WOULD YOU LIKE TO BE IMMORTAL?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Having been touched by an exchange between Alexander and me, I was deeply thinking about the question:

Would you like to be immortal?

On a certain level, I already dealt with this question many times. Whenever I got into a situation of fearing death - either my own or those of another person. There is also the indirect fear of death in people who are strangers to me and fled to my country because they feared death or pain in their own. I saw fear of death in the nurses and the staff of the hospital my mother died. From signs of uneasiness and avoidance of direct eye contact as well as the avoidance to comfort the dying and the relatives by words of courage and compassion. Also, I was in contact with some after-fear as I was almost hit by a Porsche on the highway which I did not see coming and pulled over to the left just a nanosecond after it passed me with super speed.

The greatest fear I encountered so far is the fear of those who helped me to deliver my child into this world.
If the process of giving birth does not flow accordingly to the concept of the people involved, they start to fear death.

They call it "complications" but indeed it's about death.

They serve messages as "the heart rate of the child becomes of our concern", which means: we fear it may die. Then they traumatize you in order to get over with interventions both, verbally and physically violent. Their fear then is pulled all over me by their brutal actions. Which produce so much fear in me that I want to hit them back and I can't and then I want to escape and I can't. ... What am I supposed to do other than dissociate myself from this event?

... Can one be augmented up to the point where instincts are all erased and a new superhuman arises? I mean, it should be known that all creatures fear death, not only humans. There's an instinct of wanting to survive in the eye of a deadly perceived situation.

Fear is highly contagious.

Like the flu. It jumps from one person to the other within seconds.

... So I am thinking: In order to become immortal, I would have to become fearless first.

Not fearless of death but fearless of pain.

... and, would that not have the consequence of not wanting to be immortal? Just because I do not feel the need for it ... when I am not attached any longer to the idea of fearing pain, immortality would lose its attractiveness...

Because ... as long I am fearing pain (bodily or mentally connected) immortality wouldn't change a thing. Still, I would carry a body of which I would fear to be hurt by unpredicted events and causes. ... Can humanity erase all unpredictable events and causes?

... And if yes, what would life then be?

... And is this not actually the hidden wish of not wanting to even have a body?

So immortality has to come together with hundred percent health and youth. This would mean that I count on medicine and treatment which fixes me like the doctor in Startrek whenever I hurt myself or was hurt by others. In the series, they still built in the possibility that the doc cannot fix all diseases. Of course not, otherwise the protagonists would just act without any fear whatsoever and would be killed just so by unknown bacteria or aliens. Also, it would be boring to death (haha) watching a bunch of people who do not fear anything. Tension would be all gone and the reason watching a movie with it. Except there are still characters left, who are frightened.

The tragic-comical part in me tells me: Common, at least we need some drama.

Without it, life sucks. Which is true. People actively seek dangerous situations in order to feel a thrill.
If they can't have the thrill in real life, they watch instead a Thriller. I find it a proper name.

People say in order to overcome physical pain there are painkillers. Which is true. What is with the gaps in between where the painkiller wears off and the suffering starts anew? In order to avoid every pain whatsoever, I then would have to take painkillers all the times. Which means I numb myself to certain experiences like overcoming pain with other methods or seeing pain having gone all by itself. Which is something people report.

Have you dealt with the moment when a medicine (drug, compensation thing) was about to end and the panic involved not to reach the new one in time?

What I know from painkillers is that they must contain a stronger dose the longer I take them.

This all pays into the pressure of being prepared, watched, "cared for". Pressure to saving lifes at all costs. Pressure of perfecting live & not tolerating times of not having the slightest idea what to do about a problem. ...

... Within my exchange with Alexander I got mad several times. I felt despair, anger and the wish hurting him. Why? I felt hurt by his attitude and also I felt fear. It got all mixed together. My experiences with pain and death and the imbalance I can recognize within my society to be on the safe side sacrifices the human need for becoming fearless.

I also felt the desire to create consensus. See similarities instead of differences. A person in me who appreciates him and is convinced that he feels, likes and dislikes in the same way I do. Which for sure is the case.
...

