Sacred Cow Tipping

in #life7 years ago

Holy Cow Batman! You can't say that!

It's only been pretty recently, with the advent of "censorship resistant platforms" that I have decided to participate in social media. Basically, I'm here, on Minds.com, and unfortunately, Youtube.

I used to just read books, listen to podcasts, or watch videos without commenting, but I've found there's only so much you can gain without personal interaction. So, I started this Steemit blog, got on minds, and started commenting on Youtube. Most of my experiences with interaction come from Youtube, though, because people here just don't really comment that much, outside of "great post!"

The most interesting thing I've found so far is this phenomenon of Sacred Cows. What's that, you ask? Well:

A sacred cow is an idea, philosophy, or institution which someone holds on to so strongly that it cannot be questioned. If you question it, you are very often attacked and called names.


I can say that I've gained my understanding of Sacred Cow honestly. I have been guilty of holding some up myself, and probably still am. However, I like to think of myself as someone who's willing to challenge my beliefs and re-examine my opinions. I really want to know the "truth of the matter" regardless of what it does to my worldview.

I'm finding others to be much more reluctant to do the same, though. It seems like most people I encounter just want to pontificate and aren't interested in discussion.

So... Sometimes I go cow tipping! I know it probably isn't the nicest thing to do, but dang it, it's fun!

So, here's some Sacred Cows I've identified in some areas of interest to me.

Crypto-currency

Bitcoin Dominance: Altcoins are all a scam
Block size: BTC Unlimited is going to ruin the whole thing!
Instamine: Screw you, Dash!

Health and Fitness

Seven small meals a day. Buy protein bars.
It's all about the macro's, bro. Don't worry about that glyphosate...
Calories in plus calories out equals weight gain or loss. Don't bother asking where the calories go.
Protein! Eat it by the pail full. If you don't, your body will eat itself!

Faith, specifically Christianity

Rapture! Don't worry man, as soon as it starts getting bad, we're out of here.
Hell. Believe it, or go there forever.
Predestination: believe it or not, you really don't have a choice.

Science

Atheisim rules. If you think there was a creator, you're dumb and emotionally challenged
Majority or else. If most scientist agree, don't question it.
Climate change. We're all going to freeze! No wait, we're all going to fry!

Any more out there? Let's discuss. Feel free to tip over any sleeping bovine as you pass.

Sort:  

You know, you have a lot of cows there. But all you put in science are actually pigs.

Cow/Pig... What's the difference? I guess these are the ones I notice the most. What would you list?

By pig I mean that is not what science actually says. Its more what some people think science says.

Atheism: Science says: 1. Science cannot proof the non-existence of God. 2. There is no successful proof of God (although many tried). Therefore (and other points) it is far more likely that there is no God.

Majority or else: Even if EVERYONE believes in X, if there is one successful that X is not, then everyone is wrong. That is the theory, in praxis, since even scientists are humans, sometimes the believers just have to die out. Einstein never accepted Quantum Mechanics for example.

Climate change: I never heard that there was any big crowd saying something about a freeze - or a frying. There is no doubt though in a Climate Change towards warmer. First papers from the early 70s I think, consent since the early 90s.
I mean tens (or hundreds) of thousands scientist can measure it. Geologist, hydrologist, biologists, and of course meteorologists can see it in their data.
That is a main reason for March for Science today https://steemit.com/news/@lennstar/march-for-science-with-more-then-600-registered-cities

Science Cows may be "The earth is flat". Or that you can see the character of a person on the sizes of his head.

Ha! Yes indeed. Well, I would say most of the cows I listed are really just what people think and not actual fact.

As for Climate change, the reason I said we're going to freeze is because that's actually what the scientists were saying in the 60's and 70's. Also, there's quite a few scientists now who are saying there's going to be a cooling period due to sun cycles. Sacred cows on both sides.

MOO

Maybe the reason most people aren’t interested in having a discussion with you may have more to do with you than them.

For example, it’s one thing to engage in “sacred cow tipping,” which is nothing more than ridicule. It is something else to show them the error of their ways.

Well, perhaps you misunderstand the metaphor, but I would argue you haven't tipped the cow if you haven't made an attempt to show them the error of their ways. The reason it's a sacred cow is because it's a subject that the person isn't willing to re-think no matter what evidence you show them.

Usually I prefer to start by asking for explanations so I don't make an argument from a misunderstanding. I don't ridicule, I seek to dialog. Questions, arguments, logic, reason, etc.

Lots of people actually do have discussions with me, it's just that when you mention certain subjects they lose their cool. It's really on Steemit that I find people aren't too interested in discussions. Not just my posts, either. I just scrolled through your blog and there's not much in the way of comments on your posts either. Mostly people seem to read a post and say they like it. Nothing wrong with it, but it's not a discussion.

Do you feel like I've ridiculed you? If so, it wasn't my intention and I'll apologize.

No. You haven't ridiculed me. And yes, there isn't much comment on my posts. That's not a surprise considering the subject matter of my posts. There are numerous posts from others that tend to engender a great deal of discussion because they tend to be about things related to the platform itself. One thing about this platform is that it is a clean slate for most of the users, as far as I can tell. Most people come onto here not knowing the other users, unlike facebook, where I am well aware of the people on my friends list. People need to get to know one another in order for real community to develop. Simply stating ideas and opinions tends to create isolation, which inhibits discussion.

Good. I too have noticed posts about the platform itself do tend to generate a lot of discussion. Whales voting badly, payouts not enough, etc.

What kind of posts would you make if you're not stating ideas and opinions? Pretty much everything is an idea or an opinion.

Anyway, I'd rather talk to people about ideas than other people or the weather. That's where I'm at, so I guess I'm just going to have to be happy with whoever drops by.

There is more than ideas and opinions to post about. There are experiences, convictions of truth, and conclusions from the results of study.

Okay then. For me, I'd categorize the second two things you mention as ideas and opinions as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16