A 'yummy' Breakfast Dish, or Brunch, or Lunch, or Dinner, or Supper, in fact Anytime!! Another of my 'Recipe in Images'

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Late in starting to write this today as so busy trying to find a buyer online for some silver bits and pieces I no longer need; the cash, a necessary addition to the house purchase fund.  I am scraping together every penny at the moment; in fact, the tax man will have to wait for his share!

However, lets get on with this recipe.  @kleryk200 posted a rather interesting dish called Shatshuka.  This is a tomato based sauce which has eggs broken into it, which are then cooked in the sauce.  I really liked it but, as I am won't to do, change things and adapt to suit my taste, and it was good too!

Here is my very different interpretation of Shatshuka.

The night before, soak a dried bean of your choice for cooking the next day.  I love chickpeas so they are to be my choice.  When rehydrated, put in plenty of water and cook until soft.  Drain and leave on one side.

Remember the tip for soaking dried beans - put a teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda in with the beans and cover them with boiling water.  The next day you need to thoroughly wash the beans before cooking them your usual way; otherwise they will give a slightly 'soapy' taste  to your dish if you don't rinse  them well.  Do this and the beans will cook in half the time - chickpeas especially will actually go soft!

Now, take a sausage (I use Chorizo), and slice it into rings about the size of a coin.  Put them into a large frying pan with some olive oil added, and cook until coloured on both sides.  This only takes a couple of minutes as the slices are quite thin.  When browned, take the chorizo slices out and place to one side.

I have also used 'lardons' of bacon (ham) here too; it works just as well.

In the same pan, with all of those lovely flavourings from the sausage, add chopped chilli, diced onion, and mashed garlic, to taste.  Cook on a low heat until the onions are translucent.

Then chop up about 6 large tomatoes and one pepper -  the chunks not too big as you want them to cook quickly.  

I don't even bother pealing or deseeding my tomatoes, it will all disappear within the sauce.  I do though remove the white core at the top where the stem goes, it can be bitter; just cut out a triangle when you have cut the tomato in half.

Add the tomatoes and pepper to the onion mixture in the pan with about a cup of water.  Put a lid on and simmer until your tomatoes have dropped.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

I use a large glass lid from one of my big pans to cover the frying pan.  Even if it is a little smaller than the rim of the pan it will still work as the sides slant in with a frying pan.  The glass lid enables you to see the stages of cooking without disturbing the contents of the pan.

Now add the cooked chickpeas and chorizo to the tomato sauce and stir everything together.  

Let this simmer until everything has combined into one lovely, yummy, beany sauce.  

You might want to add a little more water during this part, or your sauce might become too thick.  I like it just a bit runny.

Re-check the seasoning for the last time.

As I am on my own here, I make a large amount and put it in the fridge to use at will, or freeze bagged in portion size.

Portion your servings into a frying pan and heat until bubbling.  Add a little more water if too thick. Don't forget the coffee as the dish is nearly ready to eat!

Break your eggs on top of the bean mixture.  

Put on the lid and let the eggs cook until the whites have set - not the yolks, you want them runny.

With the glass lid on the pan the yolk of the eggs skin over beautifully, and remain runny inside; while the white cooks through quickly. 

You can grate some cheese on top at this stage and flash under a hot grill to melt the cheese until golden brown.  I decided not to today.

Plonk the pan down in the middle of the table with a large basket of thickly buttered bread chunks for dipping in the beans, and wiping up your plate at the end; it really is yummy; not really the same dish anymore, but still ........!

Eat together with this sharing pot and enjoy!!

I do not give quantities with this kind of recipe, you just use what you think you will need for the amount of people eating.

So until the next time

From 'sunny' Almeria Province, Spain - Adios Amigos. X

Sort:  

Great job! This looks really delicious. I hadn't seen the other version of the dish but I will look for it. It almost looks like chili with garbanzo beans.

