Twins: Born nine years apart

in #life6 years ago

As adults we have the benefit of looking back on certain times in our lives with the wisdom of age and experience. I’m sure everyone can recall a memory, fond or otherwise, that sticks with them; Many memories I guess really.

I recall one particular day back in the late 1970’s that was particularly special for me. It was my birthday you see and I was turning nine. It’s a reasonably unremarkable birthday I think, not being a major milestone like thirteen (entering ones’ teens), eighteen, twenty-one, thirty, forty etc. but is was a pretty major event for me. It was the day my youngest brother was born. Yep, that’s right! He was born on my birthday. It was pretty cool, although my birthday kind of sucked that year also as his birthday stole the limelight. I don’t mind though. He was a pretty cute little dude and due to his most excellent choice of arrival dates I saw him as mine; We were twins, nine years apart.

Because I was nine years older I had somewhat of an active role changing nappies, feeding him, helping with homework, baby-sitting, driving him to school, practicing hockey together and of course celebrating birthdays together. Later, my wife and I used to take him, and my two other younger siblings, shopping for clothes, to the movies and various other places.

I recall one such outing in which we took my youngest brother and my sister (13 years my junior) to the Royal Adelaide Show, which is a big agricultural show where they have rides and sideshows and farm animal judging and things. It used to be pretty cool. You can Google it. So, being smart we arranged a meeting point in the advent of one of them getting lost. My brother would have been about 9 years old and my sister about 5. My sister was reasonably easy to control but my brother…Not so much. It seemed he was happy to wander about aimlessly looking everywhere but where we were going. It was stressful. One minute he was there and the next…Well, he was not.

We had agreed that if lost they would need to make their way to the massive ferris wheel which could be seen from anywhere in the show grounds. They often get 25,000-30,000 people in the show at any given time; Far too many to go searching for one little dude so we thought that was a logical option. Anyway, after about fifteen minutes my wife and I, sister in tow, arrived at the wheel but he wasn’t there. Now I panicked, just a little bit. We went over to the man operating the wheel to ask if he had seen my brother and he smiled and pointed upwards. Yep, he was riding the ferris wheel! Apparently he had told the guy he was waiting for us because he had gotten lost and that scored him a free ride. Resourceful.

I can recall many things about my brother, the pictures he’d draw, him running around the hockey field, lugging his bag along towards my car after a long school day, him helping me get Christmas day meals prepared, in fact later in life we created a new recipe together, we called it mush and it tasted much better than the name suggests…We also shared shared my 30th and his 21st birthday celebration in the year 2000. I recall he was serving me large glasses of scotch as I cooked the BBQ…The next day wasn’t my best but he thought it was funny and I think it was an awesome night, or so I have been told. I think that was the last night we were all together as a family with my mum alive…

I also recall that day I learned he had decided to move overseas to live. I’ve seen him once in the 11 or so years he has been there. He’s made a pretty good life though, has married a lovely young girl and has produced a pretty cool little bubba, my niece. My wife and I are looking forward to seeing them all in July 2018. Sure, we can Skype but it will be great to see them all in person.

My brother has grown into a pretty interesting individual. He thinks a lot and has a rare ability to share his thoughts logically and impartially. He is a prolific steemit blogger and writes with passion and a genuine desire to promote the platform and independent thought amongst his steemit peers. He has created a real-world business singlehandedly; One that makes a difference to people, helps their development and personal growth and has built an amazingly diverse group of friends who respect and value him.

When I think back to that very first day I met him I think I was a little covetous of him considering I probably thought of him as my 9-years-delayed-twin. From there we did lots together and we had many good times, he and I and my other brother who was 5 years my junior. We were typical boys. As adults we have spent many years apart being spread around the globe, but that can’t diminish the pride I feel for them both. Sometimes I read my brother’s posts on steemit and am reminded of the little dude who shared my birthday, who I protected, encouraged and supported. He’s come a long way and if you don’t follow his work you should at least check out his blog. He has a lot of value to give, freely, openly and from the heart. I am biased of course.

You’re a champ @tarazkp.

Design and create your ideal life, don’t live it by default
@galenkp

Image taken tonight at Semaphore, South Australia

Sort:  

Aww, thanks :)

You also introduced me to photography and bought me my first Canon. I remember so many times but have probably forgotten so many more. It is amazing how far we have come and how far apart we can be.

