Homeschool Snow Day-Again

in #life5 years ago

Motorcycling Winter Style


Last night, when I rested my head on my bamboo pillow, I had the fulfilling feeling of being blessed with future knowledge. Not that I am an oracle or anything, but I just knew that I would wake up to almost a foot of new snow in the morning, and sure enough:

IMG_6352.JPG

Sometimes you can just feel the stuff coming. Well, and sometimes you can check the National Weather Service forecast at work before you go home and figure it was the one time that they were going to get it right. Which they did! Cupcakes for NOAA workers, woo!!

Our North Idaho weather is notoriously difficult to forecast, but it is even more ridiculous to foretell when it is an El Nino winter. Thank goodness that little ocean warming, weather havoc wreaking phenomenon only happens once a while, or I would really feel sorry for the poor meteorologists who try to give those models a decipher and their best guess.

Anyway, after watching my derp dogs destroy the lovely fresh snow patina that was covering my back ten, I went and roused the children for their morning chores. The horses and steers don't give two cow pies about the fresh powder, they just want hay and Purina Show Steer. That's the livestock's preferred sight of winter beauty. While my spawn were completing their morning character building homestead chore drudgery, I checked with our local school district to see if a snow day had been called. Sure enough, no school! The thing is, we homeschool, so a foot of new school means nothing to our schedule, as we don't have to travel anywhere for our school work to be completed. However, my daughter is dual enrolled in the local junior high so she can play sports, thus her day started with the knowledge that she would have no basketball practice today.

Before I could sip down a keto mocha, I had two math lessons taught to my kiddos. Average word problems and equations with mixed numbers filled my still slightly sleepy cranium as my kids plowed through their math work without a mention of the fresh powder lining our farm's surface area. I then received a text from my next door neighbor saying that she was going to turn her heathens loose to go sledding before all of the new snow melted (El stupid NINO!!). A smile and an evil thought both grew on my face and in my mind as I strolled over to my two mathletes.

"How would you two like a snow day with the boys?" I said.

The look of confusion that crossed their faces was like bliss-sprinkles to my soul.

"Um, don't we have to do school?" my daughter replied.

"Well, you do until the boys get here." I responded and walked away.

They probably heard the celebrations in Kazakhstan.

Last night the children figured out how to attach the chore sled to my son's motorcycle. I am pretty sure that people have been left languishing all along my driveway for the last hour or two, as my son takes special pride in dumping his passengers from their method of conveyance. However, once in a while the passenger prevails, this is what I saw when I left for work:

Speaking of work, I don't get a snow day. You know, because I am a grownup. All the more reason to let the youngins have a bit of fun on occasion, for as most of you grownups know, it all ends before you can say: sensible work shoes.


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's powder covered iPhone. The video, however, was filmed on my daughter's Moto phone and used with her permission, ooohh!


Want To Read More @generikat Posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

Thanks for stopping by good Sir! You are most appreciated!!!

Oh, to have a backbone that wouldn't object to such treatment! They must have had a blast! I remember calling snow days when the public schools did, because then my children could go play in the snow with the neighbor kids. Of course, snow days in Minnesota were more often called because of sub-zero temperatures accompanied by a brisk breeze. Did that stop anybody from making a snow fort? Nope.

Ha! My spinal column gives an involuntary twinge everytime one of the kids hits the ground, but honestly, I am probably going to take a snow run before the white stuff is gone!

Ooh, Minnesotans are cut from a much stouter cloth for sure, sub zero and wind seems to be a frequent feature in their realm, I think I will take our occasional excess snow without any complaints!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank ye kindly!

Oh my! Having home schooled myself, I can really appreciate having a snow day just like the rest of the world. I loved when the school district allowed my kids to play sports with the schools. It was a big step. The only thing that really Disturbed me in some ways about homeschooling in Washington DC was that nobody cared that I was doing it oh, what I was teaching, if they were learning, nothing. Then while I really did teach every single day and made sure that all day testing that John Q public did oh, there are many parents didn't and that really Disturbed me.

that looks like a Hoot and Holler out there and I surely would be on the back of that being pulled by the rope and tossed about, screaming like a little girl but all the while having fun. Don't you just love those kind of times? I did love that every person participates and I'm glad to see that you have a lot of Helping Hands. It's always good to read you and I am so glad that you are that mother that gives her the phone that she remembers from her own childhood.

!tip

It is so excellent that you homeschooled! When I was middle school aged, we lived in the Alaskan wilderness and in some lackluster schooling scenarios, so I was homeschooled from the 6th-8th grade. It really stunk that I couldn't play sports because I wasn't enrolled, so I am happy that most public schools kicked that stupidity to the curb, I mean, my parents still paid property taxes, hellooo!!

