A Passel Of Peppers

in #life5 years ago

When Life Gives You Chiles...


IMG_7572 (2).JPG

This year a monumental occurrence has happened in my chunk of North Idaho. I have lived on my farm for almost eighteen years, and during that tenure we have gotten a frost the first week of September every year but one or two like clockwork. It is not uncommon to get a sixty day growing season in these parts, but guess what!? We still haven't received a frost of tomato, squash, and pepper plant death yet! In fact, yesterday I wandered out to pick my chile friends before it gets too chilly for them. I should apologize for that, but I am not going to.

IMG_7569 (2).JPG

Anyway, upon arriving at the garden and after getting distracted by the oddity of my pumpkins being a shade of orange on still green vines, I wandered up to the three pepper plants I plunked into the ground this year. The first plant that I inspected was the ancho chile plant, and let me tell you, I wish all the plants in my garden had yielded like the ancho, It was so packed with peppers that the plant had burst free of the stake I had offered it and fell to the landscape fabric like an overburdened pack animal.

IMG_7570 (2).JPG

This ancho is about as curled up as I was after weight training class last Thursday. Can we say "involuntary spasm."

My over eager to begin harvesting hands began plucking the apple sized chiles off the plant and I just marveled a bit over how many there were. Anchos are usually dried, ground, and enjoyed around here as a heat enhancing spice of slightly smokey awesomeness. Perhaps there are other ways to enjoy an ancho, if any fine Steemian wants to educate me on this topic, I'm all ears. Oh, that was corny, I am supposed to be talking about peppers, my apologies.

IMG_7571 (2).JPG

Be my Anaheim❤

Moving on, I tackled the Anaheim chile plant next. The large, slight in heat Anaheims are one of my favorites. After being stuck in Hatch this year, I discovered a new way to preserve these peppers, they are getting roasted and frozen in quart bags. Even the gas stations in Hatch sell quart sized bags of roasted, frozen chiles of that variety. That way, whenever the urge for a batch of chile relleno or a fresh batch of enchilada sauce strikes me, a walk to the freezer is all that is required. No more substandard chile flavor for me!

Finally, there was the jalapeno plant. No matter the length of my growing season, I can always produce some jalapenos. My black recycled landscape fabric combined with some season extension techniques works well with jalapeno plants due to their slightly faster growth pattern. There are a few varieties which can be ready in 60-70 days, so yes, I will admit it, I wasn't quite as excited about the jalapenos. Well, that is until I actually started harvesting them.

IMG_7573 (2).JPG

Don't mind that yellow crook neck squash imposter, dratted photobomber.

Egads! The plant just didn't quit! There was at least 40 little jalapenos on that thing! It was almost as if the plant knew that I was craving cream cheese stuff, bacon wrapped jalapeno halves or something. Weird. Jalapenos are quite frequently used in my realm as they are easy to acquire around here and I have a known fondness for pico de gallo. In fact, just writing that term sent me on a thought diversion to my time in Puerto Vallarta. It was there that I achieved happiness on Earth when I discovered that they served me pico de gallo and lime wedges with every. single. meal. If only that could be an every day thing...

Sorry bout that, I have random mental diversions when it comes to food experiences of the sublime kind. We were talking about jalapenos. I eat them a lot! And when I say a lot, I mean on pretty much everything: pizza, eggs, sandwiches, in most of the dips I make, in stir fries, the list goes on and on. Sliced or diced fresh or pickled jalapenos adorn my food most of the time. In fact, that reminds me, I have never pickled my own jalapenos, perhaps that is what I should do with my sudden surplus of pepperage. Indeed.


I would love to hear what you all do with peppers? I'm even open to hearing atypical uses for them. The other day I chucked a jalapeno at a particularly insolent offspring. The resulting smack warmed the cockles of my heart almost as much as a nice bite of jalapeno warms the tips of my taste buds. Really, my friends, any and all data is welcomed by this Kat. Hope you all are having a most smashing Sunday!


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's rather spicy and kinda nicey iPhone.


Sort:  

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

Such a good haul! A reminder that I want to get chilli plants in before spring is over.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Thanks!:) I hope you get those plants in and they yield tons for ya!

Definitely pickle some of those jalapenos. That's my favorite way of eating them.

Had a decent frost the other morning here in PA. And today it is currently 80+ degrees. Typical crazy weather this time of the year.

Hi Chops! I've missed you:) And I am definitely going to pickle those jalapenos. Well, if I ever sit down. It's homecoming week here, so extra stuff going on, plus harvest, plus I bought a new used stock trailer yesterday and have to go register it, plus I need to go pick up corral panels...Hmm...That's a lot of math.

Anyway, your weather sounds familiar lol, they actually are calling for the S word this weekend and wind chills down into the twenties. Ruh Roh! Good thing I have all my firewood done;)

Two years ago I had a massive crop of jalapenos, so I tried pickling them. They are too "hot" for most of us; would you like to try a jar?

Holy Happy Tastebuds! I would love to try a jar! You are awesome!

I was just reading yesterday that you add sugar to the pickle brine to adjust the heat level, so of course I wasn't going to add any to my jalapenos, because heat reasons.

It's going to get cold this weekend. Even though I am ready for a bit of hibernation, I am not quite ready for the frigid temps and the S word. Guess I better dig out the sweaters.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 13 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 184 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

@generikat You have received a 100% upvote from @steemguardian because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Hello @generikat! We heartily appreciate this awesome masterpiece of yours.

Want to earn more on your quality article? Then you're more than welcome to post your DIY/How-to's articles on Build-it?

Build-it is a new tribe on the steem blockchain that serves as a central hub for DIY and How-to's contents on steemit. The recommended tags required when creating a DIY artcle are #diy, #build-it. #how-to, or #doityourself. You'll get rewarded with BUILD tokens, which can also be exchanged for steem on steem-engine when you use any of the recommended tags as well as posting via our website.

Have a question? Join us on Discord and telegram

This project is run and supported by our witness @gulfwaves.net. If you like what we do, vote for us as a witness on the steem blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30