Um, going to have to try that if I can find the beans as never heard of them before? Link to the first recipe on my post. Thank you again for all of your support, I truly value our interaction. X

Thank you. Should have Googled it but lot on yesterday! X

rs and upvote for you....

Thank you. Do not use this site as it has been stolen by @jennswall @finleyexp ! If I get it back I will contact you. Previous support most appreciated. A friend is posting this for me. X

how they stolen your post??? how you know was them????

Thank you for replying.This link will go some way to explaining the cause of this catastrophe. https://steemit.com/life/@get-baking/life-it-must-get-better-now-part-2 . I have only posted through my friend, to stop others upvoting and commenting on my site, to the benefit of the two mentioned. They are the only two who had my passwords and could lock me out. They initially set me the account up as a 'fait a compils' and are now saying I have to pay them for it? What! Why when I used to teach IT in school would I need them to do this for me? I am setting up a new site and it took me all of two minutes! Why would I ask them to do paid work for me when I am chasing every penny to buy my house.....? Are they mentally challenged? Hey ho, I can always start again.

did you report to steemit administrator for further actions???

I initially refrained from responding to the accusations in this post, because I don't believe in pandering to bullies. Make no mistake, this woman is a bully.

Do not believe everything that she writes as she is a liar and a con artist. She makes baseless accusations in public forums without proof to back up them up.

Here is a link to the billable hours that we've put in since March 2017:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1-jkKuiB-6vmR4I_UVDGijb3960dUrL37qjbtA8ZVZcw/edit?usp=sharing

oic....

@lautenglye The @get-baking account is being held in lieu of payment for services rendered from March 2017 to present. The outstanding debt falls just under 4000 euros.

I do not make it a policy to speak against others. I had continued to help this person even after the initial slander was introduced to the community of Steemit, but in this case I feel the need to defend these accusations with the proof that I have at hand.

Here is the link to the outstanding bill: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1-jkKuiB-6vmR4I_UVDGijb3960dUrL37qjbtA8ZVZcw/edit?usp=sharing

wow....so many things can happen in steemit....

yes...So many things can happen in life. I am sad that such a negative interaction has spread over into the Steemit community, but I could not stand by any longer and allow my name to be slandered so.

sorry to hear that... :(

Absolute joke. These two recon I have asked them to do work of 5,500 Euros in 3 months. Not likely when I needed every penny to buy my house. I even sold my Audi Q7 car to do this. I am also an ex Applied Computer Science teacher and Head of Department. Why would I pay them to do this amount of work on Steemit development? I can and have done it myself. It really is so pathetic just to try and scare me into not persuing the fraud committed against myself which I am involving the police here in Spain. A full history will be my first post on my new site. I will forward it to all my followers. Please view this pathetic attempt to explain their actions. My replies below might interest you. https://steemit.com/scam/@finleyexp/warning-a-serial-slanderer-and-con-artist-is-spamming-steemit-with-lies#@nannyjoan/re-finleyexp-warning-a-serial-slanderer-and-con-artist-is-spamming-steemit-with-lies-20170626t191027239z . X

Interesting interpretation of the recipe.
Now I'm your follower @get-baking.

Thank you so much. It wasn't done for that purpose, I just liked your dish. X

Thank you. Do not use this site as it has been stolen by @jennswall @finleyexp ! If I get it back I will contact you. Previous support most appreciated. A friend is posting this for me. X

I initially refrained from responding to the accusations in this post, because I don't believe in pandering to bullies. Make no mistake, this woman is a bully.

Do not believe everything that she writes as she is a liar and a con artist. She makes baseless accusations in public forums without proof to back up them up.

Here is a link to the billable hours that we've put in since March 2017:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1-jkKuiB-6vmR4I_UVDGijb3960dUrL37qjbtA8ZVZcw/edit?usp=sharing

@kleryk200 The @get-baking account is being held in lieu of payment for services rendered from March 2017 to present. The outstanding debt falls just under 4000 euros.