From how I see it, the many efforts to make people save and healthy root from the anxiety of being hit by pain.

... Can I change that for myself?

Can I transform my anxiety into something more reliable?

I think so. The methods and the philosophy and psychology offered to me in this regard I find remarkable. There I feel a positivity & hope and there I find refuge.

That all doesn't mean I do not appreciate painkillers. I do. I had them myself and I will use them further on. When I cut my finger I use a tape in order to stop the bleeding. When I am in an acute state of physical and mental pain I can choose to rely on what is offered on the market.

The market offers a lot. But what I don't want to see being brushed off the tableau is also the offer of ethical guidance.
I don't want to feel as if I am in a minority. I strongly depend on other people who assure me of their integrity, their compassion, and their ethics. When I cannot see a common definition how then can I see from where they pull their decisions and advice from? I see my society has stripped itself off religion. With what is the gap filled?

So far the common definition of ethics was delivered by religion.

As the word "religion" alone had become a matter of ridicule in my world, one doesn't dare to speak out loud that one has a connection to spirituality and the need for feeling held within a community which makes this transparent to their members. Instead, I move within a realm where highly educated people feel uneasy to even touch the topic.

What I nevertheless find is that almost every realm of human interaction is connected to morals and ethics. Like bad manners in business, betraying partners (business or private), stealing what is not owned and so on and so forth. These virtues are indeed embedded in our moral code - why then is this so deeply neglected when it comes to the question of birth and death? Those are the events which have the greatest connection to ethical questions yet I feel them being mistreated.

Alexander was not the first one and probably will not be the last one I debate this matter with. Sometimes, like now, I am thinking this is not the right environment to raise those questions.

Where is it?

... The reason why I feel isolated at times is that I believe myself being in a minority. Up to the point that I may be the only person which is interested in ethics. I know that is not true & a desperate construction of my mind.

Immortality might take place in another dimension, I really don't know and it is of low priority to me.
Immortality is as much unimaginable as imagining death in it's already taken place form.

I cannot imagine being dead in the same way I cannot imagine being undead.

I do not see a problem therein. For me, the problem lies elsewhere.
Overcoming fear is what it is about if you ask me. I cannot overcome fear by overcoming mortality.

What disturbs me of the Western way of life and perceiving the matters of birth and death is this:
the low tolerance of accepting different kinds of lifestyles. Tolerating that there are people walking this earth who do not carry the same notions I do. Who are totally alien to me. Whose cultures, traditions and beliefs are to my utter distaste and may disgust me deeply. Does my disgust give me the right to desire they may overcome what I call simple minded or technologically behind?

Does what I perceive as a problem give me the right to solve it even though it does not appear to be a problem for them?

What I find as a blind spot in Alex and in others, I had this debate with, is this:
in order of not being observed as a human with low tolerance, those others have to have the same problem I already identified within me.

Finding the flaws in religious or spiritual beliefs is a common thing.

When I convince myself that a religious belief is just a psychological trick which compensates hating my life (or stagnating in indifference) than my religion creates suffering in the first place. This beats up all other arguments because when the greatest flaw - hating life and therefore having the desire to die - is identified as a problem, there is no way out other than to come up with the solution: get rid of this religion (= get rid of this pain).

What if that is not the problem, though?

I think I heard it from Alan Watts when he talked about polarities. The notion ...

a.) ... that everything is pre-set, is destiny and therefore one cannot do a thing to set the course of one's life (Karma is often misunderstood in this way) or the notion

b.) ... that everything is manageable, doable and solvable. There is no problem which cannot be solved and like God man can be the architect of nature & also conquer it

Those polarities I find everywhere. Biologists are having wars with sociologists or ethnologists. One states that diseases are encoded in the DNA and identifies human sickness and cure of sickness in manipulating the DNA and the other that raising children and the cultural and ethnological circumstances are either the problem or the solution in societies. Psychologists find the cause of conflicts between humans in early childhood and neurologists do see the cause of crazy behavior in damaged brain areas.

