Exposed : How Much Of Your Life Is On Social Media?

in #life7 years ago

img

It's almost second nature; the urge to keep people posted on our activities throughout the day. With all the technological advances, the world feels more like a global village (or does it?).

The Accounts of a Typical Millenial

So when I'm out of bed, Snapchat knows and so does Whatsapp. It feels super necessary to drop a thought in some group chats I find myself in or maybe reply to conversations from the previous day.

Twitter is like a beehive of activities and I maybe try to chime in a few times but once it seems like i'm only talking to myself, I log out.

instagram

Then there's Instagram and the quest to "glow up" and then "Slay" at all times. Sharing pictures now come with that vain undertone of showing off. Classes and cliques are formed and certain status updates are required to keep you on the App Store of relevance.

A little boredom hours later and then it's over to Tinder. What am I doing here? I heard constant swiping exercises the fingers so this is me taking my fingers to the gym. Yeah? Exercise in only one direction isn't good enough so I sometimes swipe right. Get it?

facebook

Oh Facebook just told me of someone who just commented on someone else's post. Err... how is that any of my business? Well before, I'd check in to see whose birthday it was or whose was coming up but now I rarely go down those streets since I caught the Steemit flu.

snapchat

Hey Snapchat, check out what i'm having for breakfast! Five chicken wings and fried plantain with 1ltr of yogurt and a bottle of coke. I know it's vain but I really need you guys to see it. Unfortunately, my senses tune back in to the right frequency and I snap out of that phase.

The entire social media space is crazy and i'm getting vain day by day. There's no sane place for me to vent! Oh you said? Yeah right! Steemit would do it! Plus I'd even get to pick up a few cents while at it!

And so the typical millennial is caught in this web of social media and often times lives their life online with people thousands of kilometers away knowing their exact movements.

The Big Question

  • With pictures online, location data, and status updates, how much of your life is out there on the web?

  • Are you even security conscious or do you just assume we're all good people with no creepy tendencies?


I'm an advocate for community growth and interaction. My posts are amateur attempts at sounding smart. If you like them, you could upvote, drop a comment, and resteem for your followers. 😉

Sort:  

I only get sucked on to Facebook early on, I figured out real soon that I wasn't into how social media was changing society, but it sure doesn't make it easier to stay in touch with people. So Facebook is kind of like my international phone book now.

I always want to quit but it would take weeks to compile contact info for all the people from different countries on there and I'd undoubtably lose touch with a bunch of them. I tried to share my thoughts and ideas but I got on the wrong side of the algorithms so I'm happy to share my mind on steemit, the first place I've been relatively anonymous since Facebook started. :-)

My goal is to first foster more of a sense of community here and then reproduce the results in the 3D world, perhaps with a cafe of sorts.

I applaud the man that tries to come to my zone and be problematic. That being said, yeah some people really should be more careful. I suppose, like I said in a rap I did the other day, " online is the direction that evolution is taking us in." Cheers!

online is the direction that evolution is taking us in

Word! We're evolving but nobody says there won't be dangers so maybe we adjust once we come in contact with danger? Maybe!

Oh for sure, but like every turning point in human history, we gonna have to learn to deal with the new world.

Since I've become a part of Steemit, I check my fb very rare. I have no time for it:)

You're not alone lol.

I'm there to see the content my wife posts. That's about it. I'm on Google+ with 11K followers too, but the site is basically dead now. I'm hoping Steemit replaces both of those places.

evolving is one way to put it, but I think e are losing our skills because of the delegation to the "smart" devices, and not only that but we are compressing our own time, putting so much information out there "clouds" our view :) that's what I think, even if it's great to have it and to see so much beauty, it's also a lot of trades. You won't visit all those places for instance and you won't see those beautiful moments, privacy and personality is being traded of for exposure.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fisteganos from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Thanks for the good post!

It's amazing how much people share online these days. As a Private Investigator, I can tell you that there's a lot of valuable information to be had. It can be had very easily and for free usually too.

Take this one tool as an example. Go to this webpage, get the person's Facebook ID, and start searching:

graph.tips

Yes, that's the full web address, and no, it is not a scam site. Check it out as one example of a free tool that can be used to find out a LOT about a person.

If you want to know more about this topic, Private Investigation, and residential security, please follow me. I'll be sharing more in the future!

Oh interesting. So I don't need FBI grade equipments

The Internet has made a lot of low level data mining for people very easy. It has taken a lot of the old work away from private investigators. Even as a private investigator, I'm glad it has happened. People should have the ability to confirm what others are telling them as the truth without having to hire a PI.

Congratulations @fisteganos! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16