to the old man look. Give me another ten or so years.

I have to work today and so does my wife, so there won't be much going on until Saturday, when I guess we'll be going out to eat and my sons might take me to a movie. I haven't seen Avengers: Endgame yet, and so they've been suffering for two months waiting to ask me all kinds of questions. I almost want to wait another month until the movie comes out on iTunes, just to make them 'suffer' a little more, but I'm sure that's just the grumpy middle aged man in me, not the real me.

Do People Still Reflect On Their Lives?

I can't say I've made it much of a habit over the years on my birthday to sit down and think about my life, mainly because there will be something that will happen some other time that will put me into reflection mode, but since I'm sitting here writing this, let's see what I can come up with.

My life has been good. Very good at times, but mostly good. I've had some lows, no doubt, but even those have turned out for my benefit. I was on the road to insufferableness at that age of five, so a healthy dose of humility administered throughout the years has helped me realize that it's not just about me, and that I need forgiveness and patience along with everybody else.

I'm just not the guy that's going to stick out in the crowd, even if I'm in the spotlight in my head. I'm okay with that. I do better behind the scenes anyway, and being the height of attention would drive me crazy. I have a hard enough time being in a crowded room with a bunch of strangers for anything length of time. I used to have delusions of grandeur, but thankfully those have been tempered over the years with enough quiet accomplishments to help me focus on what truly matters.

It's The Little Things

I think if I had any wisdom to impart, it would be to take care of the little things. The big things tend to follow. Be the person you want to have in your life, and you will attract like people. Don't be afraid to take risks, but realize that you're largely operating without a net and there might not be someone there who can (even if they're willing) to catch you when you fall. In other words, the only one responsible for you is you.

Be happy. Don't stress. I don't mean go with the flow and live life without a care. Know what you can control (you), know what you can't control (virtually everything else), and learn to be happy with what you have while seeking something greater. That something greater doesn't always have to be personal, or your achievement alone. Watching my sons become parents has been one of the greatest joys of my life. Except for being a part of bringing them into this world and trying to make sure they didn't leave it again while they were growing up, their becoming responsible adults is all them. I haven't been there every moment making every decision, thankfully.

Yeah, I might have taught them a thing or two (my wife tends to think I gave them all of their bad habits), but there's only so much a parent can do. You do your best, make the sacrifices, but in the end, children must choose their own paths.

Keep The Faith

Life can be difficult at times. If I believed that this was all there is, I'd probably give up. But since I hope for a better place once I'm gone from this one, I feel like I have a need to stay involved and productive and become as good a person, husband, father, grandfather, son, brother and whatever other title I might hold and hope to uphold, as I can.

I had my first mid-life crisis when I was 30. I had another one later. So, I know what it's like to feel that nothing has been accomplished. It's worse now, with everything even more accelerated where you feel like you're a failure at 15 if you're not already a YouTube star or haven't created the next killer app.

Success that early in life tends to mess with the mind. And then what do you do for an encore? Better to go throughout life racking up achievements on a slow upward trend then have it all happen all at once when your young, I would say.

Life isn't over until it's over. Keep swinging for the fences. Keep your head in the clouds as long as your feet on are the ground (it might be okay to float a little here and there). Things don't always work out, but generally, they work out for our good.

IMG_2158.JPG

It's Still Raining...

I have the door propped open. I do that most mornings during the summer because my home office heats up and gets stuffy otherwise. It's cooler than it's been because of the clouds and the moisture. It's actually kind of nice.

Silver linings, as they say.

Onward and upward.

Image source—Glen Anthony Albrethsen

Sort:  

Wisdom comes with years - I believe I'm full in a midlife crisis at the moment :D Lol. It feels weird to say it but I believe when I look back at my life later on these are transformative years - not the easiest ones. I hope they result in a better life for me though - I wish you a happy birthday and many more wisdom to collect - and health and happiness!

Thank you, @soyrosa. Very kind of you. :)

It's funny how those mid-life crises work. I don't know that anything was particularly wrong in my case, other than I wasn't meeting my own expectations. I mean, sure, things could have been better in many categories, but they could have also been way worse. I find I've been floating mostly in the middle, and it's not a bad place to be really, as long as you get a little bit of the lows to keep you humble and the highs to make you soldier on, middle's good. :)

Some throw a party to celebrate their birthday. For me, it is just another day. But then, I am a boring person who never had the inclination to celebrate anything at all.

Anyhow, so Glen is 53! And he is a bit philosophical. But, they are all golden words to live by. Thank you for sharing.

Happy Birthday, Glen! And many happy returns of the day. May you have a great year ahead! :-)

Thanks, Vincent.

Oh, I can wax philosophical on occasion. This seemed like a good one. Might try it more if anyone's interested. :) Probably not though.

