Yesterday I sampled Barrel-Aged Abraxas - One of the World's Rarest & Finest Ales

in #life7 years ago (edited)


Greetings Steemit!

Via 600+ mile's worth of driving - Yesterday I was fortunate enough to visit one of the most exclusive annual beer releases in the United States, sampling one of the Worlds finest & rarest Ale selections.

The brewery that hosted the event is Perennial Artisan Ales in St. Louis, Missouri - and the Ale that prompted the trip is named Barrel-Aged Abraxas, which carries a perfect "100" score via its 'Beer Advocate' profile.


So here's how this all happened..

I've been a homebody these past few years, not leaving my sleepy little hometown in a long while. On Wednesday I was prompted by a friend to join him for this "To St Louis & Back in a day" adventure - all in the hopes of maybe sampling a legendary & almost impossible to find Ale.

Now don't get me wrong, I REALLY like drinking craft beer - yet I don't really consider myself a 'hobbyist' despite my interest in the hobby based on my taste for delicious craft beer. I initially had a hard time wrapping my mind around my friend's apparent excitement that he heard a rumor about this event, and thus far it had not been announced to the general public. Still having no context to how special this release event or Ale was - I decided to take the opportunity for a long overdue 'get out of town day' and said I'd join.

We have Lift Off!

I've made to 3+ hour trip to St Louis & home many times in the past, and its a fairly scenic drive filled with lush green fields & rolling Ozark mountain foothills. Much had changed in the many years since my last traveling down this road - so I was pretty focused on taking in the sights along the way. It had been raining off & on that morning, and we noticed the clouds getting darker as we continued East.

Pretty Missouri Drive.


We had been watching the weather closely all day, and as expected, the skies opened up and all of a sudden we were driving down the highway in a fairly severe downpour.

Low visibility driving on a wet highway.


Right after rolling into our destination city - the rain broke off. It was about Noon and we still had 4 hours to kill before heading to the brewery - so we did the only applicable activity that is allowed on a 'beer themed' road trip... we found a different brewery and started drinking.

Que Cugino's Italian Grill & Bar - an inconspicuous little Italian restaurant that houses Narrow Gauge Brewing Company in their basement.


If you are ever passing through this area - YOU MUST STOP AND TRY THIS BREWERY! I usually do not go for fruity tasting selections - however this location has the best 'sweet & fruity' beer I think I've ever tasted.

Its called "Passion Fruit Fallen Flag" which boasts a 7.0% abv, and is described as an "American IPA with 126lbs of Passion Fruit added during fermentation and dry hopped with Citra and Mosaic." Its sweet, refreshing, and at $14 for a 32 oz Crowler - a sweet spring steal!

Passion Fruit Fallen Flag (sorry for blurry pic).


Narrow Gauge Sampler.


And when you're visiting a stellar brewery that doesn't ship its delicious items that are NOT available in your hometown - its wise to place a 'to go' order.


I would have been completely pleased with our trip up until this point - but this was all just the opening act - the main event was still yet to come. We collected our newly acquired mobile bottles & cans - and ventured to the other part of town seeking out the legendary rumored brew that had brought us this far.


About 30-45 minutes later we arrive at Perennial Artisan Ales. The brewery is located in a beautiful old red brick warehouse which by this point in the day the clouds had opened up, and like a sign from the Gods, the Sun began to shine.

Perennial Artisan Ales - St Louis Missouri.

Upon arrival at 2:45pm, an hour & 15 minutes before the venue was to open, there was already a line waiting about 30 people deep. We parked the car & took our spots in the already growing line.

Keep in mind that up until this very moment - we had NO confirmation that this release was even taking place - we were acting upon a rumor that for the first time all day, seemed to be 'confirmed information' as there were already people in line. My friend turned to me with a huge smile & said "Oh yeah - Its going down!".

View of the building from my place in line.

For the next Hour+ we drank, enjoyed the sunshine, and watched the line continuously grow. By the time the doors opened at 4pm, I would guess there were at least 250 in line waiting.. and it continued growing well after we had entered the brewery. Within minutes of the doors opening at 4pm - the line now extended all the way back to the street.