None of them is completely right and completely wrong.

... It makes it though really difficult to find a way for myself to remain with my integrity.

When I am in treatment of this or that person, I get reasons and procedures that give me the appearance of absoluteness. First of all, I actually need a consensus on the ethical superstructure with all of them.

If I ask people about their ethics - I do so - I get the answer:

"Well, I'm not religious or particularly spiritual. Of course, love is important" ...
I don't know how to define love, nor do I know how a person defines it. But I want to rely on the fact that I am dealing with a person of ethical principles. ... Why should I not be prepared to adopt the ethics that wise people have already formulated before me? Because they wear a label? Why, then, can I not put that aside and instead of finding the errors in the labeled, want to recognize the validity of ethics first?

At least I truly want to recognize people where I can put my trust in and find a place of being guided and consoled. I need a label. Otherwise, I wouldn't know if it is the right place for me. If Buddhism is dismissed in the same way as Christianity is already dismissed (at least where I live) I find myself lost.

I am happy and I appreciate that all the monks & nuns on the Internet give free speeches

- thank you, orange robes!

I had moments in my life where what they offered, supported me in staying calm and telling myself: this will pass and better times are about to come. They helped me a great deal to handle my private relationships as well as doing my social work.

... Alex, it hurts when you dump them (... and therefore me) - of course, I know you did not dump them- as much as it hurt when I mentioned that your arguments are intellectual. ... What can I say? ... The pain involved here is just the same pain as the physical one. There is this thick process of back and forth and of trying to understand each other. In reaching out the unknown participants of the Internet we came here. It already feels different. ...

I do long for consensus. And I think you do that, too.

In the hope you don't mind that I actually spoke mostly to you but also to all of you who can find some resonance in what I revealed, I finish this off.

Maybe a cartoon would have delivered the same message, I don't know. I wish I could find one ;-)

Now on my search to find something to laugh about I looked up a comment from Reinhard and he gave me this:

that is so BAD ASS!

:-) Thank you.

And thank you, Alex.

You're a pain also... ;-)


Porsche: Photo by Campbell Boulanger on Unsplash

Sort:  
Loading...

it does sound like a dialogue. However, I can totally relate to some of your fears and feelings in general. I have experienced severe pains, that no painkiller could work against. The pain of losing someone close to the cold hands of death. Not just once, but twice. I stopped living for a period of time and it took something significant to bring me back to life.

Thank you.
Would you like to share some of the aspects/interactions which were significant to you coming back into daily life? If that is too personal, I can understand when you prefer not to answer.

I really cannot pinpoint yet. But I think a change of environment helped a lot. I moved to where there is more vegetation, the green colour seems to have therapeutic effects on me

Not sure, if I should get into a conversation between two people, but a few of the tings you say, are just itching me to comment.

As you may know by now, I am fascinated by the human being, in all its "forms", be it an organism, a social being or in its spiritual aspect.

At my age, I have come to be more aware of my own finiteness, but not as much as being afraid of dying, but much more of not being able to accomplish the things I would like to still do.

And yes, being immortal is hard to imagine and it would of course come with a load of problems. On top of what you already said about keeping a body healthy and functional for ever!? I mean, even if we had, say "only" 1000 years. I can already see the TV spot for (O)pa(r)ship. And then "rüstiger Mittsiebenhunderter möchte sich neu verlieben" 😜

Same with the job market. At what age would we retire? Who will work to pay a for a few million years of retirement?

This beats up all other arguments because when the greatest flaw - hating life and therefore having the desire to die - is identified as a problem, there is no way out other than to come up with the solution: get rid of this religion (= get rid of this pain).

With that, I had to laugh. Not at your comment, but because I thought the solution was gonna be "get rid of life". Sort of like closing schools to avoid shootings in schools...

Ok (self slap: Reinhard, stay serious!!) in answer to your question, do I want to be immortal? I don't know. Normally, I would say, I'm not really scared to death of dying. But, when I get into a tight turn too fast on my motorbike, or a truck comes my way on my side of the street, heart rate and blood pressure do go up quite a bit. So, I guess at that moment the survival instinct does kick in.

