Drowning

in #life6 years ago

What were they thinking?


I've often wondered what actually goes through the mind as one meets their unfortunate demise. I suppose it matters if death was expected and the person had time to mentally prepare. What if it was unexpected? Or sudden? Or by their own hand?

Would there even be time for the mind to race through an infinite realm of possibilities of thought? Would the mechanisms of thought even function as they normally do? What about the regrets? Surely they would dominate ones focus.

Is there a moment when all the sadness, horror, pain and regret subsides and just evaporates? I imagine that this would become a pivotal point of acceptance of ones situation. There's nothing left than can be done except to accept.

And would it be in that very moment, a mere sliver of an instant in time, that optimism and joy is invigorated and renewed? A new found wonder for what lies beyond takes hold. It fuels a passion for curiosity, for even life itself. But sadly, it's too late for such wonder and vibrant emotion.


water-2748640_640.png

Drowning

Light shimmers all around me
It dances as it refracts off the surface
Of the gentle and calm rolling waters above
It obstructs the pain of my descent from outside view
No one can see what lies just under the shallows
Sinking into the waters deep
The blackness below beckons
It welcomes those unfortunate
The ones who have chosen to succumb
To the lure of nothingness
With its appeal
The promise of an end to suffering
Yet its cost most are unwilling to pay
I look up at the world above me
As it slowly drifts further away
It's filled with exuberant people with smiling faces
And despite the shimmering waters thickening as I sink
I see
Clear as can be that it's a place
No longer for me

Free In Thought

As always, I truly appreciate your support and comments. If you feel so inspired, please upvote, comment and resteem.





Images and Audio used are CC0 Public Domain unless noted or clearly original
Writing is original - Always

My D-Tube Channel

Sort:  

Another image laden poem, depressing and distraught with pain.

I imagined that the poem was pulling me down with the slow sink of a body finally not floating anymore and sinking back first while light slowly pinholes. Then, in the last few lines the "flash before your eyes" happens, and the speaker closes their eyes to allow their slide to complete.

It feels like a seperation, a splitting from the world; a severing.

I love how you started this poem off with the peaceful beauty of the sun hitting the calmness of water. It is not until you speak of just below the surface of being submerged into the water with perhaps an intention. Then there is the complete surrender very powerful....you would think there would be a feeling of despair but quite the contrair it is a feeling of freedom...the end.

awosome post dear....upvoted and followed

Thank you so much.

hmmmmm...

"The promise of an end to suffering
Yet its cost most are unwilling to pay"

quite a deep line and it's very true I must say.

something o really ponder on @freeinthought

BTW, HAPPY VALS DAY

download (8).jpg

Thank you for the great comment!

Have you ever researched NDEs? Super interesting stuff!

Yes I have. Interesting to say the least. I seems like many have reported very similar experiences. It makes you wonder if that itself means something. Is there a God? Or just a while light of pure warm energy? Or maybe it's one and the same thing.

Very good topic, interesting!

Very nice poetry that lead to one of inspiration, thanks for sharing

Hello dear friend @freeinthought, I hope that when you touch me, do not leave anything unfinished in this land, I congratulate you very good publication and beautiful images.

Hi friend @freeinthought, I really do not know what will happen if death comes to surprise us but hopefully and that is not our destiny, because we want to be sure that we will be next to our heavenly father. Blessings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16