Daily Thoughts - Homesteading and Storms - 4 Aug 17...

in #life7 years ago

It was a good thing I posted a little something before I left the house yesterday because we spent more time without power yesterday than we did with it working...

We had a really big thunder and lightning storm yesterday afternoon that took out the power to the whole county...there were more than 20,000 homes without power for hours and of course all the stores/restaurants that you'd normally go and hang out in when you have no power were useless...they had no power either. :(

Thankfully I've got some friends with a front porch that we could sit in and play cards until the sun went down...it helped pass the time quite nicely. We played a game called Queens, thanks Brenda and Ken, it was a lot of fun. :D

The power was still out in town when I left after picking my son up from work at 2200 hours but thankfully it was back on at home when we got there. :D

Its dark and gloomy outside again today so I'm thinking we are going to be getting more rain today, hopefully no lightning strikes knocking out the power today though.

I'll be taking my son in to work again in about an hour so I thought I should make my post now while we have power and hopefully it will still be on when I get back. :D

If my power is still on and I have any energy at all left by the time I get home maybe I'll edit this post or make a new one to let you know how the rest of my day went. :D

I hope you all have an awesome day! :D

Sort:  

Congratulations @frostyamber! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

It sounds like you had a lovely evening, even if you didn't have electricity. :)

That is so true and it was a very lovely evening. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64056.77
ETH 2654.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83