Anxious Moments (High school crushes)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

prom-3311740_640.png


Do you remember what it was like to be in high school? We all had different experiences but surely we've shared in some common themes.

Today I wrote about that unrequited high school crush. I'm sure I've had more than one of those during my youth. As a boy in high school falling in love seemed like a weekly occurrence. Most of the time she didn't even know I existed.

Why is it that we often tend to be attracted to the ones that are out of our league, as the say?

I suppose it's all a part of growing up. Back then all it took was a simple glance or smile from girl and the rest of my day was bright and cheerful...

I hope everyone has a wonderful day!


avatar-2191932_640.png

ANXIOUS MOMENTS


Her warm smile
Inviting my senses
Into lock step
With every subtle nuance
Of each crease and curve
That gave form to her deep plush lips

Overflowing with nervous anticipation
I await for the moment
Panting like exhausted animal
I marvel at her grace
She smells so sweet
Like morning fresh flowers
I'm paralyzed with wonderful grief
Amazed at her beauty beyond human belief

Turning to pass me by
Closing her locker
Not a moment to spare
I shiver in fear
She was the head cheerleader Goddess
I freeze in place
What if she sees me
What if she doesn't
I may as well have been in outer space

Her gaze slowly begins to shift
And we lock eye to eye
Even though momentarily brief
I manage to muster the courage
And mutter a soft fleeting peep
Hi
Is that it, I scold myself
As she looked at me oddly
Soothing my agony she spoke in reciprocity
Hi

My life was whole and complete
I was alive
The girl of my dreams
Validated my very existence
And for the rest that day
Nothing could stop me
My smile gleamed so brightly
Topped up with her brilliant energy

Free In Thought

As always, I truly appreciate your support and comments. If you feel so inspired, please upvote, comment and resteem.



Images used are CC0 Public Domain unless noted or clearly original
Writing is original - Always

All written material is copyrighted (c) by @freeinthought the year it was posted

Sort:  

oh yes that always happens! you have to know who to choose to avoid those mistakes

Boost Your Post! Its FREE! http://steem.link/ned

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85