You know, I have found that most parents who homeschool want their kids to do well, so government oversight really doesn't matter, but I also know a few folks who homeschool but aren't doing their kids any favors. I think with the schooling thing, it all boils down to having parents who are involved and care, no matter what type of schooling their kids are engaged in. Ooh, I went all soap box there, quick! Throw a doughnut at me from the foodfight thread, LOL LOL!

Too bad you aren't in the neighborhood, my son could give you a leisurely tow around the farm. He can be nice;o) Me, I like the be launched into space, nothing's better than ending up covered with snow rash after flying through the icy air like a snow-devil. Of course, these days I end up hiding in the house more often than not cause I do not like being cold.

I sure hope you are doing something excellent today, I can't think of anyone who deserves a cupcake and a cup of tea (or coffee) more than your most amazing self. I now look forward to Denise comments every time I post.:O)!!

I actually did homeschooling for 7 years. It was Middle School with my girls that drove me to it. The thoughts of them going through that toxic environment made me realize that they were way too precious to be manhandled that way. If I sound like an overprotective parent, perhaps I am but they also are the most precious things to me. I hear you about the Alaskan wilderness and I can honestly say that I have moved those kids from the Wilds to the city and there are places that still do not let you play sports in their school district.

I understand what you're saying about most people want their kids to do well oh, but I can honestly tell you that there are some parents that let them School themselves and are not worried about what they're learning but more worried about having to send them to a school. However, having said that oh, I do believe that most parents do you want to do well. Oh and as for paying the taxes? I went to a Catholic School on my life and stood my eight brothers and sisters and my parents paid property taxes to and we never even stepped foot inside a public school. It used to frost his buns!

Oh, I'm a scream like a little girl but I love to be launched! I didn't grow up with six brothers and want to have a little sissy ride around. The fact that I scream loudly only means that I'm having a lot of fun. LOL stop hiding out in the house! You live in freaking Idaho it's going to be cold! If you want warm you move to Florida where all the old people are! For those of you who are on that old, this is a disclaimer saying that I was not talking about you. I am having a most excellent day and I am really thinking that you're right about that cupcake in a cup of tea. Sounds like I need one, and maybe I might just mix myself up a batch. Now see what you've done? And I was being good! How am I supposed to wear my little bathing suit on vacation eating fat cupcakes?

Awe, protective parents are cool, I had a very over protective Ma, and even though that fact sometimes drove me bananas, I also knew that her protectiveness was borne out of love:).

Middle school is a meat grinder for sure, especially for girls. In fact, I have a post in the works about some Jr. High drama that I encountered the other day which deals with everything from bullying to immaturity to toxic inter-female behavior. The sad thing is when the adults act like the kids. I just don't get it.

You are a Catholic school alumni! So is my husband, he grew up right smack in the middle of San Francisco, and loves to point out his beautiful school to me every time we watch a movie that features the city. He also shivers a bit when mentions the indomitable Sister Veronica....It makes me giggle to see a giant Hawaiian cringe in memory of a massive Italian nun who had "A mean right hook." LOL!

Don't worry though, I just came in from outside, even though I am big hypothyroid-don't-like-to-be cold Kat these days doesn't mean that I hide in the house ALL the time. I just spent the last hour feeding the horses and the steers. I love listening to them munch on their hay and grain in the snow covered wonderland that is our home.:)

Hopefully you had a cupcake, I find that one needs to treat themselves at least once a week, that way bathing suits still fit and there's no hangry person stomping round the house, ha ha!

🎁 Hi @generikat! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Tree Tuesday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Oh wow what fun! I bet that is a challenge to not only drive the motorcycle on the snow but also attaching a sled and passenger to it as well! OMG that was a wicked video! He really got some air!!

You got it right! There was some definite engineering that went into the attachment of the sled to the bike. I took pictures of the kid's ingenuity and meant to post them along with the other stuff, but I was SOO tired last night, imagine that? They used a combination of barb-less wire and tow rope that they braided together and threaded through the bike's frame. I was impressed and amused.

After I left yesterday my son launched one neighbor boy out of the sled and down the ice on his head like a skipping stone. He has a nice mangled goose egg on his temple. Sigh. LOL!

I have a lot of footage, I am going to try to get it edited into a compilation video and post it, because some of the wipeouts are hilarious!

Friend, how are you? in venezuela almost all the year we have sun and heat, I would love to have a little snow, feel it in my hands and enjoy it as a child, thanks for sharing your experiences with me

Greetings and a hug from Venezuel!

Ooh! My friend, you are speaking words that I love. Sun and heat!! If only we could trade weather for a little while, I love tropical weather:) It is nice to have four seasons though, I must admit.

Greetings and big hugs right back at you from North Idaho!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30