Well, the older I get, the less need for fuss. Wouldn't mind a birthday cake, though. Haven't seen one yet. Maybe I need to arrange it? :)

With me, you can wax philosophical any time. I am always interested. :-)

Surely they haven't forgotten your Birthday! :-)

Oh, no. They're all well aware of it. I guess we're on for lunch and a movie later today. I just haven't seen a cake. I'm not going to say anything—it's not like I need the calories. Maybe no one else needs the calories either, which is why there isn't one. That's kind of how things work around here. :)

I hope you enjoyed your lunch and movie. Maybe they will surprise you when you least expect it. :-)

I guess they did. :) A cake did actually show up. Not sure where it was but I imagine it was bought while we were watching the movie. Both the lunch and the movie were very enjoyable, as you might already know by now. A good day all around, I think.

Ah! All's well that ends well. :-)

HBD Glen!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Why, thank you, @intothewild.

Your well wishing is very much appreciated. :)

Happy Birthday @glenalbrethsen. 😁 Sounds like you're enjoying it so far. Hope you have fun with the family at the weekend.

I'm with you on "it's the little things that count".

Can't join you commiserating on the rain. We've had lovely couple of days here. 😁

Hey, @gillianpearce.

Thank you, kindly. :) I had to go work, which was fine, but I'm not sure I truly enjoyed it. There were a few issues here and there that I would have liked to have avoided, but none of it's earth shattering and can probably be resolved easy enough. I couldn't get into a couple of games because the keys I had didn't seem to work.

It sounds like we've got a little bit of a weather reversal going on then. As I mentioned, it's not typical to have rain on my birthday here, but it's kind of been a weird summer so far.

Well, I missed saying happy birthday on your birthday again. We will have to make up for it soon. For what it's worth, HAPPY belated BIRTHDAY!!!

Hey, no worries, @bbrewer. I've been thinking you have a birthday coming up soon, so maybe we'll do a combined whatever it is we're going to do. :) Thank you for the belated birthday wishes. :)

People reflect on their Steem journey. You definitely can recap your life :)
Happy Birthday!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, @bluerobo.

Well, I did it either way, I guess. :) Thank you for the well wishes. Greatly appreciated. :)

Happy birthday and you are just two years ahead of me. Hope you have a great day and do something special and maybe get to the movie after all.

Thank you, @cryptoandcoffee. I think the movie will happen. Since it's three hours long, that means there needs to be a little more planning involved than if it were two or less. But I think we can make it work.

Honestly, I don't think there's been much difference since maybe 45 or so, when I first started feeling the aches and pains of getting out of bed. They just seem to deepen and widen. I know 53 isn't any different than 52 for sure. :)

Happy birthday. Great advice, unfortunately will fall on deaf ears for those who need it most, as the generations before us did with us in many ways. The power of youth is a hard obstacle to overcome when in its grip :)

Be the person you want to have in your life, and you will attract like people.

And even if not, one can hold their head up high and sleep in good conscience.

Hey, @practicalthought.

Thank you. Oh, youth. Too bad too much is wasted on it. :) All I can do is try. The horse doesn't have to drink, the ears don't have to hear, and the eyes don't have to see. I keep thinking I'll come across some youngin who'll figure it out because they looked around and listened. There are some. Every once in a while you hear about some early twenty-something doing something beyond their years. Not a whole lot, though. Youth likes to repeat the mistakes of others, apparently.

Happy Birthday my friend! Time to reflict is foundational, and gives you strength.

Thd only thing people do not understand about birthdays is that having one is fun, but not having another sucks! So avoid the rain, and enjoy your special day!

Good to see you on palnet.Stay Blessed.

♡♡♡♡

Hey, @smithlabs.

Thank you for the well wishes. I figured reflection was in order myself, so I'm glad I'm not the only one who thinks that way.

I can't say mine was that much fun today, but we'll see how the celebration goes on Saturday. :) 'Tis true, however, that not having another would be the pits.

Unfortunately, the rain was unavoidable. I think it just followed me around.

I'm not sure why I'm on PALnet. It's supposed to be where the "cool kids" hang out. Oh, well. :)

You must have visited here for a month, we about got drowned here, WAY too much waer!

Hope Saturday is FUN for you!

If you signed up on Palnet, all steemit posts will also re-post on palnet! So you are a Cool kid by default, LOL!

:)>

happy birthday, hope the hand is feeling a bit better, since you only mentioned it in passing I am guessing it still hurts a little that the swelling has gone down some, and that it is something you can live with.

A day of relaxation once a year is a good thing. That is what I like to do on my birthday, just kick back and relax. Enjoy the goodies and dinner I am sure someone has planed for you.

Hey, @bashadow.

Thank you.

Yeah, I kind of went into a little more detail about the hand accident in a previous post, but basically, I was helping move a game and my hand managed to get backed into a post, right on the corner of it. Needless to say, it did not feel very good for quite a few minutes. But the swelling is down and movement is virtually back to normal, so I think it'll be okay.

I had to work today again, so no birthday dinner or cake for me tonight. My son did make individual pizzas, which were pretty good, but the celebration as such happens on Saturday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65266.27
ETH 2639.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84