Monday Musings

in #life5 years ago

Too Tired To Write? Post A Pretty Picture Instead!


IMG_4629.JPG
My backyard just looked so purty when I got home from the basketball practice shuffle.

Alright, I'll admit it, I am just too darn worn out to write anything of substance or potential usefulness. My brain is more spent that a Reno slot machine token in the 80's. Today I have taught school, interesting things like exponents, fallacies, how to code in Scratch, literature, well, gee golly, that list goes on. Along with that pile of eruditeness, I also experimented with the wonders of crafting low carb bread, dealt with a myriad of banking issues, ran children to basketball practice, ground and bought coffee for the hubs, and completed a butt kicking Urban Kick workout that melted my quads and biceps like a grape popsicle in Seville. Oh, and I cooked dinner too.

Perhaps the finest moment of my day was the time I spent in a bit of esoteric contemplation while reading a book that dealt both harshly and optimistically with the New Thought movement. I tend to read all manner of things, as I believe that you can learn something from anything if you just have the will to look. I must admit though, reading that book and all of the philosophical matter contained therein was a bit of a invigorating flintlock kicker in the brain band department. I had all the thoughts today.

And perhaps that is what I am trying to say with this exhausted-Kat ramble. My life, as usual is full to the point of leaking like an incontinent spaniel. I'm actually pretty okay with that fact, for I am experiencing things rather than wishing I were. For years I was sequestered to the sick room by chronic illness, and during that time I would read and then live out what I wished to do in the fantasy realm that is my imagination. These days, even though a good chunk of my experiences are considered chores, I am still living full blast. Sometimes I feel like I am trying to make up for lost time and am a little bit of a maniac, but let me tell you, it feels just so good to feel good, and anyone who has ever suffered from chronic pain, illness or an autoimmune disorder understands just how miraculous getting to feel good, even for a day, is!

So, tonight, instead of killing myself trying to craft a super, excellent low carb bread post, I am instead going to take a cue from my exhausted little carcass and go crash into the memory foam realm for a bit of R and R. No guilt here, I need to be rested in order to seize tomorrow's experiences!


And as most of the time, the lone image in this rather reflective mini-post was snapped on the author's pensive yet non-apprehensive iPhone.


Want To Read More @generikat Posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

Oh I see you have a wonderful winter wonderland out there! I miss snow so much.

Since I moved, this place is experiencing snowless, grey winter. It is not bad, but so much different than home, the cold north in Latvia.

Ah, Latvia, a place that seems so far off and exotic to this Pacific Northwest US dwelling girl....

You know, it's a weird winter here, usually by this time we have a few feet of snow, so to only have a few inches is pretty strange. However, I find the grey a bit beautiful sometimes too, well, if I get a day of sun shine or two on occasion that it. It is so wonderful to hear from you, I hope things are going well in your new part of the world:)

I consume about 1500 calories a day when I am trying to lose weight. do you know if that is too much or too little?

Ooh, this is a very complicated question, one of which I am not qualified to answer. There are a lot of variables to consider when a person is trying to lose weight. I could restrict calories and still not lose weight, I have to eat certain combinations of food. A good starting point would be to find the amount of calories that you need to maintain your current weight and adjust down from there, aiming for a goal of no more than two pounds weight loss a week. Good luck!

Sounds to me you earned the rest. Teaching coding. I will have to learn that soon, so I can do the same for my little guy. Your yard looks amazing. No snow here but lots of sun. A winter bonus:)

Ah! Pryde! How are you? I have missed your excellent presence round here:) Glad to hear that you have some sun to enjoy, we just had a round of freezing rain, definitely not my favorite...

@generikat, In my opinion, there should be no Sunday because, there are many who cannot bear the pain of Monday after Sunday. Ha ha. Stay blessed. 🙂

LOL! I like your reasoning! No Mondays sounds like a lovely prospect for sure:) Hope you are having a lovely day.

Yes, i am having pleasant time, thank you. Have a blessed time ahead. 🙂

Your backyard is indeed a beautiful sight.

Speaking of Scratch, have you ever played with a BBC micro:bit?

😄😇😄

@creatr

Hello dear friend! It's so nice to hear from you:)! I am super tickled that you gave me a link to peruse, as I hadn't heard of that particular tool, and holy circuits am I ever going to snag one or two for the children to experiment with. Um, I might mess around with the m:b a bit too, it's looks so cool, I'm going to show the kids the simulator tomorrow during tech time! Thank you:)

I'm so glad you found that interesting... :D

I've been focusing on the Maker world on my Whaleshares blog..., unlike here on Steemit where I am all over the map...

It is very cool. I just designed and have the first prototype of a standalone battery pack for the m:b working... Needs improvement, but I hacked the very first 3D print into operation! :)

Oh, I am a firm believer in the value of the now and again power nap. It is truly an art. You have to hit it just right, too little is frustrating, but too long is not good either...you just have to find that sweet spot, but if you do you feel refreshed and ready to make the most of the rest of the day!

I am in full admiration of any practicioner of the power nap arts. I've heard that twenty minutes is the sweet spot, and I take it from your enthusiasm that you are master of the said discipline, OGP, I might have just felt a twinge of jealousy. Okay, maybe it is just happiness for someone that actually experiences a restful state, lol! Keep on nappin hard my friend!

Congratulations @generikat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Until I read this post, it had not occurred to me that today's homeschooling parents need to teach computer skills. Oh my. I finished that "career" just in time, didn't I? I know my kids were able to take a basic course in college and that seemed adequate at the time. Yes, I understand how wonderful it is to have a day/week/month of energy. And I know how important it is to kick back for a day now and then! Please do try to pace yourself, my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17