So, what if one said, no, I don't want to be immortal. Because of too many unsolved problems or whatever... What if death (like some movie character) was to visit you some day and said to you, its about time, but if you like, I will let you live one more day... I'd say, most people would take the offer.

Now, he comes back the next day with the same offer... and the next and the next and the next? Would that go on forever then?

You were invited to join the debate & thank you, that you did :-)

Your great gift to always make me laugh, I appreciate a lot. I was seeing you slapping yourself! LOL!
That was literally a slap-stick!

Another headline:
"800year young grandma with 98 grandchildren makes up for her 65th lover!"
The Bild-Zeitung shouts:
"Is this going to be his 120th divorce? Subline: Here our high-scoring list of divorced celebrities!"

That was just too tempting not to take on.


Your example of your instincts kicking in is also a vivid one. Yes, having been in danger tells us a lot how precious we find our lives.

Interesting scenario you open up: totally different from those so far taken into consideration. That makes it somehow unpredictable when and if Mister Death reaches out to you and repeats his offer. One day he might not come and ask you for another day. That makes it again uncertain and therefore has a similarity to the current situation. Deciding on a day to day basis is different from knowing that my life is going to expand forever or for the next 1000 years. But I cannot think of this scenario without taking in the question if I feel well enough to buy another day and connect that to the question if all others with whom I deal would feel. And so on and so forth. The problems you talked about appear one after the other.

Anne Rice - a book author - actually was playing with the idea of immortality within her vampire stories. She told a great novel where the vampire Lestat was tired of his immortality and changed bodies with a human being. Don't ask about the method. So they did that. I had to laugh really hard reading it! Because the vampire got so attached to his fixed idea of being human again that he underestimated greatly the real outcome. Of course, he felt all the way miserable and cursed his stupidity. For me, the message was: Be content with what you got & make the best out of it. :)


Edit: Could you please make a painting with a vampire?

Haha... slap-stick is funny. They need to make an emoji for that.

Yeah, those headlines... one just wants to add a few, right? And with a creative mind like yours, the possibilities are endless. Hahaha, yes, I could just see the tabloids going crazy 😜

Had this discussion about immortality with a good friend last night. I think, when we reduce our perception at the very present, we actually feel immortal. Unless you are in an extreme situation. But although we know, that eventually we have to die, at least for me, the fact is actually sort of abstract and therefore not really present. Its like your vampire. As long as he is not really directly faced with it, its like... ok... someday I'll die. All the struggle will be over and so on. Kinda like being married to some knucklehead and you can't think of anything other than wanting to get rid of him/her.. but the moment of separation all of a sudden becomes a reality, its a whole different story...

I have often thought about death but it doesn't worry me. It is pain I mostly worried about. You are capable of such deep thoughts and I'm happy that you find time to share them with us.

Thank you.
It's not easy to share thoughts through written words because there is space for saying too much or saying not enough. From my perspective of receiving content, it happened that I thought it was not the right time to read or listen to what someone expressed. Reading it in the break time or in the morning, in the evening, in silence or within distractions it makes a huge difference.

... I do not know, why I am telling you this. It has no connection to your comment. .... Or, has it? LOL.

Actually, I still owe you an answer on that experiment. .. I asked myself why I hesitated to do so and the thought just popped into my mind that I don't know you enough to give an answer. So, as a tool of reflection, I just would like you to do the experiment for a while through the year and compare your results if they change or stay the same. What do you think?

yes ...I want. I want it so hard.
I am a loser with losing. Losing a friend who moves in a different country, losing a sweater which does not fit any longer, losing a friend to cancer or my parents to old age. I am constantly afraid of loss, pain, and death. Sometimes I think I am a kind of yogic/Buddhistic anti-hero. In every beginning I see the end.
In rare moments I can understand, that there may be beauty and unending life, or a spiritual being which will be formed when all beings live in a winning situation (not sure how to explain it… its not my Idea but Seligmans), but only a second later I find better arguments for the darker side.
Perhaps this is one reason I make art…. So that I can make everybody else miserable too (ok… now I am joking… a little bit….am I?)

and... live long and prosper :-DDD

Smile, thank you for this honest and open answer. I like your fresh style to communicate.

