The Laundry Detergent Pie

in #life5 years ago

There is this thing called Family Baking Fun February. I signed me and my kids up for it, telling my kids we’d bake something every day of February. Clearly, I also need to sign myself up for some sort of over-achiever’s addiction support group. I’m always signing myself up for this sort of thing, and it is always kind of fun, but midway through I realize that kind of fun is a lot of work.

So anyway, we’ve been making simple stuff for days. Muffins. Scones. Coffee cake. Then, today, because I am a glutton for punishment, I agreed to make a lemon meringue pie. Crust, filling, and meringue. It was five o’clock, the tot was asleep, the boy was excited, the swollen glands in my throat weren’t feeling like golf balls for the first time in a week, so I thought:What the hell. We’ll make lemon meringue pie.

IMG_20190205_202504.jpg

I also thought of all the times I’ve ever eaten lemon meringue pie. There was the time at the grocery store bakery. It tasted something like what I imagined the washing machine thought of the lemon flavored laundry detergent—potent, but unimpressive, and maybe a bit soapy too. The second one I had was at a chain restaurant years ago. The lemon wanted to burn a hole through my tongue and down my throat, and the meringue was a suspiciously sticky bit of cotton. Clearly, a lemon meringue pie recipe was a waste of perfectly good paper in a cookbook.

The boy attempted to blend the butter into the flour for the crust while I separated the disgusting white snot of the egg from the deep yellow. “It’s too hard,” the boy panted, holding out the pastry blender. “Baking is hard work,” I said. Clearly he had spent every last ounce of energy working his little twiggy arms into that cold butter, so I excused him. He hopped down from the chair he had been standing on and ran three laps around the kitchen. Cleary, he was exhausted.

IMG_20190205_202647.jpg

When ants invade the kitchen - homemade ants.

Something like a cute little rodent popping its head out of its hole, the boy popped back up in his chair so that he could read the recipe on the counter. In his cute five-year-old voice he read to me the next instruction, stumbling over the fractions for measuring out flour and sugar. We measured it all out together, not too concerned with perfection—after all, it was laundry detergent pie.

The boy was sent out into the yard to fetch a big fat Meyer lemon. He then made his best attempt at juicing it while I made my best attempt at not grating my thumb along with the lemon peel. No luck. There’s a little something special in that laundry detergent pie. I call it the secret ingredient.

IMG_20190205_202619.jpg

Lemon peel + secret ingredient

I gave the boy the post of stirring the thickening filling on the stove, as it turned into an oozing, mucus-like, gelatinous sort of concoction. He had trouble staying focused. I took over stirring our laundry detergent flavored filling, adding in the lemon juice minus the fifty seeds. Those Meyer lemons take reproduction very seriously.

I felt a bit like I was painting with cloud as I slathered the meringue overtop of the hot filling. I smoothed it around, caressing that pie, and started to think that maybe—just maybe—it wasn’t a laundry detergent pie after all. I gave that pie cloud an affectionate smack with the rubber spatula before sliding it into the oven.

IMG_20190205_202723 (1).jpg

The Honorary Meyer Lemon

Something amazing happened. That pie is not made of laundry detergent. And it doesn’t burn a hole in the tongue and throat. It tastes like my lemon tree smells—the scent of lemon blossom and lemon oil all mixed up in rain. The boy said the meringue tastes like the inside of a marshmallow, but it’s better than that. It is eating a soft, sweet cloud. The whole experience is like eating a lemon tree in a rainstorm.

Maybe I shouldn’t join that over-achiever’s addiction group. Hard work always seems to pay off. I mean, who in that group got to eat a lemon tree tonight?

Sort:  

Oh, you always make me laugh! A good lemon meringue pie is the best thing on earth, isn't it? I know what you mean about the bad ones though and there are plenty of those out there now you make me think I should be doing more baking. The problem is that baking for one leads to a lot of overeating! !Tip

Yes, all this baking is definitely resulting in a lot of overeating. Even my dog is overeating. He's really got a thing for lemon meringue pie - it's like he somehow smells the egg content. There is something to baking that is soothing though, outside of eating the end result. Maybe that just has to do with how much pleasure we associate with food. Anyway, a lemon pie is a nice burst of color this time of year. Thanks for stopping by :)

, I've always enjoyed baking, as opposed to cooking. It was great when I had a family to bake for, and I still take advantage of it when they come home for visits and make all the things that I have been hungry for! My son plans to double his workouts at the gym to coincide with weekends at my house.

Oh, you always make me laugh! A good lemon meringue pie is the best thing on earth, isn't it? I know what you mean about the bad ones though and there are plenty of those out there! Now you make me think I should be doing more baking. The problem is that baking for one leads to a lot of overeating! !Tip

Howdy ginnyannette! wow..I am SO in the mood for a lemon tree pie! Your's sounds wonderful. I think you ARE a glutton for punishment though but this time it paid off! Great job on the post too.

It was an excellent pie. I've got a lot more lemons, so I think we will be making another one soon, punishment or not :)

wow, so you ARE a glutton for punishment! Or, you just love those pies. But you can always make something else lemony right, doesn't have to be a pie does it? I'm not a baker so I don't know.

Actually we made lemon blueberry bread tonight.

wow! really! I've never heard of such a thing, did you invent that? was it good?

It was actually the recipe on the back of the walnuts bag. The boy knows we are baking something every day, so he has been keeping his eyes peeled for recipes. He reads really well, so he spots them all over.

haha! that is going to spoil them so bad! You'll be so sick of baking! that's too funny that he spots them now! lol.

I am still somewhat optimistic...but we haven't reached mid-February yet. I think the baking fall out will start to happen then. The boy is totally obsessed. He spends half his free time writing out his own recipes and then replacing the ingredients with outdoor materials like sand, and then making them. Writing and reading practice, plus a little fractions. Brilliant stuff :)

Hehe, I like your writing. Such innuendo. Or maybe that's me. I was the same the first time I made a lemon tart. It didn't taste like detergent and I was astonished!

Innuendo? Shocking! Of course not ;)

You mean there are other lemon recipes that also don't taste like detergent? I've got to look into this!

There are indeed!! Almost anything home made especially if with the rind!!

Haha, no innuendo whatsoever. ;0)

I want pie!! Is the secret ingredient a piece of the nail you loose while grating the lemon? :D

Something like that...piece of nail, small piece of skin. I really put my "fingerprint" on what I bake ;)

There are finer things in life, like a lemon meringue, I see. No slight to laundry detergents, just not for consumption, ya know?

Haha, exactly. Laundry detergent is wonderful stuff in my washing machine.

I'm so glad, after all of your effort, that your pie didn't taste like laundry detergent.

Good job ! :)

I'm pretty excited about eating some more of that pie today. A good day is a day with pie leftovers.

🎁 Hi @ginnyannette! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Is It Spring Yet? Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I can taste that lemon pie @ginnyannette and it doesn't taste any thing like laundry detergent either. It is deliciously yummy. Don't join the overachiever's support group - keep that youthful energy going!

Haha! I'm glad you didn't catch a whiff of detergent either. I suppose you are right, I should keep the activities coming.

🎁 Hi @ginnyannette! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87