Building a traditional stone wall

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Here in Dalmatia, everything in our history was built of stone.

There are many types of stones in Dalmatia to build with, it depends what do you build. However, it all comes from local quarries. Our land is made of these large sedimentary rocks and they go deep in the ground.

So, in history, people used that stone to build houses, churches, roads, walls and those buildings are old more than a thousand years and they are still here today. No hurricane or tsunami can destroy them.

I like weekends because, lately, I come more often in my grandma's village.

I was thrilled when I saw my uncle building the stone wall in his front yard. And he was doing it professionally, neat and precisely.

The stone you can see on the photo is "called the stone of Benkovac" and it is mostly used for building bearing walls but there is a sort of the same stone that comes in tiles. But this stone is all around these villages, so it comes for free.

My uncle does a pretty good job.

There is something special in man when he builds for his family and himself. And he took his time to check and adjust each of these stones. It takes a lot of nerves to do that.

Building with the stone is tradition in Dalmatia. We have whole cities made from it! And those cities were unconquerable during their history. Some foreigners say that this looks cold to them, but still, historical buildings in Dalmatia are attraction for tourists.

I made a post on Steemit for months ago about stone buildings in my city, if you want to check those photos, click here.

So, my uncle was building his wall calmly and then his phone rang!

Suddenly, everything stops! He just said:

"That's enough for today, now I'm going to play bocce!", and that's one more tradition in Dalmatia!

All photos taken by me with iPhone SE! Thank you!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing @dumar022
He is such a stone mason, trying to put all shape of stone together

Yes, he is all into it and does that with love

I love these kind of stone walls, they look really beautiful. I want one in my garden later :-)

Well, try to find some good stone that will last long!

awesome! I love a well-made stone wall! (I'm serious!!)

Lol!

Wow, such a craft. Just wondering. The stones have to be bought from the quarries, right?

No, we have stones everywhere you look! My uncle gathered all stone from his own land. this is stone - country. But if someone wants large amounts and transportation, he have to buy. This kind of stone is one of the best export products in Croatia. But you can keep what you find on your own land

That's good for uncle then. free supply.

It seems to me that such walls stand for centuries.

Yes, we have thousand years old buildings around my city

Such a nicely layed out article - thank you for your efforts.

excellent story. I too am a stone mason and your uncle stone work is excellent . thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72