Life is full of surprises though and who knows what the future will hold for all of us. Btw, it has been 14 years. 14! Time flies and if we aren't careful, there will be none left.

Love you mate.

Oh yeah, I forgot I bought you that first camera. What a champ I am! I can take credit for all your photos now. :)

14 years. WTF! That’s a long-ass time! Looking forward to July.

What a beautiful post. It seems as far as your siblings go you have everything I have not :( My brother is only two years older than me but has never accepted me. The other day my Father even admitted that "Well, he has always been jealous of you!" - This is sad and ridiculous as on the face of it he has a more successful life than me. Still, I kinda pity him for not realising what a star of a sister he has ;) I hope you get your get-together real soon xox

Hi Linda, I think sibling rivalry and jealousy is a typical thing in most families. People often feel that because they are siblings, family, they have to get on but I don’t agree. We are all individual humans before we are a brother, sister, father, uncle etc. I believe we each need to be at peace with ourselves, be content with who we are as an individual and then the rest falls into place. I like your comment about being a star and him missing out.

I’ll be seeing my brother next year, his wife and daughter whom I have yet to meet. We are really looking forward to it.

Thanks for your comment.

Roll on 2018 and meanwhile Seasons Greetings to you and yours - & that is the first time I have extended them so far this year! Haha xox

And to you Linda. All the best for the festive season. :)

Because I was nine years older I had somewhat of an active role changing nappies, feeding him, helping with homework, baby-sitting, driving him to school, practicing hockey together and of course celebrating birthdays together.

Ahh @galenkp! ¿How memorable that could be mate? And above all, specially play that extraordinarily unique role for a nine years older Twin taking care of that little rascal who stole your birthday with a single stroke? LoL

It seemed he was happy to wander about aimlessly looking everywhere but where we were going. It was stressful. One minute he was there and the next…Well, he was not.

Hahahaha ¡I knew it! I had a strong hunch that your little sibling @tarazkp should be one of those chaps who needs to have a big fat cowbell tighty tied to his curious neck every time you took him out for a walk. ;)

My wife and I are looking forward to seeing them all in July 2018.

Oh! How happy I am that this visit is among your plans mate!! From this very instant. I predict that it will be a highly satisfying and unforgettable experience to preserve for both of you. ¡Twins Born Nine Years Apart! reuniting again after 14 years.

And this time mate, don't forget to take with you a good cowbell to give him that overdue present when you meet him again. }:)

Cheers!!

Hey champ, thanks for your comments. Yeah, I think it will be great to see my bro again and to meet his family. We are looking forward to it. Who knows, we may recall a few choice stories from the good old days to retell.

Dude, you had me tearing up halfway through that. It brought up a lot of personal stuff. I've spent about the same amount of time away from my family and for the longest time I didn't think anything of it. As my relationship with my family has always been really complicated, I felt better off being away from them, but when I realize it's been that long, and I realize they still have a lot of love for me, it kind of hits me... though I wish they were as accepting as you are.... I'm happy you are going to visit him. From what I know of him, he's a great guy.

Maybe my brother will visit me soon.

Sounds like you miss your brother. It might be a good time for you to reach out and and say hi how are ya? You never know, it might just work out great.

Thanks for your comments on my post. I’m glad it made you think about your family fondly. Give hem a call or drop them an email. :)

You sound like an awesome big brother :) Actually your whole family sounds awesome.

And no bias, Taraz is a pretty fantastic writer/thinker, though I don't often comment on his blogs because as much as I love reading them I feel way too out of depth to say much XD

goatsig

Agreed. I don’t understand most of what he says! Seriously though, I think his posts promote thought and that’s a good thing in this world of lemmings.

Thanks for your comment about our family. It’s pretty standard really. Messed up at times and not messed up at others. Like most families I think. We’re pretty spread out though so it’s hard to connect much really. Thanks for your comment on my post. Much obliged.

What lovely memories. I'm very fond of Taraz's blog. He writes so beautifully and always has something interesting to say.

Obviously I know him from a different perspective and over a long time but yes, he has always got something interesting bubbling away in that noggen of his and it’s good for him to have a platform to broadcast it. Thanks for your comment.

How interesting!

Hi! As a photographer, I can say, that this is very good post :) ! Thank You for sharing!

Thanks for your comment.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00