Sometimes Employers Fail To Realise This

in #life5 years ago

Most employers fail to realise this simple fact. Especially in India where the hours you show sitting at your desk are more important than efficiency at your job.

job-logic.jpg

Salary negotiations are usually hard, but even post-hiring things can be annoyingly difficult if you have someone looking over your shoulders all the time.

One of the jobs I did in the early years of my life required that I sit at my cubicle even if I didn't have any work to do. It was just for show. I would complete my work faster than most others in my team and then almost grudgingly waste my time at the desk waiting for the clock to tick past a certain hour so I could excuse myself to leave.

Because my supervisor was of the view that no one should leave before the managers even if they were more efficient or completed their work ahead of time. It was very early in my career and I went with it too avoid any trouble.

So if they were late sometimes, we had to wait unnecessarily if not we'd get reprimanded for trying to leave ahead of time according to these buffoons.

Fortunately for me, I didn't stick around for too long for my own good seeing no future in the firm and moved onto better prospects. But looking back at the last decade or so of working, not a lot has changed in the corporate scheme of things.

Also, as years go on, we gain tremendous experience in the areas we excel and that comes at a price. Time is precious and if you choose to provide that for an employer you deserve to be paid for being worthy of the price you demand.

But in most employment situations, efficiency is required from all employees but it is rarely ever appreciated when consistently delivered.

I came across this on Facebook and felt it is still so apt for our time. I think the message in the screenshot will always be apt irrespective of the times we live in.

What do you think?


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Why You Should Vote For Firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  2. Steem.Chat Contest #66

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

This is where the bootlickers get benefitted....I too had some bitter exp after working for 15 years in different corporates...Mann that environments really sucks. Just sit around on your system and wait till your boss not left...if you leave early than you are inefficient. All these culture lead me to decide leaving the bull shits...it's kind of everywhere...

Posted using Partiko Android

the corporate scheme of things.

....where meritocracy is frowned upon, and 'yes men' are rewarded.

Well said sir,
Personal experience too 😁😁
Even the billing hrs does not match. Use to get for the time I spend.
Now here in India it's hard to negotiate. You need to ring the clock and over, the main gate security will not let you in if you are not weariing formals and won't let u in if u have folded arm 😂😂😂
Really funny, but hard to go through in daily schedule

Posted using Partiko Android

It's the worst to have a stupid boss... it's not only in India You know...
I live in Italy and the rule in the company is that You shouldn't go out first. So everyone is sitting and waiting for the other person to stand up and go home... If You are not staying after hours you are a bad employee... ah and of course noone will pay you for these extra hours!!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Performance is judged on howlong one can sit in front of screen and howlong he stays at office. This problem i faced a lot in India. No matter how fast I finish the work, I have to be seated and can't go for breaks if have no work. This is pathetic corporate culture. But in Singapore its not like that and far better here. If I have no work I can go walk around, can go mall for shopping or can go to restaurant. If I have better Speed to finish work then this relaxation is a reward which I deserve and Indian companies need to learn it. Thanks @firepower for touching this important topic.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is so true! I hate having to justify why I charge a certain rate of my service and they compare me to other SEOs who are cheaper! I have a proven track record of results! I might be charging more but I use less hours and I give you more value

Posted using Partiko iOS

Not heard this quote before, @firepower, but I love it!

Can’t imagine you enjoyed staying in a cubicle long past your work being complete; glad you got out of there

Posted using Partiko iOS

Quite common in most Indian companies atleast. I'm self-employed for many years and don't suffer from these issues now. :D

At least I can tell you that I wasn't one of those employers!
So yea, I tried my best to change this scenario at my end 😊

Completely agree on your thought buddy even i have seen many people around just working for the sake of completing there hours no matter how efficient they are but they are always appreciated when they put in long hours.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34