I think you share a major problem with the rest of us: that we do not live always in winning-situations.
My answer: yes, that is true.
My question: How could you receive something as a "win" without making the experience of a "loss"?

Is what you call "dark" related to that - and is that where you spent time with what you lost after a while the "light"?
Like the sweater you lost or a relative or a friend. Before it all was a win (wearing the cozy shirt, loving it's color and the memories attached to it, talking and spending time with a person without cancer, having a good time ... and so on)

I think, in your case, immortality would let you make darker art and put more misery on others! LOL - I am joking back :-)))))))

Hach mein Englisch... Ich versuche es mal auf Deutsch. Die Win/Win Idee ist (leider) nicht von mir, aber ich empfand sie als einen netten Ersatz zu herkömmlichen Kosmologien. Seligman schlägt vor, dass Gott nicht am Anfang steht, also kein herkömmlicher Schöpfungsgott (oder Urenergie etc) ist wie man ihn in verschiedensten Versionen kennt, sondern das Gott am Ende der Schöpfung steht. Gott also das Ziel einer erfolgreichen Schöpfungsgeschichte (der Begriff "Schöpfung" ist in diesem Fall auch unzulänglich da er dem üblichen Kontext einer Religion mit Gott am Anfang entstammt) ist. Und erfolgreich definiert er so, dass jegliche Interaktionen von Wesen immer mit einem beidseitigen Gewinn enden. Ich empfinde diese Idee als eine sehr positive Möglichkeit eines Gottesbegriffs; eines Gottes der erst entsteht, wenn Leid, Schmerz etc. überwunden werden und zwar nicht durch reine Vermeidung/Rückzug/Nicht-Handeln, sondern durch evolutionäres "Bessermachen". Mit diesem Gottesbegriff umgeht er geschickt all die Probleme von Theodizee, freiem Willem oder Allzeitigkeit. Ich bin mir nicht mehr sicher wie er den letztlichen (ich nenne es mal) Zustand-Gott genau definiert, ob dann alle Zeitlichkeit und damit die Frage nach dem Tod auch aufgehoben sind. Ob Gott schon in der Schöpfung angelegt ist und es nur eine Frage von Zeit ist, wann alles in ihm aufgeht und ob dieses Aufgehen mit Bewusstsein oder ohne persönlichem Bewusstsein geschieht (also ob die Objekt Subjekt Trennung aufgehoben ist oder nicht. Ist sie nämlich aufgehoben wäre die Frage nach bedingenden Gegensätzen wie hell und dunkel, Leid und Freude nutzlos ..) Fragen über Fragen...

Sicher bin ich mir nur bei einem: ich bin ein großer Star Trek Fan. Deshalb meine Frage, hast du schon in die neue Serie reingeschaut (Star Trek Discovery)?

Danke, Simone (richtig?),

für deinen Ansatz. Ich kenne Seligmann nicht (hehe, guter Name), aber er kommt auf ähnliche Erkenntnisse wie die Buddhisten.

Und erfolgreich definiert er so, dass jegliche Interaktionen von Wesen immer mit einem beidseitigen Gewinn enden.

Man könnte hinzufügen, dass jede Begegnung mit dem geringst möglichen Schaden stattfinden soll. Bei "Gewinn" denken Menschen überwiegend in Begriffen von "alles muss gut sein oder profitabel" ohne mit einzubeziehen, dass eine Interaktion, die schmerzhaft war, ebenfalls gewinnbringend sein kann. Es kommt darauf an, wie du Gewinn definierst, ob also ein Ereignis beides beinhalten kann (gutes wie schlechtes) und dennoch einen Wert hat. Die bedingten Gegensätze sind für mich eine Art Naturgesetz, die sich nicht aufheben lassen, weil sonst unser Leben so wie wir es kennen, nicht bestünde.