Here's the last vid I took of the line growing, about 15 minutes until open.


Everyone of these people also heard a rumor about this release, dropped everything at 3pm on a random Thursday, to then stand in line for over an hour in the hopes to MAYBE obtain 1 bottle that was set to be releasing at 4pm.

Looking at all the people as the line continued to grow, I was starting to get an idea of how 'special' this beer must be. At 4pm - the doors opened. We entered the venue and followed the line as it passed through the back of the brewery.


Approaching the buy table. By God - I see it!


Annnnnnnd Voila! I pause to take a picture of myself holding a bottle of one of the rarest Ales on the planet!


Our friends start to make it through the line & we find a table to display our collective rewards.


The line filters through with more people entering into the event. Within 40 minutes the brewery announces that they've run out of bottles to sell. Many people still waiting in line turn & leave completely dejected. Lucky attendees who have obtained bottles are still taking pictures all around me, like they've just won an Oscar. Its quiet the scene.

To give context as to the frenzy: each bottle that was just purchased moments ago for $35 a piece - if sold - immediately could be valued at over $500 a bottle. But there is no plan to sell - and if you try to Google this brand, you won't find it for sale. Its too tasty.. too rare.

And for the first time all day, I realize how 'special' of a moment this was that was unfolding in front of me. I started the day thinking I would just be going for a long drive & maybe drinking a beer with lunch. Instead I acknowledge that I will never see this beer in my life again, and how some craft beer enthusiasts would pay hundreds of dollars to attend the release I just stumbled into. I look down at the table again & see that my friends were fortunate enough to acquire 5 bottles among our group.. 5 bottles of one of the Planet's most sought after craft beer selections. I think to myself... "Damn".


Now that our quest is complete - its time to celebrate. Bring on the appetizers...


... and since we have all this tasty beer - lets drink!

While indulging in the setting & taking in the experience - rumors soon started to float that the venue would be selling 'tasting 5 oz pours' of the infamous barrel-aged Abraxas soon. Despite a 3+ hour trip back home - we decide to stick around and further test our luck, and as prompted, the brewery does just that. We again hop up & rush into the now forming line for drink tickets, and are fortunate enough to collect ours before they soon again sell out.

Shortly there after - the tasting is set to begin. Before it starts one of the staff members begins addressing a captivated crowd about this succulent Ale being poured. I am completely lost in the moment and begin recording.


And with that.. they pour.

The contents of my glass is dark, thick, and so very complex in both flavor & aroma. My description would not due it justice. It was delicious. A variety of balanced flavors on the pallet - ranging from the dryness of the rye barrel, to the sweetness of vanilla bean. Lastly, I was left with a subtle burst of cinnamon on my tongue.

Lost in utter delight - I take one last picture with my phone, before the battery dies.


I'm humbled & very thankful that I had this experience yesterday. I consider myself more educated regarding the hobby via the interactions I had with the people I met along the way. I began this trip considering myself 'just getting into the hobby of craft beer' and leave the day feeling like I've gone full Cult mode, completely having drank the kool-aid... er.... Barrel-Aged Abraxas... as the case may be.

The night ended with a stop on the way back at a Western themed Karaoke bar named "The Tater Pit" in Rolla, Missouri - but I promise that you don't want to see or hear video of that. Point of Full Disclosure - any profits received from this post MAY go to fund future 'Beercation' adventures! ;-)

Cheers Steemit!

~GiftedGaia



-Who is: GiftedGaia?

-What is: Steemit Talk Podcast

-Life is short - hence why Podcasting is Important

-My DJ Mixes Archive

-My Youtube Page (lots of Drone Videos)

-Photogenic Adventures Series: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

-+1 Point on the 'Humans are Good' side: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4

Sort:  

"something something YOUR MOM something something THIS BIG something something...."

I have a couple of pics from the drive up there - but decided on this one.. as it would be left open to the reader's imagination what the context is.

Awesome beer and an interesting trip makes a great post! When will they put a tap on the Steem blockchain so we can all try it?

You had me at "Tap on the Steem Blockchain so we can all try it" (!)

What an excellent post about a brilliant top, how could I miss that yesterday :-)!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04