I do not make it a policy to speak against others. I had continued to help this person even after the initial slander was introduced to the community of Steemit, but in this case I feel the need to defend these accusations with the proof that I have at hand.

Here is the link to the outstanding bill: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1-jkKuiB-6vmR4I_UVDGijb3960dUrL37qjbtA8ZVZcw/edit?usp=sharing

Absolute joke. These two recon I have asked them to do work of 5,500 Euros in 3 months. Not likely when I needed every penny to buy my house. I even sold my Audi Q7 car to do this. I am also an ex Applied Computer Science teacher and Head of Department. Why would I pay them to do this amount of work on Steemit development? I can and have done it myself. It really is so pathetic just to try and scare me into not persuing the fraud committed against myself which I am involving the police here in Spain. A full history will be my first post on my new site. I will forward it to all my followers. Please view this pathetic attempt to explain their actions. My replies below might interest you. https://steemit.com/scam/@finleyexp/warning-a-serial-slanderer-and-con-artist-is-spamming-steemit-with-lies#@nannyjoan/re-finleyexp-warning-a-serial-slanderer-and-con-artist-is-spamming-steemit-with-lies-20170626t191027239z . X

More chilli, only kidding. Looks great!

Ha Ha, You don't know how much chilli I actually put in. Feel the heat....Thank you for commenting. X Hey, perhaps my new handle - Feel the heat! X

Lol, you don't know how much chilli I can take! hehe! That would be a good handle!

Yeh......two 'hots' to handle!!!! Love it. Thank you again for commenting. X

Thank you for responding. X

Thank you. Do not use this site as it has been stolen by @jennswall @finleyexp ! If I get it back I will contact you. Previous support most appreciated. A friend is posting this for me. X

I initially refrained from responding to the accusations in this post, because I don't believe in pandering to bullies. Make no mistake, this woman is a bully.

Do not believe everything that she writes as she is a liar and a con artist. She makes baseless accusations in public forums without proof to back up them up.

Here is a link to the billable hours that we've put in since March 2017:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1-jkKuiB-6vmR4I_UVDGijb3960dUrL37qjbtA8ZVZcw/edit?usp=sharing

@adrianobalan The @get-baking account is being held in lieu of payment for services rendered from March 2017 to present. The outstanding debt falls just under 4000 euros.

I do not make it a policy to speak against others. I had continued to help this person even after the initial slander was introduced to the community of Steemit, but in this case I feel the need to defend these accusations with the proof that I have at hand.

Here is the link to the outstanding bill: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1-jkKuiB-6vmR4I_UVDGijb3960dUrL37qjbtA8ZVZcw/edit?usp=sharing

Absolute joke. These two recon I have asked them to do work of 5,500 Euros in 3 months. Not likely when I needed every penny to buy my house. I even sold my Audi Q7 car to do this. I am also an ex Applied Computer Science teacher and Head of Department. Why would I pay them to do this amount of work on Steemit development? I can and have done it myself. It really is so pathetic just to try and scare me into not persuing the fraud committed against myself which I am involving the police here in Spain. A full history will be my first post on my new site. I will forward it to all my followers. Please view this pathetic attempt to explain their actions. My replies below might interest you. https://steemit.com/scam/@finleyexp/warning-a-serial-slanderer-and-con-artist-is-spamming-steemit-with-lies#@nannyjoan/re-finleyexp-warning-a-serial-slanderer-and-con-artist-is-spamming-steemit-with-lies-20170626t191027239z . X

Hi looks delicious. I like the tip about the baking soda. It is also great for people who have trouble eating beans due to bloating etc.

Really, I didn't know that! I love to pass on knowledge that I have gained in my long, long, life. That is why my recipes are never just a recipe. Thank you for your reply. X

Nice - I feel and do the same. As we are all going full circle and going back to basics - people seem to appreciate these tips. Keep sharing. :)

Agree totally. Thank you for your comments. X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09