Bei der Frage des Bewusstseins tendiere ich dahin, zu glauben, dass mein Ich-Bewusstsein mit dem Zeitpunkt meines Todes aufhört. Ich glaube aber auch, dass das, was ich Zeit meines Lebens in die Welt hineingab, eine Auswirkung auf andere hat, weil es quasi eingeht in den großen Organismus von Glaube, Hoffnung oder Verzweiflung. Mein Dasein füttert die Bewusstseine aller anderen und setzt sich durch die fort, auf die ich einen Einfluss ausübte und die nach mir weiterleben. Macht das Sinn für dich?

Sicher bin ich auch nicht, finde es aber auch nicht so relevant. Wichtig ist mir, was in meinem gegenwärtigen Leben geschieht und ob ich am Ende meines Lebens darauf zurückblicke und zufrieden bin. Diese Übung kann ich bereits jetzt machen und ein Ergebnis finden.

LOL. Ja, Discovery hab ich geguckt. Schwer enttäuscht, ich bin. Die Folgen waren alle so bitter-ernst. Wo ist der Humor und das Lindenstraßen-Gefühl? Mir scheinen die alle ein bisschen arg in Mitleidenschaft genommen zu sein. :-) - Picard, Janeway und Archer waren um Längen besser, finde ich.

Ich fange mal hintenrum an: Ich fand die ersten Folgen von Discovery sehr nett, ich hielt vieles für ironisch. Allerdings ging diese Humormöglichkeit irgendwann verloren und die Serie schwenkte meiner Meinung nach in Richtung Pathos und humorlosem Drama. Leider....Aber es gibt noch Hoffnung, da sie ja noch läuft :-D (ich will Star Trek einfach mögen… ok bis auf die neuen Filme, die kann ich auch einfach sch*** finden )

Der ernstere Rest :-D
Ich glaube ich glaube erstmal gar nicht, weder Seligman (der mit Sicherheit bei verschiedenen buddhistischen Strömungen geklaut geschaut hat), noch den verschiedenen Richtungen von Hinduismus, Buddhismus oder anderen großen Religionen (nicht das ich sie alle profunde kennen würde). Ich sage dies auch nicht abwertend, sondern eher traurig – ich würde gerne glauben können, z.B. dass nach meinem Tod meine Energien verteilt oder versammelt in irgendetwas eingehen, oder ich gar (personell) wiedergeboren werden (Einfluss auf andere zu haben reicht meine Ego als Torst momentan nicht aus... ). Genauso ich kann in vielen Philosophien Wahrheiten erkennen, die letzte echte ewige bleibt mir jedoch verborgen, bzw. ich kritisiere sie kaputt. Aber werde ich gezwungen mich festzulegen (und dabei glitsche ich rum wie ein Fisch) dann finden ich die Ideen des Advaita Vedanta attraktiv: Die Idee das nur unser unerwachter Geist nicht in der Lage ist die Einheit von allem zu erkennen, dass es etwas Unendliches, Unverändliches gibt, dies aber mit unseren beschränkten menschlichen Sinnen (erstmal) nicht erfahren werden kann. Ich bin also bei dir, dass die menschliche Natur ohne Gegensätze und Unterscheidungen nicht mehr existieren würde (als menschliche Natur). Es gibt aber in mir diesen kleinen idealistischen, yogisch-mystifiziert verbrämten Anteil der hofft, dass möglicherweise diese auf Unterscheidungen basierende menschliche Natur so verändert werden kann, dass Einheit/Einsheit erfahrbar sein kann.

Zusammengefasst: ich bin wohl nicht Spock :-D

You have a good perspective on this.

I will leave this quote here.

Thank you very much! That is a really good quote.
I saw that you dug into my articles much from the beginning of me starting to blog. Wow. Rarely anyone does this. I sometimes also scrolled way down to other bloggers but not in the same consequence you did.

I am honored to be of some service to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06