What to do if the Nano Ledger can’t read your wallets – The joys and sorrows of cryptoland

in #life6 years ago

I feel like being in the crypto world is like being on a merry-go-round these days: Fun, with lots happening, but it keeps me on my toes!

My latest crypto-adventure, currently still running, is trying to get a balance on my Ledger Nano S Bitcoin wallet that matches what it should be. I don’t like it when the balance says zero and I know I have Bitcoin in there.

The saga began yesterday. Well, really the saga began on Friday, but I’ll get to that later.

I opened my Nano S yesterday and tried to open my wallets. It seems that while fiddling around trying to remember what to do with it, I disabled the Bitcoin and Bitcoin Cash wallets. Every time I pressed them on the ledger, the site just beeped and did nothing. I was able to access the Z Cash Wallet, and even to add a Dash wallet. That in itself was weird, as I originally had to delete my Dash wallet as, although it is supposed to accommodate five wallets, it wouldn’t let me add the Bitcoin Cash wallet until I deleted the Dash one. But I digress.

Back to the missing Bitcoin and Bitcoin cash wallets. I tried deleting and restoring the wallet on Chrome, as the forums suggest, to no avail. I emailed Ledger support and got a nice automated email back recommending that I look at their forums (I did) and letting me know that they are in France, work Monday to Friday, and they will get back to me as soon as they can - perhaps within a few days due to the amount of people contacting them.

Actually, they replied promptly, at 10.11am this morning. It seems that it should be simple enough. If the nano just gives you this page and won’t let you access your wallet

connection.png

Just press both buttons to select the wallet and

That worked for Bitcoin Cash – I was able to open it and see the correct balance.

It sort-of worked for Bitcoin.

First there’s all that hoo-hah with choosing a wallet. Even though I was in the Bitcoin Wallet it still gives the option to choose Bitcoin cash.

btc or bch.png

I guess that’s for people who haven’t claimed their BCH yet. Then when you click on Bitcoin, it gives three options: I don’t know, Legacy, and Segwit.

i dont know.png

Oohhmmm. In the end I tried all three, but all of them give me an empty wallet. Not what I want to see.

So now I’m waiting for Ledger support to reply to my follow-up email. Hopefully they’ll be as prompt as they were yesterday, and I can update on my situation.

In the meantime, I had a great crypto day on Friday, as the wonderful @juanmiguelsalas managed to rescue my Bitcoin-in-space from my old Multibit wallet. Thank you, thank you, thank you 😊! (I wrote about losing it months ago, here https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@embracingchaos/tales-told-by-an-idiot-losing-a-bitcoin, but have just got around to doing something about it.)

Ah, the joys of fumbling around in the great wild west of cryptoland…

Sort:  

I fully agree that the current administration of bitcoin, bitcoin cash and bitcoin gold on Nano ledger S, distinguished between legacy and segwit chain is very confusing. It requires patience and good reading from their website instructions:
https://ledger.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/115005174789-How-to-install-and-use-Bitcoin-Cash-BCH-with-Ledger
For me, everything turned out just fine.

Thanks for the link. I was able to read the Bitcoin Cash balance though - it was just Bitcoin that was reading as 0. In the end I was able to view it properly on a friend's computer, which is a bit odd. It may be something to do with my anti-virus, as the support team said, but it seems odd that it was only a problem for one wallet. I'm ploughing through my learning curves at the moment. 😫I'll get there...

On the nano, do you have 2 apps, one for BTC and one for BCH? Because I remember I tried to access my BTC wallet through chrome BTC extension, but forgot that nano was on the BCH app.
For me BTC was visible when

  1. open the btc app on the nano
  2. open the chrome extension for bitcoin
  3. click on the legacy chain

I hope it works!

Nope, I have one app for all the wallets. I can see the BTC now: I had to fiddle around in the settings/tools and then I was able to view it in Legacy. It's okay now, but last week even in legacy it was showing a zero balance. I can' say I find the Nano s the easiest thing in the world to use! Anyway, since all is good now, I am going to put it away safely now and ignore it! 😏 Thanks for the tips though 😊

Great to see that you found your BTC. I agree that the user interfaces are hard, but with the amounts of updates and forks, we can’t blame the manufacturers of nano ledger. Before the forks ist was very clear, one app, one BTC. Although it was nice to receive additional coins, I think the forks creates undesired confusion/fragmentation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87