My outstanding weekend of activity and adventure

in #life5 years ago

Ran a 5k race and climbed a mountain


IMG_20190120_115924427-1.jpg

So this last Saturday my weekend began by @stryeyz and I running the Deer Park Winterfest Frosbite 5K. It was nearly 40F by the time we started running. I was pleasantly surprised to see that I was able to pull an 8:11 mile pace for the 3 miles. This is the first race of the year and is always a good benchmark to test the overall endurance level that I have.

2019 frosbite 5k.JPG

After our run we returned home and I packed up my gear and drove north to my buddy Art’s house. After we loaded up and drove out to the Kettle Crest it was after 5:30pm. Upon arriving at the normal turn around I found there to be military vehicles parked all over the place. We parked in among them and wondered aloud about who it was and what they were doing there. My first instinct would prove to be correct.

The personnel had all been using snow mobiles and big snow cats to head up the road which made the hike up a bit easier. I decided to wear my snowshoes for the hike and attempted to hold my skis on my sled. Unfortunately it caused it to be too top heavy so I resorted to carrying my skis on my backpack. We left the vehicles around 6:00pm and when we made it to the campground it was about 8:00pm. 3 mile hike in 2 hours is not bad towing a sled.

As we hiked into camp there was a snow cat plowing a trail around the campground and a tracked quad with him. I talked with the man on the quad and found that I was correct in thinking that they were with the SERE school, the survival training for the Air Force. Crazy but just starting their 2 WEEKS out in the bush. They are training potential instructors which means they are being MEAN to those poor people, in the middle of winter, training survival...

IMG_20190119_175856097.jpg

The worst part of the adventure was night time. It was damned cold and my toes never seemed to warm up all night long in the sleeping bag. We had mad it to the camp by 8pm but I was so destroyed that all I could do was put up my tent and then crash. At least I tried to crash. I slept so incredibly bad all night long and it felt like I had woken up every 15 minutes.

Finally I decided to give up on sleeping and got myself moving a bit around 7:30am. Got my coffee and morning drinks in me and then by 9 we were raring to get hiking. The camp ground sat with 3 feet of snow as can be seen on top of the trail board.

IMG_20190120_093707582-1.jpg

I with my skis and skins, Art and Daniel both with snow shoes and the 3 puppies all started up the trail which happened to have a trail cut from a few days before. The trail cut had been snowed on since but still gave us the direction to go and an easier surface for the puppies to run on.

IMG_20190120_093718743-1.jpg

The trail winds up through the forest for a couple of miles before it pops out of the trees at about 6000 foot elevation. The forest was nice and quiet save for the crunch of our feet in the snow.

IMG_20190120_100654712-1.jpg

We mad it up out of the trees and a few switchbacks up the slope. Art was showing signs of tiring and I was hitting a wall of tired and sore. I sat down for a bit at about 6300 foot elevation and got this pano looking to the north east.

IMG_20190120_120003481-1.jpg

The slope above looked gorgeous and inviting but my body did not have the gumption to get up it. I would so very much loved to have been able to run those wide open areas above me.

IMG_20190120_120025058-1.jpg

So we skied back down the trail from our high point on the mountain and met up with Daniel in camp. We then gathered our gear and hiked back up the road to the crest of the hill where we could then ski all the way back to the trucks.

Near the top of the hill we came upon this amazing, gorgeous, piece of machinery. We drooled over this thing for a good 10 minutes. Keys in it, doors unlocked and open, and us looking at a 3 mile ride back down. It was honestly all we could do not to go for a little ride. Just park it down by their vehicles, not go anywhere with it....

This was just the 8 person capacity plow, they also have a larger 12 capacity cat that hauled people around....

IMG_20190120_140807549-1.jpg

The ski down the road was essentially a 2.5 mile long ski run. I was towing my sled which helped to give me a touch of drag to keep my speed down. We made it down to the trucks by 3:30pm.

IMG_20190120_142408460-1.jpg

An outstanding, difficult, cold, fun, and well worth while adventure that I hope to do again soon.

Camera: Motorola Moto G5S+ Phone

BTS = jwf

Token = FFFARM

Check out my:

Whaleshares blog | Steemit blog | Scorum blog


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

Feel free to join our Discord server to find out more about our BTS token FFFarm.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!




Learn how to join the Byteball WCG Distribution!


FFF Runic.png


Sort:  

Hi, @flemingfarm!

You just got a 0.08% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 243 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22